Book Notification

Ken Kuhlken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hickey Family Mystery Books

The Loud Adios (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Venus Deal (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Angel Gang (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Do-Re-Mi (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vagabond Virgins (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Biggest Liar in Los Angeles (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Know Nothing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Answer to Everything (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Very Least (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hickey + McGee (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of For America Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

No Cats, No Chocolate (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing and the Spirit (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reading Brother Lawrence (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ken Kuhlken is an American author of fiction. He was born in San Diego, California. He is the author of many standalone novels and even mystery series. He is well-known for his original series of fiction that features the Hickey family in a series of adventures.

Ken first became an author with the release of his first novel. Originally released via publishing company Viking Press, Midheaven was critically acclaimed and popular with readers. This story takes place near the Lake Tahoe basin and is the story of a seventeen year old girl who is having a tough time. The book was a finalist for the best fiction book Ernest Hemingway Award.

She is struggling with her devotion to the heavenly father and her religion and the new-found feelings she is having for a man. When Jodi turned to Christ over drugs and boys, she thought it was forever. But when she falls hard for a teacher at school during her senior year, she’s going to have to face the decision of a lifetime.

His stories have appeared in many magazines including Esquire and he has received an honorable mention in the Best American Short Stories. He worked with author Alan Russell on the novella titled No Cats, No Chocolate, where he channeled the chaos of book promotion tours and what they involve. He has also composed a few non fiction books, mostly on writing.

Ken Kuhlken is the author of the Hickey Family Mystery series. The series kicked off in 1991 with the release of the first book in the series, which is titled The Loud Adios. It received an award from the Private Eye Writers of America for the best first private investigator novel. This was followed by the exciting sequel, titled The Venus Deal. That was followed by The Angel Gang and the fourth book, The Do-Re-Mi, which was a finalist for the award for the Shamus Best Novel.

The Loud Adios is the first book in the Hickey Family Mystery series of fiction. This is the debut novel in the series and where we the reader get to meet Tom Hickey. Tom is an interesting character who has quite an interesting life. He lives in San Diego and works as a private investigator.

Although now it seems that things are changing a bit for Tom. He’s decided to trade in his starched fedora and receive an M.P. uniform to replace it and now works the border between San Diego and Tijuana. Even though World War Two is still going on and Europe has become a battleground where hospitals cannot house the wounded and the dying long enough or effectively enough and the Far East is much the same, Tom’s world doesn’t seem to be remotely connected to it at all.

This little corner of Tijuana seems practically tranquil by comparison. It’s nice to be away from the loud raging horrors of war, and Tom is happy to be on the border and just hanging out far away from the dreadful active war going on. Everything seems to be fine until a farm boy named Clifford gets involved. When he tries to enlist Tom to help him in a mission.

Clifford wants this private eye to help him get his sister back. Apparently, she’s been kidnapped by a gang of both German as well as Mexican Nazis. Can Tom do it even if he agrees to help? Is it even possible to get the farm boy’s sister back? You’re going to have to read this novel in order to find out for yourself! The winner of the St. Martin’s and the P.E.W. of America competition for the Best First Private Eye novel, The Loud Adios is an exciting and colorful mystery novel that you won’t want to put down!

The Venus Deal is the second book in the Hickey series. If you enjoyed the debut novel in this fictional series featuring Private Investigator deluxe, Tom Hickey, then you’ll be sure to enjoy then second book in this series!

When an accident strikes three different generations of one family, it’s a mystery that’s begging to be explored. Is Tom Hickey the right investigator for the job? This family is gifted and when a young singer disappears right out of his very own night club, Hickey knows there is a problem.

Once he starts to look into things, he finds out that the singer is actually on a mission for revenge. In the months before Pearl Harbor occurred and the Japanese struck the American ships with a vengeance, Tom has decided to partially invest in a new source of income. What better place to run than a nightclub?

The music is always playing, the drinks are flowing, and people are keeping it interesting. It’s a great place to work and invest in, and now that Tom is the partial owner of the club, there’s no reason why the money shouldn’t be flowing in. The only strange thing is Tom’s partner, who seemingly has many sources to get things that you cannot normally get your hands on during times of war.

His partner can get hands on prime beef and even fresh butter. Meanwhile, Tom is starting to rake in the cash and that’s thanks in part to the talented singer that they have working the orchestra in the club: Cynthia.

Cynthia is talented and beautiful– there’s no doubt that she is helping to pull in revenue. With things going this well, the club should be doing all right. But when the singer disappears into the night, Tom needs to get this headlining lady back in the club and make sure that she’s safe.

Interfering is risky, but little does Tom know that he’s entering into a strange world that has roots in Cynthia’s past. Her mother is Venus, and the further that Tom follows the trail to Cynthia, the closer he gets to a cult and a guru that defy belief.

Will Tom be able to find his best singer? Can Cynthia survive a brush with a cult that does whatever its leader tells them to? Pick up The Venus Deal to catch all of the action!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ken Kuhlken

Leave a Reply