Book Notification

Kay Tracey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kay Tracey Books

The Secret of the Red Scarf (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strange Echo (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery of the Swaying Curtains (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow on the Door (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Six Fingered Glove Mystery (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Green Cameo Mystery (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret at the Windmill (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Crimson Brier Bush (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Message in the Sand Dunes (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Murmuring Portrait (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Key Turned (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Sunken Garden (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forbidden Tower (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sacred Feather (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Footprint (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Double Disguise (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mansion of Secrets (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mysterious Neighbors (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kay Tracey series by Frances K. Judd
The “Kay Tracey” books were all signed Frances K. Judd, but were written by four different authors. The first two were written by Elizabeth Mildred Duffield Ward, the third through twelfth and the fourteenth books being written by Mildred A. Wirt. Book thirteen was penned by Edna Camilla Stratemeyer Squier, with the last four being written by Anna Perot Rose Wright.

The books were originally published from 1934 until 1942, with a total of eighteen books being published.

Kay Tracey is a sixteen year old girl living with her mom, Kathryn Tracey, and Bill Tracey, her cousin that she refers to as Cousin Bill. Kay’s dad is no longer living. It shares many similarities to the “Nancy Drew” series as Kay is always being accompanied by her two friends Wilma and Betty Worth just like how Nancy is accompanied by George Fayne and Bess Marvin. And Kay’s Cousin Bill is a lawyer just like Carson Drew is.

Despite some of the similarities to the “Nancy Drew” books, this series is a lot more like the ‘Dana Girls” series. Kay has a jealous rival, named Ethel Eaton, that is a lot like Lettie Briggs, the Dana Girls’ rival. Ethel plays an integral role in many of the Kay Tracey stories. Also, Kay attends school just like the Dana Girls, whereas Nancy Drew never does.

“The Secret of the Red Scarf” is the first novel in the “Kay Tracey” series and was released in the year 1934. Kay Tracey looks at the pale young guy in petrified silence when he looks at her and cries to her about how he’s finally found her. He also calls her “Sis”. These odd words are the start of one confounding search by Kay for some clues that are going to restore the memory of the appealing youth that she has given the nickname of Bro to.

This unexpected guest within the Tracey house, a victim of complete amnesia, knows only that he has to find Helene, his beautiful sister. Kay’s own striking resemblance to Bro’s missing sister is going to lead her through risky episodes, however this young sleuth is determined, even against all the threats, to aid this unhappy boy.

The Secret of the Red Scarf: for which Kay has but few clues. Why would Bro get frantic when he catches sight of the red scarf that Kay is planning on wearing to the masquerade? And after it vanishes, she gets plunged in deeper into this dangerous mystery. Her goal is to disprove select sinister accusations, about which she discovers, against Helene and Bro and to bring them both back together.

“The Strange Echo” is the second novel in the “Kay Tracey” series and was released in the year 1934. The thundering voice, which is detached from any kind of visible person, telling her to turn back, there’s danger ahead, transfixes Kay while the warning fills the whole sky with a sinister echo. When the spooky reverberations die off, the teenage detective and her friends, Wilma and Betty, look at each other in terror.

What could be the spine-chilling threat’s source that all of a sudden casts a shadow of fear on this happy outing? Some similar strange happenings have struck panic into the other vacationists at Lost Lake, and might cause the resort to be abandoned with great loss to the friends of Kay.

Kay, right from the start of her stay at the Worths’ cottage, is determined to pierce the veil of mystery which has enveloped the community. She has made her mind up to help the gentle, kindly, old Mr. Nelson for his long-lost family fortune in Faraway Valley. Then, there is beautiful Hilda Arno, whose odd plight has touched Kay’s very heart. The young woman also depends on the girl for help.

Even though Wilma and Betty are fearful, Kay feels she has to dare this challenge of this nerve-tingler of a mystery. However little does she dream of the horrifying web of danger lying ahead, that waits to engulf her if she should make even one false step.

“The Mystery of the Swaying Curtains” is the third novel in the “Kay Tracey” series and was released in the year 1935. Sissy Weller, Kay’s friend, learns that she is going to unexpectedly inherit a fortune should she be able to prove that her real name is in fact Christine Cleveland. The real mystery is how anybody in the world could link Christine with Sissy when Sissy is adopted and doesn’t have any knowledge of her real identity.

After hearing some additional details, Kay’s convinced that Sissy and Christine are the same person, however how could lawyer have known? Kay discovers that the lawyer received this anonymous letter informing about Sissy, however who could have sent him this letter? And how could they have known where Sissy was staying?

Kay investigates but gets thwarted at each turn. The orphan home that Sissy lived in before she got adopted has burned down. The one guy that may have known the answers to Sissy’s past vanished. Kay feels that somebody is making sure that Sissy does not inherit the fortune and tries to learn the truth before time runs out.

“The Shadow on the Door” is the fourth novel in the “Kay Tracey” series and was released in the year 1935. Kay is stunned when Mrs. Van Hutton refuses to sign this paper that Kay’s lawyer, Bill Tracey, prepared. Kay notices that she has a secret meeting with a guy named Stannovi, she suspects that Stannovi influences her decision making. Stannovi, complicating things further, is engaged to Ellen Trenmont (Mrs. Van Hutton’s secretary), who has total faith in this Stannovi guy. Kay attempts warning Ellen without any success.

Later on, Kay gets a note that warns her to stay away from Mrs. Van Hutton and out of all her affairs. Who could have sent Kay this warning note? And what could that person be afraid Kay’s going to find? Kay continues to investigate, which is hindered by her rival, Ethel Eaton’s antics. How Kay learns the truth this time around makes for quite the exciting story.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kay Tracey

Leave a Reply