Book Notification

Kazu Kibuishi Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Amulet Books

The Stonekeeper (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stonekeeper's Curse (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cloud Searchers (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Council (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince of the Elves (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape from Lucien (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firelight (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Supernova (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waverider (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Daisy Kutter: The Last Train (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Copper: A Comics Collection (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Explorer Books

The Mystery Boxes (With: Emily Carroll,Raina Telgemeier,Dave Roman,Rad Sechrist,Jason Caffoe,Stuart Livingston) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Islands (With: Braden Lamb,Michel Gagné,Jake Parker,Raina Telgemeier,Dave Roman,Christina Garland,Jason Caffoe,EricKim,Selena Dizazzo,Katie Shanahan,Steven Shanahan) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Doors (With: Douglas Holgate,Steve Hamaker,Faith Erin Hicks,Jen Wang,Johane Matte,Jason Caffoe,Noreen Rana,Mary Cagle,Jen Breach) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Flight, Vol. 1(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 2(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 3(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 4(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight Explorer, Volume 1(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 5(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 6(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 7(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight, Vol. 8(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery Boxes(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Islands(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Doors(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Comics Confidential(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kazu Kibuishi
Kazu Kibuishi was born April 8, 1978 in Tokyo, Japan. He moved, with his brother and mom, to the United States in the year 1982. he is a fourth-generation Japanese-American, since his mom as well as her parents grew up in the New York borough of Brooklyn.

He enrolled at the University of California, Santa Barbara in the year 1996 to pursue a film studies degree. As he attended UC Santa Barbara, he credits the Daily Nexus, the university’s paper, as where his illustration career began. Even though he had drawn for his high school’s newspaper prior, his career all started when he began drawing comics for the Nexus. He’d actually went to UCSB for film and was attempting to quit drawing.

Ultimately, Kazu would serve as the Art Director for the Daily Nexus for three and a half years, and developed his comic Clive and Cabbage during his time there. In the year 2000 he graduated from UCSB with a BA in film studies.

Kazu had begun drawing at the age of five. He has said that it was the sadness that came from no longer having any cool robot television shows like Ultraman around once he came to America that triggered many of his early projects and drawings. He’s also noted magazines like CARtoons and Mad Magazine as well as Garfield as catalysts for his love of comic books especially.

After graduating from UC Santa Barbara, Kazu worked as an animator for two years at Shadedbox Animations. While he was working here, he was still drawing comics and writing stories.

The “Daisy Kutter” project began with drawings of this cartoon cowgirl called Daisy Kutter in an online forum called The Drawing Board in 2003-2004. Kazu just posted them to share with his fellow cartoonists, many of who were professional heroes of his, and people started asking him if he had intended on drawing a story about her.

One such person was Jessie Garza, the owner of Viper Comics. When Jessie asked about drawing “Daisy Kutter” comics for them, Kazu said he just had a comic book’s worth of material to tell. One comic book issue, he ended up telling Jessie that he needed three more issues to tell the rest of the story. Daisy took on a life of its own from there.

He chose to leave the field of animation in order to focus solely on comics, which allowed him to spend more time writing. He began producing the monthly comic “Copper” on his site, which ran for a total of seven years and ended in the year 2009.

Kazu was inspired in college by “Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind” by Hayao Miyazaki and “Bone” by Jeff Smith. He wanted to write a graphic novel series which could stand alongside such acclaimed works. He kept both books on his desk to remind him of what he was looking to achieve.

He was also looking to write about growing up with his brother, and their experiences having to help their parents out financially during their early twenties. So his “Amulet” series is a combination of many inspirational fantasy/sci-fi books, movies, and games combined with all of the emotions of what his family went through in the years just after he and his brother graduated from college.

“Daisy Kutter: The Last Train” won the YALSA Best Books for Young Adults Award. “Flight: Volume 2” was nominated for the Eisner Award for Best Anthology in the year 2006.

Kibuishi is married to Amy Kim Ganter, a fellow illustrator and a collaborator. They have two kids Sophie and Juni, and they all live in Bellevue, Washington.

“The Stonekeeper” is the first graphic novel in the “Amulet” series and was released in the year 2008. Emily and Navin, after their dad tragically died, move with their mom to her deceased great-grandpa’s home, which is located in the fictional town in Norlen, which is close to San Francisco. This is in an effort to reboot their lives, however the unusual house proves to be quite dangerous.

Before all that long, a sinister creature is luring the childen’s mom through a door located in the basement. Em and Navin, who are desperate not to lose her, follow her right on into this underground world inhabited by talking animals, robots, and demons.

Eventually they also get some help from a tiny mechanical robot known as Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em has the chance to save somebody she loves at last.

“The Stonekeeper’s Curse” is the second graphic novel in the “Amulet” series and was released in the year 2009. Navin and Emily go off to Kanalis, a mysterious and gorgeous town of waterfalls, where they’re hoping they could possibly find the antidote for the poison which felled their mother.

This cure lays in the eggs of some huge serpent atop Demon’s Head Mountain, but the kids’ archenemy (who is named Trellis) is also heading up to the peak. A fight that is going to engulf every bit of Kanalis is close. It’s up to Em to triumph over evil all as she controls this amulet’s power, without losing herself along the way.

“Realm of the Blue Mist” is the first novel in the “Rema Chronicles” series and was released in the year 2022. Tabby Simon is determined to learn more about what truly happened to her dad, who was discovered dead while he was researching a tree which leaks this mysterious mist in her neighborhood. She unexpectedly gets led to Rema, which is a distant world of beauty and magic that is periodically invaded by some nearby planet that is desperate for resources.

As Tabby tries searching for the truth about her dad’s death, she meets Philip, a handsome blue haired boy. He has got dangerous secrets of his own, however he’s also promised to help her get back home. While Tabby continues learning more about this odd world, she learns that she is destined for something much greater than she could have ever imagined.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kazu Kibuishi

Leave a Reply