Book Notification

Keith Thomson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Drummand Clark Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Pirates of Pensacola (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gus Openshaw's Whale-Killing Journal (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
7 Grams of Lead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Born to Be Hanged (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Keith Thomson is a highly reputed American who has written several successful books in the mystery, spy thriller, and fiction genres. His spy novels are particularly popular. Thomson was born in 1968, in the United States.

He began his writing career in 2005 with the release of the novel, Pirates of Pensacola. This stand-alone novel helped Thomson become noted in the world of writing. Even though the novel was only a moderate success, it got him recognized as a talented writer of mystery and thriller genres.

The novels that followed later received a considerable amount of success and recognition. Critics as well as readers praised the unique writing style of Thomson, including his character descriptions and the development of the plots.

Before Thomson took up writing as a career, he was a semi-pro baseball player in France, but that career was short-lived. After that, he tried drawing cartoons for a renowned magazine named New York Newsday.

Eventually, he decided to try writing. Luckily for him, things began to work out and he also enjoyed success with novels and stories.

His first writing job was as a writer for television commercials. Later, he delved into screenplays, news articles, and short films. One of the short films written by Thomson was screened at the annual Sundance Festival and received accolades by festival guests.

As a news writer, Thomson mainly covered national security. After years of hard work, his first full-length novel was published and he eventually went on to become a New York Times bestselling author.

As of today, Thomson lives happily in Alabama with his family and spends most of his time developing plots for his future novels. Most of his novels are released by The Huffington Post, whereas a few of them are published by other prominent publishing companies.

One of the initial books written by author Keith Thomson was published under the title, Once A Spy. This book was released by Doubleday in 2010. The lead character is Drummond Clark.

At the start of the novel, readers meet Drummond Clark and his son, Charlie. Drummond Clark was once a legendary spy, but now he is suffering from Alzheimer’s disease. Charlie Clark is an inveterate gambler who has debt to loan sharks from Russia.

Soon after Charlie rescues Drummond from the streets where he had been wandering, Drummond’s house blows up and the two barely survive. Bullets begin to fire from all the directions.

Initially, Charlie Clark thinks the loan shares have come looking for him. When he sees Drummond effortlessly hotwire a car and take out multiple assailants, he begins to suspect that there is more to his father that it would appear and that his father was much more than an appliance salesman.

The novel is filled with wit, energy, and style. Thomson received a Barry Award nomination for Best First Novel in 2011. It was also nominated for the prestigious Dilys Award in the same year.

The next popular book written by Keith Thomson is Twice A Spy, published in 2011 by Doubleday and again featuring Drummond Clark and his son, Charlie. The CIA believes that Drummond Clark is a dangerous man because of his knowledge as a former spy, now suffering from Alzheimer’s.

Charlie Clark takes his father to Switzerland, where the two of them are in hiding to avoid criminal charges awaiting them in the United States. Charlie uses the time to explore experimental Alzheimer’s treatments for his father. Soon, Charlie discovers that his love interest, NSA operative Alice Rutherford, has been abducted. He and his father attempt to dodge a formidable CIA case officer and free Alice from her kidnappers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Keith Thomson

Leave a Reply