Book Notification

Kenni Lowry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kenni Lowry Books

Fixin' To Die (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Southern Fried (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ax To Grind (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Six Feet Under (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead as a Doornail (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tangled up in Tinsel (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Diggin' Up The Dirt (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blowin' Up A Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heavens To Bribery (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave As All Get-Out (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tonya Kappes is a best-selling author of American fiction.

She has written over one hundred and eighty Southern cozy mystery books, which have topped many different best-seller lists, including on that of USA Today. She is known for writing stories with good characters that have flaws and books that are filled with humor, emotion, and plenty of Southern charm. Her novels have gotten high praises and great critical reviews.

Tonya is married. She lives with her husband in the northern part of Kentucky. They have four children together, all boys that have grown up and since moved out of the nest. Now that they’re gone, she writes in her camper full-time.

The author admits that the shameful truth is that for a long time, she hated reading. Tonya admits that she did not actively read until she was well into her thirties. For her report card in fourth grade, her teacher noted that she did not turn in two out of the three book reports that were required. She jokes that as the years went on, unless it was an invitation to a party, she was not reading it.

Later on, the author did ironically end up joining a book club. Of course, the reasoning behind it was that the club offered the chance for wine and chocolate as well as giving her the opportunity to get out of her house with four active boys at home every once in a while. Tonya was at a book club meeting one day where she was telling the group a story, and all of the people in the group gave her the feedback that she should write her own book about it. Just hours before that, her husband had also told her that she ought to write a book.

She got home from the book club around midnight, waking her husband up. She was wondering whether he actually did think that she could write a book that could help someone get out of their daily life and even laugh like books had done for her. He said that he did, and then encouraged her to go to bed. The very next day, Tonya went to her local drug store and purchased a notebook and pencil. She was sitting underneath a tree that night at her boys’ football practice and began writing what would turn out to be her first book.

Against the odds, that book ended up being sold to a publisher. From that point on, Tonya says that she never looked back. She has not only put out several books but has won many awards for her mystery writing, including author of the year, mystery of the year, a two-time selection for the Women’s World Book Club, and has been at the top of the USA Today best-seller list.

What truly matters to Tonya at the end of the day is not only writing but meeting readers too. She likes to hear their stories and feels good knowing she has personally been helpful in helping them get away from the pressures of their everyday life by reading one of her cozy mystery stories.

The author frequently goes to different reader events. She gives a keynote speech at these events, often about how reading impacted her life and helped save her life. One of these transformed into her own annual reader event hosted by the author that is called Two Dames on a Mystery Train. The gathering is an entire weekend that Tonya spends with her readers. The weekend event is centered around mystery and every year takes place in a different city. Tonya loves hosting the event and hopes that she will see her readers there.

Tonya continues to write and put out novels. She says she tries to keep her life’s purpose at the center of it with every book that she finishes, which is to help readers have a good laugh and escape from life with her southern mysteries which are full of southern hospitality.

Tonya Kappes is the creator and author of the Kenni Lowry series. The series first got its start with the debut of the first novel in 2021, Fixin’ to Die. This was followed by the second book in the series, Southern Fried. From there, it continued with the third novel Ax to Grind. The fourth novel in the series is titled Six Feet Under. The fifth came out shortly after and is titled Dead as a Doornail. The sixth novel in the series is titled Tangled Up in Tinsel. The seventh novel is Diggin’ Up the Dirt, the eighth novel is titled Blowin’ Up a Murder, and the ninth novel is titled Heavens to Bribery.

Fixin’ to Die is the first novel in the Kenni Lowry series by Tonya Kappes. If you’re looking for something new to enjoy, check out this cozy mystery for yourself!

Main character Kenni Lowry has always thought that she was responsible for the zero-crime rate that Cottonwood, Kentucky enjoyed. The sheriff prided herself on doing a good job, and who else would she think has contributed to this successful stat? Then she finds out that her grandfather’s ghost has been scaring away any potential criminals ever since she was elected to the job. It only makes sense, since he was sheriff for the town previously.

When the town doctor is discovered dead by most likely murder the same day that a jewelry store was robbed, with a symbol showing up at both crime scenes, it’s a tragedy. But it’s one Kenni is ready to solve and she is craving justice by catching whoever is responsible for the crimes.

With the help of a deputy, her poppa, and a cute state reserve officer, the sheriff is in a race against time to solve the cases. Hopefully in the process she can show the town that she knows what she’s doing and is the right pick for sheriff– before she runs out of time for good. Can she do it? Read this mystery to find out!

Southern Fried is the second novel in the Kenni Lowry series by Tonya Kappes. If you liked the first mystery, check this one out too!

The South is always a place where the food is better off fried and the secrets are better off kept buried. When a resident of Cottonwood turns up dead, with their body mixed up in an electric fence, Sheriff Kenni Lowry knows that something is off.

She sets off on her investigation, with things getting interesting with her looking into a cook-off competition, a euchre game, and looks into an old family recipe that may help her with her case.

She’s also in the middle of resisting an attraction to her deputy sheriff, who was only recently sworn in. Then there’s election season coming up, which is keeping her on her toes. Then the killer comes after those she values most in the world. Even the ghostly help of her poppa might not be enough to keep her and those she loves safe this time.

Can Kenni find a killer and save not only her own skin, but the town too? Read this mystery to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kenni Lowry

Leave a Reply