Book Notification

Kendra Ballantyne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Mystery Books

Sit, Stay, Slay (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing to Fear But Ferrets (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fine-Feathered Death (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Meow is for Murder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fright of the Iguana (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Double Dog Dare (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Say Sty (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howl Deadly (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Feline Fatale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Kendra Ballantyne series is a series of thriller, mystery, and suspense books written by one of the well known authors from The United States named Lind O. Johnston. This series is comprised of a total of 9 books, which were released between the years 2005 and 2010. It is also known by the name, Pet-Sitter Mystery series. Each and every book in this mystery series features the chief protagonist as Kendra Ballantyne. She is introduced as an attorney and a part time pet sitter living in Los Angeles, California, The United States. Author Linda has developed the fictional character of Kendra Ballantyne based on her own personal life. Just like her, she too works as an attorney in Los Angeles. Kendra owns a King Charles Spaniel. In spite of all the similarities between her and the lead character of the series, author Linda maintains that the series is not autobiographical. As the series begins, it is shown that Kendra’s license to practice law gets suspended. Due to this, she is forced to start a pet sitting business in order to earn her living. While doing so, she comes across a number of mysterious situations. In order to deal with them, she takes up some sleuthing activities and tries to solve the mysteries around her. Author Linda began writing this mystery series in the year 2005 and also released its debut novel in the same year under the title of Sit, Stay, Stay. It was followed by the series’ second book quickly after a gap of a few months the same year.

After writing and publishing 9 books, Linda did not contribute any more books to the series. As a result, it can very well be considered that the series ended with just 9 books. In the series, Kendra Ballantyne is depicted as living in the hills that overlook the San Fernando Valley. She calls her Cavalier King Charles as Lexie. For differentiating between herself and Kendra Ballantyne, author Linda says that unlike her, she loves to write and read, and avoids courtroom interactions. Before losing her license, Kendra was well known as a high powered litigator. She had got in sort of trouble during her practice that led to the suspension of her license for practicing law. As a means to earn living for herself and Lexie, Kendra begins to work as a pet sitter. After some time, her license gets reinstated following which she starts practicing pet law. However, before she can do so, a few of her clients from the pet sitting business start to turn up dead. This makes Kendra Ballantyne wonder whether losing the license to practice was the least of the problems in her life. The thing that worries her the most is the fact that she has turned into a murder magnet. When she sees that people are getting around her one after the other and this thing is not getting stopped, Kendra begins to investigate on her own and tries to find out the reason behind all the deaths. And with the help of her law practice, Kendra Ballantyne vows that she will make the murderers pay for their brutal crimes.

One of the most popular books written in the Kendra Ballantyne series by author Linda O. Johnston is titled as ‘Never Say Sty’. It was released in 2009 by the Berkeley Prime publication. The plot of this book shows that Kendra Ballantyne takes up the third job of her career as a pet sitter to mastermind a reality show. However, things take a messy turn when the producer of the show becomes the prime suspect in a murder case. At the start of the book, Dante DeFrancisco is introduced as a magnate of pet supply and a wealthy dreamboat. He thinks that Kendra knows about the behavior of cats very well. Therefore, before agreeing to produce her new reality show called Animal Auditions, he puts forward one condition before her. According the condition, Kendra should go out to dine with Dante. After the delicious meal, Dante and Kendra indulge in a passionate and steamy kiss. But, Kendra feels something is not right and thinks that Dante is up to something. On the other hand, the reality starts with full swing and pot bellied pigs start getting judged a selected panel of judges. In the middle of the show, things come to a standstill when one of the judges is found dead, strangled with one of the pig’s harness. Now, the list of suspects in the murder includes Dante DeFrancisco, Kendra’s police friend named Ned, and his sister. Kendra thinks that all three of them are innocent. So, in order to save their lives and for the sake of her own reality show, she decides to work out on her own and find out the real killer. Kendra works with great determination to clear the names of all 3 of them from the suspects’ list in the deadly crime. However, the actions of Dante DeFrancisco raise her suspicion on him and make her question his innocence related to the murder case.

One of the other well known book of the series was released under the title of ‘Double Dog Dare’. The Berkley Prime Crime released this book also in the year 2008. At the beginning of the story, Kendra Ballantyne is shown going through a rough month. Right after she made up her mind to move in with her private investigator boyfriend and sidekick named Jeff Hubbard, he disappears without any trace. His missing case appears to be that of cold feet. Soon, the police finds Jeff’s car in a canal in a submerged condition. With her panicked investigation, Kendra gets to the aunt of Jeff named Lois. She is a former pole dancer and a full time eccentric. Kendra learns that Lois had taken the Akita dog named Flisa to a cloning company for getting it cloned. However, the process of cloning was not successful and Flisa had died in the process. Later, one of the cloners gets murdered. As Kendra moves further into the investigation of the disappearance of Jeff Hubbard, she begins to wonder he was kidnapped. If not, he should have contacted her by now. Many other thoughts begin to come to her mind that tend to make her restless. At one point, Kendra wonders whether Jeff is the killer and is trying to protect her aunt. All such questions haunt Kendra so much that at one point, she seems unsure whether she wants to find out the answers to them or not.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kendra Ballantyne

Leave a Reply