Book Notification

Kathleen Gilles Seidel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hometown Memories Books

After All These Years (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Don't Forget to Smile (1986)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Till the Stars Fall (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Again (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Stand Tall Books

The Fourth Summer (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Last Snowfall (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Autumn's Child (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Same Last Name (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Risk Worth Taking (1983)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mirrors and Mistakes (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When Love Isn't Enough (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Maybe This Time (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
More Than You Dreamed (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Summer's End (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Please Remember This (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Most Uncommon Degree of Popularity (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Keep Your Mouth Shut and Wear Beige (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author Kathleen Gilles Seidel sold her very first book six days after she mailed it to the Harlequin offices. She was originally one of the launch authors for Harlequin American Romance and published four books for that imprint. Kathleen got a PhD from Johns Hopkins in English literature.

Kathleen had always daydreamed as a kid, and felt embarrassed since nobody else in her family had done that. She finally felt that the pictures inside of her head were not just daydreams she was having but characters and plots. So she began writing a novel, and knew that this was really what she was supposed to be doing.

Kathleen penned the book in secret because she wanted any of her failures to be private ones. For a year, she endured puzzled looks from people that didn’t know what she was doing with her time. After finishing the book, she was confident in what she had written, so much so she instantly told everybody about it. It made her seem like a wastrel while she was writing it and then a public failure afterwards.

Because it failed. Agents took her cover letter and wrote ‘no’ across the top, without using their own stationary. She wrote the book more for the six senior faculty members of the English department at Johns Hopkins and her goal for writing the novel was to show that she was totally smart, show that she was an excellent writer, and she never once wasted their time.

She began writing a romance, telling herself it was just to get herself through the difficult time. Romance is a genre she had always read. Emilie Loring while in junior high, Georgette Heyer while in high school. Every so often while she was in graduate school she would take a day and just read five Harlequins.

She went from penning a novel that would change people’s lives to writing one that would change their afternoons. Anybody having a bad day would pick up the right book, and everything is fine again. She wanted to give those readers that book.

At one time, her favorite author was Jane Austen, she even wrote her doctoral dissertation on her books. Nowadays, however, because of the movies, she is a lot of peoples’ favorites. Now, Kathleen’s favorite is Anthony Trollope. His life experience was broader, making his work more interesting. Trollope knew what it was to be married, whereas Austen didn’t.

“After All These Years” won a RITA Award for Best Novel. “Don’t Forget to Smile” won Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award for Best Contemporary Romance. In the year 1985, she won the Golden Medallion in the Mainstream Category.

Kathleen’s debut novel, called “The Same Last Name”, was released in the year 1983. She writes romance novels.

“After All These Years” is the first novel in the “Hometown Memories” series of novels and was released in the year 1984. Curry James knew a couple of things for sure: how to cope with being left alone and how to earn a living.

She had remained in Gleeson, South Dakota, the town of her birth with her son. She watched those close to her leave her, her husband and parents by their tragic deaths. As well as Tom, her best friend, because she was unable to share with him the ultimate secret that would allow him to stick around.

“Don’t Forget to Smile” is the second novel in the “Hometown Memories” series of novels and was released in the year 1986. Tory Duncan stands in a smoky bar in Oregon’s timber country. She was once a hair’s breadth from winning the Miss America crown, and still hunting for happiness and still just as beautiful.

Joe Brigham, who is a handsome and forthright man from a logging family, father of one, and divorced, regards her with a love that is pure and deep.

Trading her search in for an uncertain future, no matter the joy that Joe promises to provide her with, seems to be a lot more than Tory is able to afford.

“Till the Stars Fall” is the third novel in the “Hometown Memories” series of novels and was released in the year 1994. Young Krissa, in a small Minnesota mining town, has been sheltered from her violent dad by Danny, which is the brother she idolizes. Danny, who is a budding musician, is determined to escape along with his sister.

The pair are able to finally succeed, the two meet Quinn, a wealthy and privileged college student. Drawn together by a passion for music, Quinn and Danny put together a successful pop group. While the stars start to rise, Danny falls in love with the idea of fame and Krissa and Quinn fall in love with each other.

The higher Danny, Krissa, and Quinn continue climb, the faster their worlds begin to crumble, until they part. Sixteen years pass, their paths cross once more, now three fallen stars. Quinn and Krissa are still in love. While Danny is gravely ill. To hear the music once again, the three have to confront their joined pasts and have to use the lessons to create a better future.

“Again” is the fourth novel in the “Hometown Memories” series of novels and was released in the year 1994. Jenny Cotton, a small town girl and head writer for daytime’s only historical romantic soap opera, is on top of the world at the moment. She is unable to writer herself out of a rocky relationship until Alec Cameron, an actor, steps foot on set.

Alec survived a big-budget TV flop with the same “good guy” courage that helped him through a failed marriage. No matter how hard he tries, he seems to be unable to hide his wounds from Jenny.

The script flowing out of Jenny’s pen and unfolding each weekday afternoon to millions of eager fans is a lot more than only a story. It is Alec’s story. Which is quickly becoming their story. Jenny does not want to be rescued by some “good guy” white knight, any more than Alec would like to fall in love with Jenny.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kathleen Gilles Seidel

Leave a Reply