Book Notification

Katherine Arden Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Winternight Trilogy Books

The Bear and the Nightingale (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Tower (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winter of the Witch (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Small Spaces Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Warm Hands of Ghosts (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Cursed(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Katherine Arden is a prolific upcoming author fro America, who is known for writing fiction and fantasy novels. She is particularly famous for writing The Winternight Trilogy series. Author Arden was born in Austin, Texas. She spent her former years studying in a high school located in Rennes, France. Later, she was accepted to study in Vermont’s Middlebury College. But, she decided to defer her enrollment for a period of one year for living and studying in Moscow. And when she joined Middlebury, author Arden went on to specialize in Russian and French literature. After obtaining her Bachelor of Arts degree, Arden shifted to Maui, Hawaii. There, she worked for a number of odd jobs that she could get herself into and earned her livelihood. Some of the jobs that Arden got involved in include writing grants, working as a tour guide, and making crepes. After living for around 12 months on the island, author Arden shifted to Briancon in France, where she took up a teaching job and spent 9 months in the profession. This was followed by her return to Maui, where she stayed for some time and then left again to some other place. In her between her frequent shifting and moving, author Arden wrote a few fantasy novels. And as her interest in this field increased, she took the decision of continuing to write many more fantasy books. As of today, author Arden resides in Vermont.

Arden likes to mention that she was just 18 years old, when she stepped out of the Sheremetyevo airport for the first time and visited Moscow. As she was quite young and about to reach adulthood, she was more interested in adventure and did not have any intention of becoming a writer. She didn’t seem to have any direction in her life and when the burden of studies arrived on her shoulders, Arden chose to rebel. She wanted to escape desperately. The only name that came to her mind at that time was Russia. She made up her mind that Russia is going to be her adventure and her escape. In Russia, Arden wished to become sophisticated, adult, and different. Arden had started imagining samovars, snow, hussars, troikas, and golden domes well before she left her hometown. All in all, she was too impressed with the new country she had discovered and didn’t want to waste any time in reaching there. And when she actually did reach there, she realized that she had made a big mistake because the place was totally new for her. Arden didn’t know the local language, and due to this she suffered a little difficulty in the beginning. But, she made some friends and they helped her get through. As time went by, author Arden began falling in love with Russia. She liked the language, the winter, the taste of red caviar and butter. Arden even loved that she was independent, self-reliant, and away from her home. When Arden returned from Russia, she felt that she had experienced enough to help herself become a writer. And when she sat down to write her first book, the feel of Russia started pouring out. Author Arden’s novel, The Book and the Nightingale, is a story set in the Middle Ages’ mythical version. She described her heroine based on a girl named Vasya, who belonged to a Ukranian family and lived as her neighbor when used to reside in Russia. Vasya had beautiful green eyes and was a funny little girl. It was with her description that Arden’s story and her writing career started.

The Wintenight Trilogy is the first book series written by author Katherine Arden. This series consists of only 2 books so far, which were released in 2017. Arden is now working on the development of the plot of the series’ third book. The debut novel of this series is entitled ‘The Bear and the Nightingale’. It was released in the year 2017 by the Del Rey publication. Author Arden has mentioned the primary character in this book as Vasilia. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the winters in the Russian wilderness last for most times of the year. The snow drifts become taller than the houses. But, this does not bother Vasilisa as she spends her nights around bonfires huddled with her siblings. She likes to recite her nursery stories to them. Vasilisa is even fond of Frost’s chilling story, which is the winter demon known for claiming unwary souls. Her nurse tells her that the wise Russians fear the Frost. They honor the spirits of the forest and house and yard that keep them protected from the evils. Following the death of Vasilisa’s mother, her father visits Moscow comes back with a new mother for her. And as Vasilisa’s stepmother is city-bred and fiercely devout, she asks her family not to honor the spirits. And as her family begins to do what she says, Vasilisa fears that it would bring bad luck. Shortly after, numerous instances of bad luck begin to take place, including failing crops, evil creatures entering the villages, and stalking of the village by misfortune. All this while, Vasilisa’s mother becomes harsher in making her drop her rebellious nature and grooming her for marriage. Now, as the danger grows even more, Vasilisa decides to defy even her loved ones and calls on her dangerous gifts that she had kept concealed so far in order to keep her family safe from the threats that her nurse told about in the frightening tales.

Another exciting book of this series is called ‘The Girl in the Tower’. This book continues to tell the story of Vasilisa. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Vasilisa is commonly referred to as Vasya by her family and friend. She is considered a witch by the people of her village. Because of this unwanted turn of events, Vasya is left with very few options. She has to choose between living in a convent for the rest of her life and allowing her older sister to give away her hand in marriage to a prince from Moscow. Both these options will make Vasya spend all her life in a tower, cutting her off from the world that wishes to explore. In the end, she decides to disguise as a boy and rides into the cold woods. Vasya sets herself on an adventure all alone. During her journey, she battles with the bandits who causing terrors in the countryside. This makes Vasya become famous as the Grand Moscow Prince. Now, it becomes a difficult situation for her as she is required to keep the reality of her gender hidden. Vasya likes the admiration that she gets from the people around and vows to continue fighting for them against the threatening mysterious forces.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Katherine Arden

Leave a Reply