Book Notification

Kauffman Amish Bakery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kauffman Amish Bakery Books

A Gift of Grace (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Promise of Hope (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place of Peace (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Life of Joy (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Season of Love (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

A novel series for everyone written by: sarahkalo Published by the HarperCollins Christian Publishing Company the Kauffman Amish-Bakery series has to be one of the finest reads that the world of Christian novel authorship has even gotten. This series features books that will keep any avid reader on a journey up and down. They are things that you identify with as a Christian who loves learning about their faith. Feel the pain of the characters, cry with them, laugh with them and even be happy for them when they achieve their goals as they go through life. The books tell of what being a true follower of Christ entails, they tell of what being a woman entails.

Authored by renowned Christian fiction writer Amy Clipston, each of the pieces features a different member of the Kauffman family. The Amish Kauffman family has set its residence in Pennsylvania’s Lancaster County. Perhaps now is a good time to mention that the main characters are all women. These women in the books work at the fictional Kauffman Amish-Bakery. This is one really amazing bakery that has lasted for generations and it is to be found at a place known as Bird-in-Hand.

Themes encompassed in the series

Many authors have written on the themes of faith, hope, love and family- very many indeed. However if there is one who has been able to capture these topics without boring people to a stiff yawn then it has to be Amy Clipston. It is not uncommon to find even non-Christians reading the books in this series. They bring out the issues of families in the developed countries with such impeccable clarity.

Hope and faith are two themes that you will never lack in a religious fictional book. The Kauffman Amish-Bakery series brings them out in such an encouraging manner. The reviews that have been done by other people online concerning some of these books have revealed strengthening of a faith. Readers have claimed to get a boost on their faith and renewed hope just by following the lives of the characters in these books.

Engaging literary style

Amy Clipston has been able to capture the themes with such clarity because of two things: style and characters. There is no piece of literature that lacks a literary style. Every author has their own writing style but unfortunately some take quite some time to discover theirs. This does not seem to be the case with Amy whose style of portraying the issues and characters has been consistent for the whole series.

It is quite difficult to explain Amy’s style effectively. It is one simple yet extremely sophisticated. It is not fast-paced and neither is it too slow to keep you on the same issue for several pages. There is one thing that is you are guaranteed of in all the Kauffman books- you will want to read the next one in the series. It is a series and thus it makes sense to start with the first book A-Gift-of-Grace and progress onward.

Here is the funny part, you can read the books backwards and they will still make so much sense to you. This is a skill that is only left to a few writers in the world. There are people who have claimed to have read the books in no particular order but they still manage to make sense. Once you are through with one book you will want to check the next one. The suspense is not elaborate but you sure will wish that the story did not end.

Book line up and the amazing characters

The Kauffman Amish-Bakery series would not be what it is without the characters and their various dreams and ambitions for life. Each of them brings something to the table, something that any Christian is bound to identify with, something every woman is going to understand. It is so hard to explain these characters without spoiling the fun for the readers. However, the series kicks off with the story of Rebecca Kauffman.

Being the very firstbook in the series A-Gift-of-Grace manages to get you hooked onto the reading. Rebecca’s dream is to be a mother. Unfortunately for four long years she has been able conceive and give her husband Daniel a child. This is until her elder sister Grace suffers and automobile accident and dies leaving Rebecca to raise two teenage nieces. The deceptive title of the book might make it sound rather plain and simple but what Grace left would not be considered a gift by many. Find out how Rebecca struggles to keep her marriage together, to keep her faith in God, to keep her hope in life and her strength as a woman.

A review of this novel series would never be complete without mentioning Miriam Lapp. This is one lady who faces the world on her own. When her mother dies she returns to Bird-In-Hand and in her mourning and grief she has to relive some very painful pasts. It is a story of lies and rejection, pain and frustration. Nevertheless, one thing that Miriam manages to find is peace. For this reason the third book is aptly titled A-Place-of-Peace. It is a book that will literally bring tears to your eyes.

Where would Romeo and Juliet’s tragic story find a good ending? It has to be in the final book of the Kauffman Amish-Bakery. Titled A-Season-of-Love, this book tells of Katie Kauffman who has just been baptized in the Amish faith and Jake Miller a Mennonite. Katie’s father forbids their association in the classic way that Romeo and Juliet were separated. However, this book closes on such a beautiful ending. The best part of it all is that you get to revisit the lives of your favorite characters in the series.

Who should read?

This is a series for everybody. It does not matter how old you are- it is just an amazing series that will give you a yearning for life. Men and women, boys and girls, Christian and non-Christian everyone is welcome to take a journey with the Kauffman family.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kauffman Amish Bakery

Leave a Reply