Book Notification

Kathryn R. Wall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bay Tanner Books

In for a Penny (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Not a Penny More (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perdition House (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Judas Island (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Resurrection Road (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bishop's Reach (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sanctuary Hill (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mercy Oak (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Covenant Hall (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Canaan's Gate (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jericho Cay (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
St. John's Folly (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like a Bad Penny (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jordan Point (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

From accountant to highly successful mystery author, Kathryn R. Wall delivers tantalizing tales over and over again. Ms Wall moved to Hilton Head, Carolina, with her husband Norman in 1994 to retire. At 50 years of age it took her a while to get used to the fact that she was no longer as youthful as she had once been and with time not standing still, Ms Wall needed to decide whether she should pursue her dream of becoming a successful author. Thankfully she made the right decision and with the accomplishments of her successful accounting business behind her, she set out to pen her first novel, In For A Penny. As with many authors that was simply the beginning of her writing dream. It took nine months to complete her first book, but a lot longer to get it published. But all good things come to those who wait – and work. Her efforts did finally materialize with the publication of her first novel, bringing her childhood dream to fruition after a long period. Thus began Ms Wall’s equally successful novel writing chapter in her own life at 50 years, providing credence to the statement that it is never too late to pursue one’s dream.

Ms Wall founded the Island Writer’s Network some years ago in an effort to create a support group for writers. They meet once or twice a month to exchange ideas, marketing and publishing thoughts, offer motivational support and more to one another. They also have an open mike day where authors can share their work. A separate critique group that Ms Wall founded also meet a few times a month. They exchange their current work offer valuable inputs and feedback. According to Ms Wall these groups are important for fledgling authors who may be excellent at what they do, but who can become quite lost when it comes to knowledge of the larger business environment that comes with creative writing.

Sisters in Crime and Mysteries Writers of America are two national groups that Ms Wall also belongs to and recommends for their experience when it comes to the wider publication and marketing aspects of being an author. If no local representation exists in your area, you can connect with them online. They offer many tips and much support such as trade shows – Southeastern Booksellers Association Trade Show, being an example of one of these. Here authors can meet publishers to exchange ideas and receive important advice.

Her efforts to have her first novel published were extensive and ended up with it being a self-publishing exercise in conjunction with This first publication then attracted the attention of a small publishing house, Coastal Villages Press, under the supervision of George Trask. He reissued In For A Penny and went on to publish the first edition of its sequel, And Not A Penny More. This publishing house allowed for a lot of interaction regarding the cover design, marketing, book titles and more so it was quite an adjustment when her third book was published through St. Martin’s Press. In comparison to the fairly small publishers of her first two books where Ms Wall had a lot of control – this was now lost to the giant publisher with some 100 years of experience. Having become used to face-to-face, personal business discussions around her new career, it was a bit of an eye-opener to realize that her new publisher not only had an entire department dedicated to book covers alone, but that all business was conducted via e-mail and ‘phone calls with her editor. A large, interesting and valuable learning curve that has benefitted all concerned – including her avid readers.

As with many authors, her first novel was loosely based on own familiar environment. In For a Penny was her first in the Bay Tanner series and this novel details the mystery of young Bay Tanner, recently widowed under strange circumstances. Bay witnesses the death of her beloved husband Rob and grief-stricken, flees to her beautiful home on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina’s Beaufort County to recover. While there she is contacted by her old Southern and moneyed friends who are frantic about the looming prospect of losing their wealth in what appears to be a very cleverly constructed and underhanded land scheme. A dead body floating near the ruins of an old plantation home raise further questions and the possibility of a connection to her husband’s death can no longer be ignored. Bay is forced to uncover the darkness that resides behind the old-world sophistication of life in the South.

In For A Penny was followed up with And Not A Penny More. The Bay Tanner saga continues. Just as she is recovering from the loss of her husband, Bay is contacted by Jordan. She has returned to South Carolina to bury her mother who was found dead in her suite at the Rio Palace Hotel in Rio de Janeiro. The death of this wealthy, well-known socialite and philanthropist sends shockwaves across the country. She appears to have died of natural causes, not entirely surprising at her age, there is no evidence of foul play and none of her expensive jewelry is missing. The authorities rule that she died of natural causes. Her beautiful but estranged daughter, Jordan, is however not convinced. With the past haunting her and suspicions pointing to a connection, Bay feels forced to follow up the death of her friend’s mother, Leslie Herrington. This plot includes the threat of a killer hurricane bearing down on the intrepid Bay who finds herself travelling to the Caribbean in an attempt to solve this new mystery and bring closure for Jordan.

Both these books are heart-stopping, “unputdownable” reads that will keep the reader awake at night. And the Bay Tanner series doesn’t stop there. With 12 books in the series, you will have a veritable smorgasbord from which to feast, if a book lover you are! Get them at your local book store or order online. You will be treating yourself to hours of reading pleasure that will last long past the time that you have turned the last page.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kathryn R. Wall

3 Responses to “Kathryn R. Wall”

  1. Sandy Hawk: 1 year ago

    What was the name of the restaurant she and her husband had their own table at on Hilton Head. It was a booth with her book covers on the wall

    • Jump and Phil’s, HHI: 11 months ago

      Great burgers!

  2. Carole Rorrer: 2 years ago

    I met Ms. Wall just after her first book was published. She was signing her book in Beaufort S. Carolina. We talked and discussed where were from. It turned out we were both Elyria, Ohio. Their company was just down the street from me.
    I read all of her first books. My husband passed away moved away from Beaufort.It is nice to know she wrote other books I have not read.
    Unfortunately, I loaned the books to others
    And realized when I moved back to Ohio that I only got four back. 😢
    I wonder if she remembers me.


Leave a Reply