Book Notification

Kathleen Mallory Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kathleen Mallory Books

Mallory's Oracle (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man Who Lied to Women / The Man Who Cast Two Shadows (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Critics (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight of the Stone Angel (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shell Game (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crime School (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jury Must Die /Dead Famous (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter House (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Find Me / Shark Music (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chalk Girl (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Happens in the Dark (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blind Sight (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Kathleen Mallory series is a series of mystery and crime fiction novels written by one of the well known American authors named Carol O’Connell. There are 12 books published in this series altogether, all of which were released between the years 1994 and 2014. All the novels of this series feature the lead character in the form of Kathleen Mallory, who is described by the author as working as a detective sergeant in the New York Police Department. Being the main protagonist of the series, all the crime fiction and mystery stories of the series revolve around her. Throughout the series, author Connell has given several accounts of Kathleen Mallory’s life so that the readers can understand the character in a better way. When Kathy was small, she became the witness of her mother’s murder, which left an emotional scar in her mind and heart. All throughout her days of growing up, she had to live with this scar. After the death of her mother, Kathy is left orphaned. She leaves her home and moves to the New York City, while still being a child. She starts living on the streets and doing occasional petty thefts for a living. On one such occasion, Kathy Mallory is caught by a cop while trying to steal. Instead of her giving her away to an orphanage, the officer takes her in as a foster child and raises her as her own daughter. Kathleen Mallory develops into a sociopath as she grows up. Author Carol O’Connell began writing the series in the year 1994.

During the same year, she also finished the writing work of the debut novel of the series and published it. She received some very good reviews and responses from the critics as well as the writers. This compelled author Connell to continue writing more novels in the series. Eventually, she wrote and published 12 novels, one after the other in the span of 18 years. The series is still going on as the author is about to publish a few more books in the series very soon. The fictional character of Kathleen Mallory used to live in a small town in Louisiana when she witnessed the killing of her mother at the age of 6. The police officer who catches her while stealing in the New York City was known as Louis Markowitz, who takes her to his home and lets her live with his family as a foster child. Since the small age of 10, Kathy grows up as a baby sociopath surrounded Louis Markowitz and his interesting circle of friends along with his partner named Sergeant Riker. When Kathleen Mallory becomes a police becomes a police officer herself, Riker becomes her partner as well as a friend. Just like Louis Markowitz, Kathy begins to serve in the NYPD as a detective. She also runs a side business related to computer technology in which she is supported by a computer genius named Charles Butler. He also seems to be in love with Kathy, but she remains rather oblivious. The personal features of Kathleen Mallory include a tall height, green eyes, curly blonde hair. At the start of the series, she is described to be in her early twenties. The working style of Kathleen Mallory is often compared to a cat who often toys with its prey before tearing it apart.

One of the initial books released in the Kathleen Mallory mystery series was titled as ‘Shell Game’. It was published by the Arrow publication in the year 1999. In this book, author Connell has demonstrated how detective Kathleen Mallory of the NYPD carried out the investigation of the supposedly accidental death of a magician named Oliver Tree. It appeared that the magician died while trying to recreate the most famous work of Max Candle on the television. In this trick, a man goes on to survive a fire from 4 crossbows with the help of some magical tricks. Kathy finds out the Charles butler is the beloved cousin of Max Candle and therefore, she tries to capitalize on her friendship with him. She tried to delve into the mystery of the Second World War that involved a group elderly magician, all of which were the colleagues of Tree and Candle. While doing so, she gets hints about the emergence of her inner life. Being a street kid once, Kathy Mallory believes that she made better choices in her life than these men did for surviving during the war. Their acts caused a cycle of retribution and repentance and set in motion a deadly game. As she moves forward in the case, she gets drawn by the seductive magician called Malakhai, who was believed to be the master of misdirection and accompanied by the illusion of his dead wife named Louisa. While Kathleen Mallory tries to use her high tech skills in order to manipulate the data banks for amassing important information, Charles Butler remains in the basement of her house and tried to put together the magical tricks of Max Candle. In the meantime, the great guardian and defender of Mallory, Sergeant Riker seems to be on call. Author O’Connell very well used her expertise in developing a hypnotic prose and tough realism that leaves the readers eager for some more mystery books to read.

Another early novel in the Kathleen Mallory series was published under the title ‘Stone Angel’. It was released by the G.P. Putnam and Sons publication in the year 1997. This book proves to be an interesting entry into the evocatively written mystery and crime fiction series written by author Carol O’Connell, featuring the free spirited detective sergeant from the NYPD named Kathleen Mallory. As the plot of this book begins, Kathleen Mallory is seen taking her act of an odd and intriguing cop on to the roads in the rural areas of Louisina, the same place where she took birth. After so many years, she wishes to reach a closure to the case of the mysterious death of her own mother and wants to know the person responsible of it. The only thing that she remembers from her childhood about the incident is that her mother was stoned by the villagers to death around 17 years ago. Now, she is required to get through the dangerous and creepy layers of the past lives of her mother and her own to get the required answers and find the man responsible for her mother’s death. Kathleen Mallory wishes to make the person pay for ripping her life apart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kathleen Mallory

Leave a Reply