Book Notification

Katherine Pathak Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Imogen and Hugh Croft Mysteries Books

Aoife's Chariot (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Survivor (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lawful Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Beam (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman Who Vanished (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memorial for the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Of Marchmont Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Christmas Cottage (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flawed Emerald and Other Stories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Better Place (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Dani Bevan Books

Against a Dark Sky (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
On A Dark Sea (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark Shadow Falls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark As Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Fear (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Girls Of The Dark (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold Hands In The Dark (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Remedies (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Origin (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Isle (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Enough to See (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eye in the Dark (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Katherine Pathak is a renowned British author of crime fiction, thriller, mystery, detective fiction, and suspense novels. She is particularly famous for writing the DCI Dani Bevan series and The Imogen and Hugh Croft Mystery series. Pathak was born in 1974 in Inverness, Scotland, UK. She obtained a bachelor’s degree in 1996 from the York University in History. Following her graduation, she lived and worked in London for several years. Pathak was mainly involved in the book trade at that time. In 2000, she obtained a qualifying degree to work as a teacher. After this, Pathak taught History in numerous secondary schools. When her interest in writing crime fiction novels took over her mind, she decided to quit teaching and settle down as a full-time writer. Her books often involve psychological mysteries with an element of romantic suspense in them. Recently, Pathak published the sixth volume of her Imogen & Croft series. She has also added a quick read novella in this series.

Pathak’s other popular series features the main protagonist in the form of a Scottish detective named DCI Dani Bevan. The books in this series feature fast-paced police procedural stories that are combined with the genre of psychological thriller. To know more about Pathak’s books and characters, the readers can always check her Facebook page, where she has posted video trailers of her novels as well as some other trivia. Pathak has also maintained a blog on WordPress, where she regularly gives out updates about the recent happenings in her professional life. She also keeps updating her fans with the release dates of all her upcoming books. Author Pathak is a big fan of authors like Agatha Christie, Ian Banks, Barbara Vine, Minette Walters, P.D. James, etc. She always looks up to them for influences and inspirations for writing her stories.

Currently, Pathak resides in rural North Essex along with her loving husband and a couple of young children. Pathak made her debut in the field of writing novels with the book called Aoife’s Chariot. Prior to that, she spent 10 years of her life teaching History to secondary school students. Pathak claims that she has lived in England’s southeast coast for a large part of her life. Her father’s family hails from Scotland’s Isle of Arran, which has been her inspiration behind the depiction of the fictional Garansay Island in her debut book. A factor that plays an essential role in Pathak’s writing is her lifelong interest in History. She also tries to develop historical narratives in her ingenious and imaginative plots.

Pathak’s stories often appeal to the readers all over the world as they tend to enjoy her gripping storylines and well-observed characters. Author Pathak believes that a good psychological thriller story should explore human nature’s eccentricities and quirks, but they should also seem believable and provide a good and satisfying conclusion to the readers. Pathak often enjoys writing novels that she loves to read as a reader and hopes that her fans also feel the same. Pathak is looking forward to writing a lot more entertaining novels in the future and is hoping to get the same amount of love and support from the audience that they have provided to all her previous books.

The Imogen and High Croft Mysteries series written by author Katherine Pathak is comprised of a total of 6 novels and 1 novella released between 2013 and 2015. It is set on a fictional island in Scotland called Garansay Island and features the important characters in the roles of Imogen Croft, Hugh Croft, Cameron Fleming, Michael Nichols, Thomas Langley, Penny Mills, Kathleen Croft, Gerry Croft, Lillian Cartwright, Sandy Thomson, Mackenzie Cowan, Kenneth Garvie, Dani Bevan, Laurie Sanders, etc. Hugh Croft is introduced as a psychologist, while Imogen Croft is his wife. Both of them carry out sleuthing to get to the bottom of mysterious cases happening in and around the town. The debut book is entitled ‘Aoife/s Chariot’. It was released in 2013 by The Garansay Press. The book opens by describing the mysterious deaths of two women in identical circumstances with 40 years of difference in the time of their deaths. Hugh and Imogen set out to unravel the mystery surrounding the two deaths.

After the sudden death of Imogen’s mother, she returns to live in her childhood home on Garansay Island. Her brothers let her take the decision about what needs to be done with the family farm, which has started to fall into despair. Imogen decides to take her time before arriving at any decision. While carrying out research related to Kilduggan Farm’s history, she sets into motion several events that culminate into a big tragedy. Soon after, Imogen and her husband find themselves facing a difficult puzzle to solve. They wonder how can a recent unexplained death have similarities with an unsolved case that had happened 40 years ago. As the Crofts dig up the past, they realize that the case is linked with Imogen’s family’s history as well. Imogen doesn’t hesitate to go for discovering the truth, even if her relationship with her family doesn’t remain the same. The story is intricately plotted with cleverly interwoven clues. It is an intriguing page-turner that keeps the readers guessing until the shocking conclusion.

Another gripping novel penned by Pathak is known as ‘Lawful Death’. It was also published by The Garansay Press in 2014. This novel opens by mentioning that a young man gets shot dead at the time of a burglary at the Langley Farm. Following this shocking incident, the small local community gets divided into two segments. When Hugh Croft learns about this case and is asked for his help, he agrees to assist. He has just released his latest book on PTSD and quickly swings into action to interview Thomas Langley, the only witness of the shootout. While interviewing Langley to assist his beleaguered defense, Hugh discovers that the old man is not what he appears to be. He finds it difficult to look up ex-soldier Thomas Langley as a fragile, elderly victim that the press has portrayed him. A further investigation reveals that the case is much more complicated than Hugh thinks. At the same time, he and his wife struggle with their own family problems. In the end, the case turns into a race against the clock to protect the people that Hugh loves the most. This novel is also absorbing and fast-paced thriller that keeps the audience intrigued until the last page.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Katherine Pathak

Leave a Reply