Book Notification

Kate Williams Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The De Witt Family Books

The Storms of War (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Edge of the Fall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Shadows / Into the Darkness (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Pleasures of Men (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Ring and the Crown (With: Alison Weir,Sarah Gristwood,Tracy Borman) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Young Elizabeth (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Josephine (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ambition and Desire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emma Hamilton (With: Quintin Colville) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rich Table: A Cookbook for Making Beautiful Meals at Home (With: Sarah Rich,Evan Rich) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rival Queens / The Betrayal of Mary, Queen of Scots (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hearing Voices: The Litro Anthology of New Fiction(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Stories: Art, Passion & Tragedy(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Williams
Author Kate Williams studied for her BA at Somerville College, Oxford where she got a Violet Vaughan Morgan University Scholarship and was a College Scholar. She then took a DPhil at Oxford (here, she got a graduate prize) and an MA at Queen Mary, University of London.

“England’s Mistress: the Infamous Life of Emma Hamilton” was a Book of the Year in the Independent and the Times. It was shortlist for the Marsh Prize in the Biography category.

Kate reviews history books for BBC History Magazine and History Today and fiction for Mslexia and the Financial Times. She also pens comment and feature pieces for different magazines and newspapers, including BBC History, the Daily Telegraph, the Spectator, the Sunday Telegraph, Time Out, and History Today.

She writes the “De Witt Family” series of novels and her work is from the historical genre. Her debut novel was released in the year 2014, and was called “The Pleasures of Men”.

“The Pleasures of Men” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. The year is 1840, in Spitalfields.

Catherine Sorgeiul lives in a rambling house with her Uncle in London’s East End. She has little to occupy the days beyond her own colorful imagination and not many companions. Then a killer strikes, ripping open young girls’ chests and then he stuffs hair into their mouths, in order to resemble a beak. It leads the press to dub him The Man of Crows. While Catherine hungrily devours this news, she becomes aware that she can channel the voices of the dead. Catherine starts believing she will eventually be able to channel The Man of Crows himself.

The murders, however, keep the city panicked and Catherine realizes she has been snared in a lethal trap, where nothing is like it first seems. Hiding behind the lies Catherine has been told are the secrets more devastating and lethal than anything that her imagination is able to conjure.

The novel reveals the beating and dark heart of the corrupt London during the reign of Queen Victoria.

“The Storms of War” is the first novel in the “De Witt Family” series and was released in the year 2014. Life is good for the De Witt Family early in the peaceful summer in the year 1914.

Verena and Rudolf are planning the wedding of Emmeline, their daughter. At the same time, Arthur (their oldest son), is currently studying in Paris, and Michael has just come back from his first term spent at Cambridge. Celia, who is the youngest of the De Witt kids, is close to adulthood and dreams secretly of escaping her carefully planned out future and exploring the world.

The outbreak of war changes everything and quickly the De Witts find they are sidelined and are in danger of losing all that they hold dear. While Celia struggles to figure out the changing world all around her, she lies about her age in order to join the war effort and finds she is embroiled in a complicated plot that puts both her and the ones she loves in danger.

“The Edge of the Fall” is the second novel in the “De Witt Family” series and was released in the year 2015. After the Great War, the De Witt family tries desperately to piece together the shattered remains of their lives.

Rudolf and Verena, his wife, still reel after their second son’s death, cannot figure out how to function in the post-war world. Stoneythorpe Hall is now an empty shell without servants to make sure of its upkeep.

Celia, who is the De Witt’s youngest daughter, is desperate to spread her wings and get a glimpse of the rest of the world. To get out of Stoneythorpe as well as the painful secrets that are there, she goes to London and embraces both love and life in the roaring twenties.

“The House of Shadows” is the third novel in the “De Witt Family” series and was released in the year 2018. Celia is in the glittering new city of twenties New York, looking for Michael, her son, who was taken away from her when he was born. Desperate to find him, stopped at each turn, she looks to the valiant ladies of an underground flapper army and one runaway boy that has the largest heart that knows New York inside and out to help her.

While she is in New York, she reconnects with Jonathan Corrigan, the best buddy of her long dead brother, and she falls in love. In hopes of saving both her home and family, Celia starts a business in New York. Her “Flapper Foods”, gorgeous cans and jars of convenience food the modern woman takes off. All seems lost, however, when the Great Depression hits.

The Depression brings Michael right to her, and even though Celia has lost her business and her brother, she has her child back. They go back to England, and Celia finds her family is in desperate need and poor. She begins her business right back up in a struggle to save the house.

Celia’s try to save her family, as well as everybody’s secrets, is so consuming, her business absorbing to the point to where she does not see what is going on around her. She refuses to even see Tom after he begs to see his child. Celia doesn’t see the advance of German nationalism and rearming, nor how it all distresses her mom and dad. Most of all, she doesn’t see how Michael and Lily, his cousin are getting obsessed with one another. The adults try to separate the kids, and this one act rips the family apart.

Michael and Lily vanish. World War II is on the way. To top it off Stoneythorpe, despite all of Celia’s efforts, has to be sold off. Jonathan knows he will never come back to America, and Tom is furious with her. It appears to Celia that she has lost it all, especially her niece and son. The world around her is watching, and hope is right on the horizon. With big decisions to make, Celia is going to risk it all to save her entire family.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Williams

Leave a Reply