Book Notification

Kate Stradling Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Annals of Altair Books

A Boy Called Hawk (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rumor of Real Irish Tea (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oliver Invictus (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ruses Books

Kingdom of Ruses (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tournament of Ruses (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guardian of Ruses (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Goldmayne (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legendary Inge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Namesake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brine and Bone (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soot and Slipper (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heir and the Spare (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathmark (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Maid and Minstrel (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once Upon A Prince Books

The Unlucky Prince (By: Deborah Grace White) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beggar Prince (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Prince (By: Alice Ivinya) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Prince (By: Celeste Baxendell) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Prince: A Cinderella Retelling (By: ) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Poisoned Prince (By: Kristin J Dawson) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silver Prince (By: Lyndsey Hall) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shoeless Prince (By: Jacque Stevens) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Prince (By: C.J. Brightley) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crownless Prince (By: Selina R. Gonzalez) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Awakened Prince (By: Alora Carter) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter Prince (By: Constance Lopez) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Straddling is a fantasy and young adult fiction author from Arizona in the United States. She has always known she wanted to become an author ever since her sophomore English teacher asked her what she wanted to do for a career in adulthood.

She said she would become an author but always thought fantasy would just be a waste of her talents. It was not long before she was writing the debut novel of what would become an epic fantasy trilogy.

She has asserted that she never did admit to writing anything until about a decade after that as she hid her love for writing just like one would hide their most evil vices. When she finally spilled her secrets to her cousin and three siblings it was in her parents’ basement.

At that time she felt as if she was confessing to a drug addition even though writing could never come close to doing drugs.

It would take Kate Straddling another five years before she finished her debut novel and she decided to publish it as an indie several years following completion. Since then, she has bounced through the genres from time travel, dystopia lite, Beowulf inspired tales and rewritten fairy tales.

What was supposed to have been an epic trilogy remains unfinished with just two titles. Straddling considers herself a fantasy writer and loves writing. What she loves best about the genre is the fantasy settings and versatility it provides.

She believes that in the end all kinds of fiction would fit in the fantasy definition, with the proper fantasy genre just being more upfront about the fantastical elements. After living most of her life in Arizona, she has come to enjoy the air conditioning and the hot weather.

She can often be found drinking yogurt smoothies and is glad to be living her dream life.

Kate Straddling’s novel “Kingdom Of Ruses” tells the life of Viola Moreland which happens to be a well orchestrated lie. For several generations, her family has been telling of a powerful and mysterious protector. The Eternal Prince is supposedly responsible for watching over Lenore, the small kingdom they call home.

However, a nameless stranger comes to learn of the deception and takes on the identity of the prince. Since they are unable to provide the real Eternal Prince, Viola and the Moreland prince now have to cater to every need and demand of the impostor. If they refuse, their well constructed web of lies may come apart.

But is usually the case with any good deception nothing is ever as it seems. Contrary to what Viola desires, the deceptive and demanding stranger may be the only thing that stands between certain destruction and the unleashing of Lenore’s true magic.

“Tournament of Ruses” by Kate Straddling introduces Flora Dalton, a woman who wants nothing more than to live in the Lenore countryside, where she can enjoy the quiet.

But her father has been promoted to the House of Lords, which means she has to go live in the messy city. She now needs to adjust to a new city, new home and new circle of friends.

In the meantime, the United Kingdom is mad with excitement. It does seem like their fabled and fame protector – the Eternal Prince of Lenore has at last made an appearance. According to the rumor mill; he is set to marry Viola Moreland, the daughter of the Prime Minister.

Still the lords of the realm have petitioned the man to consider each of their daughters in addition to Flora. She now has to work with several scheming girls in a stupid tournament where they have to show their feminine graces even as her doorstep is darkened by deathly shadows.

For some time the love life of the Eternal Prince keeps everyone in thrall even though there’s something very strange going on in Lenore.

Kate Straddling’s novel “Guardian of Ruses” is the story of a woman named Rosia Domitus. For much of her life she has been living in the palace of Emperor Petronius Drusus in Melanthos. She loves Melanthos but the magic her homeland once had has been slowly weakening.

The magic is being siphoned off by a defiant yet very small country of Lenore in the west. Soon after there are magical attacks along the border and the emperor sends Rosia as a fledgling assassin to investigate. She is charged with killing the Eternal Prince, the mysterious ruler of Lenore who has caused her people much suffering.

As soon as they go over the border, they meet a mischievous looking young man who has the power to make the woods do what he wants even though he does look harmless. To survive they need his goodwill and the ingenuity to uncover what is under the pleasant facade.

According to the young man their woes are from bonds betrayed and rituals lost rather than Lenore.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Stradling

Leave a Reply