Book Notification

Keith McCarthy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Eisenmenger-Flemming Forensic Mysteries Books

A Feast Of Carrion (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Sleep of the Dying (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Analysis (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A World Full Of Weeping (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rest Is Silence (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
With a Passion Put to Use (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corpus Delicti (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soul Seeker (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Taste of Wormwood (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Furnace Far Too Hot (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kiss Before Killing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Mourn a Mischief (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dr. Lance Elliot Books

Murder Plot (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dying to Know (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nor All Your Tears (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Bishop and Todd Mystery Books

A Terrible Mistake (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Your Last Best Friend (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memento Mori (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of a Thing Long Gone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Keith McCarthy is a crime fiction author and English pathologist best known for writing the “Eisenmenger-Flemming Forensic Mysteries” Series. As Lance Elliot, he has written the Dr. Lance Elliott series of crime mysteries. McCarthy was born in Croydon in 1960 and went to college in South East London’s Dulwich College, before he proceeded to St George Hospital Medical School. Once he had graduated with his medical degree, he entered specialist pathology training and then worked with London’s Royal Marsden Hospital. While still training, he got his Ph.D. and in 1995 he got his membership in the Royal College of Pathologists. After spending a year as a consultant at the Royal Marsden Hospital, he was posted to Gloucestershire and has been working there ever since. He has been practicing pathology for more than three decades and enjoys writing crime thrillers and has branched out into screenwriting for TV and film. Since Keith now practices pathology on a part-time basis he has more time to write and golf. He currently lives in Gloucestershire close to the Worcestershire and Herefordshire.

McCarthy got started writing when he was but a teenager and wrote the usual things adolescents write during that age. However, it provided a much-needed practice that would serve him much later on in his writing career. He did not write much while he was in college but got back to writing as a junior pathologist though his first work would only come a few years later during the 1990s. Once he had a manuscript he believed was good enough for publication, he found an agent but they could never found a publishing house to buy it. McCarthy went through several rejections until he found a new agent who got Constable and Robinson to publish his debut novel “A Feast of Carrion” in 2003. He went on to publish four more titles with them before moving to Severn House, from where he has published most of his works since. In addition to his forensic thrillers, McCarthy has also published the Dr. Dance Elliot series with the first title of the series Murder Plot published in 2008.

In Keith McCarthy’s “A Feast of Carrion,” law enforcement and forensic science somehow come to different conclusions. The ingeniously twisted and suspenseful story opens to the shadowy rooms of the revered Museum of Pathology at St. Benjamin where the academic community would not be shocked with death. However, it is no ordinary incident when Nikki Exner is found grotesquely murdered execution-style after being raped. Tim Billroth who is a museum employee is a formerly convicted drug addict and rapist and immediately becomes the lead suspect in the police investigation. He is arrested but commits suicide while in custody and the police are more convinced that he was responsible for the killing of the young woman. But the Billroth family solicitor a Miss Helena Flemming thinks otherwise and is determined to prove that Tim was not involved in the murder. She seeks the help of John Eisenmenger, a former expert forensic pathologist that had been known all over the country for his exceptional work. Once he does an autopsy on the quartered and drawn body of the victim, his findings are the complete opposite of what the medical examiner from the police department found. As Flemming and Eisenmenger set out to find Nikki’s killer, they unearth a trail full of suspects, drugs, sexual favors and blackmail.

In McCarthy’s “The Silent Sleep of the Dying,” a young woman is discovered dead in her home. She has burns on 99 percent of her body though there is no evidence of a fire on the premises or on her. The strange nature of the death calls for a thorough autopsy and the investigator is determined to see it through. When Mark Hartman the pathologist is called in, he finds the body has almost every kind of cancer known to medics which leaves him puzzled. In the meantime, he leaves for a workshop outside of town and goes drinking in the evening. He has had an unhappy marriage and now drunk, meets some woman and sleeps with her. But what he thought was a harmless night of fun comes back to haunt him when at breakfast a man shows him a video and photos of his exploits from the night before. The man insists that the woman’s body has to go away by accident so that no one will ever know what happened. If he refuses, he will expose him to his wife and friends and destroy his life. Hartman agrees, mislabels the body and has it cremated supposedly by “accident” and in doing so destroys everything from the case. But then the woman’s boss “falls off” a building and his body is riddled with cancer too. They had both been employees of a pharmaceutical company and this is too much of a coincidence. Eisenmenger is called in and soon he is finding a lot of inconsistencies in the reports that he gets from the police and the pathologist. But since he is still recovering from another rigorous investigation is he physically and mentally able to handle this case or will he also fall to cancer.

Keith McCarthy’s “The Final Analysis” opens to five identical murders. The killer had totally eviscerated the bodies and like a deranged man had playfully distributed the organs around. The investigator Beverly Wharton was sure that the highly skilled and autistic morgue assistant Melkior Pendred was responsible. However. Sergeant Homer thinks that Melkior was not involved and believes that Martin his twin was their man. Melkior is in prison when an identical murder is committed leaving Homer with no option but to listen to his colleague and arrest Martin. But Helena Flemming his lawyer does her thing and the man is soon out on a technicality. Once he is out of jail he disappears and kills again resulting in a huge manhunt. Beverly is now afraid of what may happen to her career given that she had sent an innocent man to jail. He contacts John Eisenmenger and asks for his opinion on the similarities or differences between all the murders they are investigating. But then Helena goes missing supposedly taken by Martin Pendred. Eisenmenger is now desperate to find her and his investigations may just unearth the final clue to solve the mystery.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Keith McCarthy

Leave a Reply