Book Notification

Katie Maguire Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Katie Maguire Books

A Terrible Beauty / White Bones (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Angels (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Light (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taken for Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Sisters (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eye for an Eye (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living Death (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drowned (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Girls Dancing (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Men Whistling (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Begging to Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Drop of Blood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name of Graham Masterton in general and his Katie Maguire series in particular would be known to all those who have liking and fascination for horror movies and stories. Graham Masterton is of British origin and was originally the editor of Penthouse and Mayfair magazines. He started his writing career with his first novel The Manitou in the year 1976. He also is famous for writing various sex instruction books. It would however be pertinent to mention that Katie Maguire (series by Graham Masterton) made him famous. Since 2003 he has authored eight books under the Katie Maguire series. It started with Katie Maguire and A Terrible Beauty in 2003 and the last book was Living Death as late as 2016. Each of these serial books is amazing and holds out different perspectives about horror and crime as a cocktail. Additionally he also has written a number of historical fictions. We will have a look at a few of his books under the Katie Maguire apart from looking a few books which have been made into films.

The Character Of Katie Maguire

All the books and movies under the horror series Katie Maguire revolve around the detective superintendent Katie. She perhaps has a sixth sense and is not perturbed unduly by bloodshed and other gory details of death and destruction. She also has a penchant to investigate in details about some of the goriest and horrifying murders. However, at times she also gets taken aback with the kind of deaths she often comes across. But the good thing about Katie is that she has never failed in her attempts to unravel some of the most intriguing horror murders and that is what sets her apart from the rest of the crowd. Hence it would be interesting to have a look at a few of her most successful books.

The lists of books under Katie Maguire (series by Graham Masterton) are quite big and it may not be possible to talk about each one of them. We look at two such books which have won critical acclaim apart from being liked by thousands of readers.

Red Light

This 440 page hardcover book is certainly a masterpiece and it will certainly send a shiver down the spine of even the strongest person. It is about a small, dark and grimy flat in the city of Cork. A heavily built man is found dead and the mattress on which his body is lying is fully blood stained. His face has become totally mutilated perhaps because of gun shots (seven in number). They have totally shattered the bone and the cartilage. The murdered person is Amir Xaaji Maxamed. He is a pimp who has a notorious background and Katie Maguire has been trying her best to convict him for years in different cases. However, now she finds herself in a fix because instead of convicting Amir, she has to try and trace down the killer. She finds the going tough because of the notorious background of Maxamed who lured young girls and used them as sex objects for sale in Ireland. Though the city must normally be a safer place with his death, is it actually so? Things do not stop here. When a second pimp is also killed gruesomely, it is time for Katie to be on her toes and take a decision. Are they actually vigilante murders? If yes, what can she do to stop the murders at just two of them? Or will she find it difficult to keep things under control and will such vigilante murders get out of control? Reading the books would Red Light would certainly give answers to these intriguing questions.

Terrible Beauty

This is the first in the series of Katie Maguire. It is about the gory and nauseating scene on a farm located in Southern Ireland. The scene is about the dastardly sight of dismembered bones found in a common grave. They belong to eleven women and seemingly their bodies were buried around eight decades in the least. Though Katie Maguire is not a stranger to bloodshed and murders, this gory sight does certainly rattle her for a few minutes. This is butchery of its worst kind and who else than Katie would know it. As though this was not enough, not far away from this site, there is an American tourist who is in the clutches and mercy of a killer who has a serial record. He is perhaps a psychopath of the worst order. He uses quite a few tools and accessories to carry out his gory killings. They might include twine, boning knife and interestingly a doll which is made of fishhooks and nails. He seemingly takes immense pleasure in seeing his victims die out of pain and torture. As Maguire goes about trying to unravel the eighty-year-old mystery involving eleven women, little does she know that she is marked as the next victim on the list. What took place in this scenic village is perhaps ready to happen all over again. It is perhaps not just horror crime at its worst. It is a tradition and Maguire has her work cut out.

Books Which Have Hit The Silver Screen Or TVs

Two horror movies Inserts and Phobia were made based on the earlier books authored by Graham Masterton.

Inserts takes us back to the 1930s. It is about directors and actors who were struggled to make that transition from silent films to talkies. Many of them having failed tried their hand in pornography. This is perhaps the reason why the film was initially X-rated but was later release with NC certification in 1996. The title insert has a double meaning and is about a commonly used film technology and of course sexual intercourse.

Phobia is another horror novel of Graham Masterton published in the year 1980 which was made into a full length movie. It is well and truly a scary tale, and according to many of those who have watched this film, it is not for the weak hearted. Some of the scenes are well and truly gruesome. Though the ending might look a bit supernatural, it certainly leaves behind that stamp of class of Graham Masterton for everybody to relish.


When one goes through the various series of Katie Maguire and also looks at a few movies of books based on Graham Masterton, one thing is clear. We are entering into a world of unknown where fear and terror always stalk us.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Katie Maguire

6 Responses to “Katie Maguire”

  1. Stella: 2 years ago

    Brilliant series loved the character and locations had to finish the series totally hooked also my husband picked up on the series and he had not read a book since school and he also finished the series need more of the same

  2. Nicki Gill: 2 years ago

    Totally hooked on audio versions… just love them, the Irish accents make the stories come alive

  3. Phyllis: 3 years ago

    I have read all of the Katie Maguire books now. I really hope there will be more to come. It was almost impossible to put down the book – the pages got turned into the the dark of the night :))

  4. Elaine: 3 years ago

    New character for me however unable to put down now.

  5. Denise Perry: 3 years ago

    I have read 7 Katie Maguire books so far and have requested more from the library.

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Great to hear – glad you are enjoying 🙂


Leave a Reply