Book Notification

Katie McGarry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pushing The Limits Books

Pushing the Limits (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crossing the Line (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dare You To (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crash into You (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take Me On (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breaking the Rules (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Impossible (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of More Than Words Books

Publication Order of Thunder Road Books

Nowhere But Here (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walk the Edge (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Way Home (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Witches of the Island Books

A Wicked and Beautiful Garden (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stormy and Sultry Sea: (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Say You'll Remember Me (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Only a Breath Apart (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes Between Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Novella Collection (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Katie McGarry was born and brought up in Louisville, Kentucky. She majored in Political Science at college. She prefers cats over dogs. She is a happy wife and a fun mom. Casablanca is her favorite movie and she reads books by Simone Elkeles. She likes happy endings and reality television. She is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan. When Katie suffers from writer’s block, she usually listens to music or goes out for long walks to get it out of her system. She feels teenage was the best time of her life. She has authored many hottest reads as she still possesses the heart of a teenager. Her teenage love series has hooked every person who is young at heart. As a writer of young adult love stories, Katie McGarry has successfully garnered a loyal following among the youth of many countries. Her stories reflect the struggle and pain of growing up while being deeply in love with that special someone. No wonder readers are always eager to read her books.

Katie published her first book titled ‘Pushing The Limits’ in the year 2012 which later turned into a series where the lead characters go through different circumstances that test their love and strength to survive. The debut book itself is about young teenagers Echo Emerson and Noah Hutchins who have issues in their lives like any other normal teenagers do. They do not come from a very rich background and have not been handed anything on a plate ever. These are youngsters who were forced to mature early to deal with their situations. Noah wears a bad boy attitude to hide his good nature. After losing his parents and going through foster homes, he thinks he has developed a thick skin. He is fighting with the system to gain custody of his two younger brothers who were separated by CPS. As an adult he knows it is an uphill task to convince the authorities but is willing to make that commitment. Echo, on the other hand, has lost some of her memories which naturally makes her edgy. She has a dark past that she does not fully comprehend due to her lost memories. She has a restraining order from her own mother but she does not know why. She has questionable scars on her arms that she hides. Both these damaged but interesting characters meet at a mandated meeting supervised by the Child Protective Services. As they get to know each other, their willingness to share each other’s pain increases and ultimately they end up together. in this series, Katie McGarry has written stories about troubled teenagers who fight against all odds to make sense out of their lives. The entire series contains the ongoing struggle between love and reality of today’s youth.

The second series of young adult love by Katie McGarry is the Thunder Road series which deals with the motorcycle club called ‘The Reign of Terror’. The first book is titled ‘Nowhere But Here’ with lead characters Emily and Oz who are poles apart in their views and in their thinking yet there seems to be something that connects them together. Emily who has lived a sheltered life till now, finally gets to discover her biological father who belongs to this deadly group ‘The Reign of Terror’. Her father has secrets which he is not ready to share with her. Oz is a confused teenager who dreams of becoming a member of this rogue motorcycle club. He wears leather jackets and dreams of riding with them. He thinks of them as family and wants to join them in their adventures. The two young lovers meet each other and slowly their situations compel them to look at life differently. Katie McGarry was able to very clearly depict the violence, loyalty and the bond that men share in a motorcycle club. Many a time they are looked at with suspicion by normal folks due to the mystery that surrounds them. Katie showed the inner workings of such a club through her story. Emily’s vulnerability and Oz’s love for her makes this book a must read. It also tells us the story of Eli, Emily’s father who suffered losing his daughter from his life in order to keep his loyalty to his club intact. His fear for her safety forces him to act desperately so that he can keep her alive. Katie has written a heart warming story set in a cruel environment that grips its readers from page one.

All Katie McGarry’s books have a very delicately held emotional quotient that makes her readers curious to know more about her characters. Though ‘Pushing The Limits’ series has multiple stories, some interconnected to each other, every book can be read as a stand alone and promises to be that much interesting as well. Her heroes and heroines are simple young people that today’s youth can relate to easily. They experience the same problems and heartaches that any normal teenager has to go through. She has shown the pain and confusion that young people, especially teenagers, bear when they are faced with difficult family situations. Her characters mostly come from broken homes or have a step parent whom they find it difficult to connect to. Her books have been highly appreciated by bloggers who review books in this genre.

In a short span of time, Katie McGarry won awards for her books. She was awarded the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence in 2013 for ‘Pushing The Limits’. She also won the Award Of Excellence from the Colorado Romance Writers under the category ‘Young Adult with Romantic Elements’ for her debut book. Her book ‘Take Me On’ won the YABC Choice Award for 2014 under Teen Contemporary section. She has been a Goodreads Choice Awards Finalist for Best Young Adult fiction for four years in a row. Her popularity has increased steadily and so has the number of her followers. She has her own website where she keeps her fans updated about her books. Her books are available in different formats like paperback, E-book, Audio etc.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Katie McGarry

One Response to “Katie McGarry”

  1. Edanathen: 3 years ago

    Love all her books. Need I say more? No. But I most definitely want to. I started reading her books at age 12/13 and fell in love with everything and everyone. I love Isaiah and Rachel. Abby is probably my favorite girl and I can definitely relate to how Logan feels about taking care of his diabetes.
    IT SUCKS! I can’t wait to see what Katie gives us next.


Leave a Reply