Book Notification

Katie Finn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Broken Hearts & Revenge Books

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hearts, Fingers, and Other Things to Cross (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Top 8 Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hallie Hath No Fury . . . (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Katie Finn is the pseudonym of Morgan Catherine Matson who is a New York Times bestselling author of literary fiction novels. Finn was the second of two siblings was born in New York and for a short time; she lived in New York City before the family moved to Greenwich Connecticut. It was a small town that she says looks very much like Putnam and she did not like it and as soon as she got the opportunity, she bailed out. As a high schooler, she loved theater and creative works though she never once thought she would grow up to pursue a career as a writer. Nonetheless, a lot of the things she experienced during her high school years have made it into her novels, which just goes to show that the lines and dots very often do connect. Finn currently lives in Los Angeles, California, in a place very near to the beach and often spends her time walking Kenneth her pet dog.

As a teen, Katie Finn went to Occidental College in Los Angeles where she studied theatre. Always looking for inspiration from almost anything, the move from the East Coast to LA would inspire the novel “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour” that she wrote under the name Matson. Halfway through her college studies, she got a job working at Vroman’s Bookstore, where she was in charge of the children’s department. After a few weeks working at the store, she added English to her theatre major. After she graduated from Occidental, she moved back to New York and went to study for her MFA at The New School majoring in Writing for Children. It was at the college that she would meet and make friends with authors Siobhan Vivian and Jenny Han. Once she got her MFA, she went back to California and this time enrolled at the University of Southern California studying for a Screenwriting degree. She founded the TCMC movie club in 2018 and currently serves on the board with three other directors.

Unlike many of her contemporaries that knew they wanted to be writers when they were young, writing never crossed Katie Finn’s mind growing up. It was not until she was in college that she got interested in creative writing and began considering authorship as a career. It was while she was working for Pasadena’s Vroman’s bookstore that she fell in love with young adult literature. In her senior year of college, she started writing a few bits and bobs here and there, hoping to finally write a full-length novel. Before that, she had experimented with plays but nothing had ever come of it. “Top 8” her debut novel was published in 2008 to much success and she has never looked back since. She would then publish “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour” two years later but under her real name of Morgan Matson. Finn has said that she prefers to write her novels under different names since the two authors have a different style of writing. As Morgan Matson, she usually focuses a lot on character development while as Katie Finn her stories usually focus more on plot development and backstory rather than character discovery. She has been most successful writing under Morgan Matson and she won the ALA Top Ten Best Books for Young Readers, was named a Flying Start novelist by Publishers Weekly, and made the shortlist for the Waterstone’s Book Prize.

Katie Finn’s first novel of the “Broken Hearts & Revenge” series introduces Gemma, a woman who believes that she has her summer plans already when everything goes wrong. Out of nowhere, she had been dumped and after a five-year absence, she is back in the Hamptons. But in the Hamptons, she is at risk of meeting the best friend she had left behind that had almost left her life in ruins. But she hopes that she has gotten over her grudge since a lot of time has passed. Gemma is hoping to make amends but then a case of mistaken identity results in some frustrating encounters. Josh her dreamy brother and Hallie her former best friend think she is someone else. Her summer is getting even more complicated as if it was not already. In a summer filled with sun, the novel is a beautiful look into a friendship gone sour, boys in what is a sizzling debut to the series.

In the second novel of the series by Katie Finn, the war between Hallie and Gemma is still raging on. After the events of the previous novel, Gemma is trying to come to terms with the fact that Gemma had humiliated her by pretending not to know her when she came back into town. She has also not apologized for stealing her boyfriend from her. Gemma is determined to have her revenge but then things get out of hand. Gemma had always had a crush on Ford who had left town and is now back more handsome than when he had left. Ever since she had lied to Josh and he found out, he had refused to talk to her even as the person she thought would be a shoulder to lean on does not seem to be available. Hallie and Gemma are locked in an escalating revenge cycle and just as Gemma believes she is winning, she gets a bombshell dropped on her head. Her life could change forever and there is very little she could do about it.

In Katie Finn’s third novel of the “Broken Hearts & Revenge” series, Hallie and Gemma’s world has come to a standstill. Their parents have been having a romantic relationship and now have decided to get engaged, which makes the two girls stepsisters. Nothing could be worse for Hallie and Gemma than that, and they are determined to put their differences aside to ensure the engagement is broken. Things get complicated fast as the Hamptons are struck by a hurricane and everyone including Gemma’s nemesis, her two exes, her best friend and her current crush have to live in one house, A huge group of enemies, and miserable exes mean that people have the time to make some plans even as some terrible secrets unfold. It is a dramatic and fast-paced conclusion to the series of novels that shows that sometimes there is no calm before the storm.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Katie Finn

Leave a Reply