Book Notification

Kent Nerburn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Neither Wolf Nor Dog Books

Neither Wolf Nor Dog (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolf at Twilight (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Sang to the Buffalo (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Small Graces (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Simple Truths (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Beauty of Everyday Life (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Letters to My Son (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Haunting Reverence: Meditations on a Northern Land (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make Me an Instrument of Your Peace (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wisdom of the Native Americans (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Calm Surrender (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Road Angels (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chief Joseph & the Flight of the Nez Perce (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ordinary Sacred (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Native Echoes (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voices in the Stones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancing with the Gods (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Kent Nerburn

Primarily focusing on non-fiction and creative essays, Kent Nerburn is an American author who largely writes about American and Native American culture. Bringing his distinctive voice and perspective to the topic, he shines a light on various subjects surrounding his field of interest. Seeking to voice ‘an authentic American spirituality,’ he’s a gifted writer with much to say and offer on his particular subject. Setting himself apart, he speaks on ideas and beliefs rarely brought to light, writing about them in a highly interesting and informative manner.

Winning numerous awards for his work, he’s critically acclaimed and commercially successful, gaining the praise of critics and the public alike. Reaching a worldwide audience, his work has a universal appeal to it, resonating in a style that’s quite unlike anything else. Writing in his own distinct voice, he has a singular style that is very much his own, all while making sure his subjects come alive on the page. Looking to immortalize his subjects, he has a clear eye for people and what motivates and ultimately drives them forwards.

Each person that populates his books has a sense of personality to them that he draws out, making them speak for themselves. A very creative writer, he has a lot to say, and he doesn’t hold back from saying it, really making sure the true story is told. Speaking on television and broadcasting too, he’s also a personality in his own right, reaching a large audience while presenting many shows. With a lot more work to follow, he isn’t finishing up any time in the near future, as he carries on growing as both a personality and as an author.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1946 on the 3rd of July, Kent Nerburn was born and raised in Minneapolis, Minnesota, growing up with a strong sense of creativity. His parents were Lloyd Nerburn, who worked for the American Red Cross directing disaster relief for the Midwest region, and Virginia Nerburn. Attending the University of Minnesota, he would go on to graduate in 1968 cum laude, receiving a degree in American Studies.

Following this, he would go on to attend Stanford University graduate school between 1969 and 1970 and then the University of California in Berkeley. Gaining a Ph.D. in both religion and art in 1980, he would originally work as a sculptor, creating life-sized works from tree trunks, receiving much attention for his art. Marrying the journalism professor Louise Mengelkoch in 1989, he would have one son while helping to raise her other three children, as he continues to write from their home in Portland, Oregon, to this day.

Writing Career

In 1989 Kent Nerburn would turn his attention to writing, as he published the book ‘To Walk the Red Road,’ which was a book on the ‘Memories of the Red Lake Ojibwe People.’ This novel he would write with students from Red Lake high-school, along with ‘We Choose to Remember,’ which came out the following year in 1990. He’s gone on to publish many other works of non-fiction looking at his own life and the life of others, often examining spirituality in the process.

His work has also been commissioned for adaptation by New Line Cinema, and he’s also worked with the singer Robert Plant. Many notable personalities have also quoted his work too, with his words becoming hugely influential and inspiring in their own right. Published in many different publications, he continues to speak about his craft and the subjects important to him at various events worldwide with his award-winning work.

The Girl Who Sang to the Buffalo

This book would initially come out through the ‘New World Library’ publishing house back in 2013 on the 1st of October. It would be the third book in the ongoing ‘Neither Wolf Nor Dog’ series of non-fiction titles, charting the history of indigenous peoples. Taking place across America and Canada, it’s an evocative read and one that’s best read in order to get the most from it.

Moving through the lands of the Lakota, this sees a hidden world of the Native Americans, where all dreams have meaning, with powers bestowed upon the ‘old ones.’ Meeting the Lakota and the Ojibwe, readers are introduced to a strange young girl who’s mysteriously connected to the past, along with an otherwise forgotten asylum. Traveling through these different places and meeting all these people, the novel offers a mixture of history and life lessons in an informative manner. Uncovering mysteries that were thought to be long buried, the book brings back characters from the previous titles, too, as it seeks to bring answers to light.

Infusing spirituality with mystery, this novel is an engrossing read, as it perfectly complements the previous titles. Clearly depicting a slice of humanity, it seeks to bring to light the history of a people that may otherwise have been long forgotten. It’s easy to read and engrossing, moving along at a brisk pace, making a highly compelling and interesting piece of work.

Letters to My Son

First coming out back in 1993, this would also feature the subheading ‘A Father’s Wisdom on Manhood, Life, and Love.’ It’s a collection of creative non-fiction essays addressed from father to son, with Kent Nerburn writing them to his own child. Released through the ‘New World Library’ publishing imprint, it would be an early book from Nerburn and would also have a foreword from Richard Carlson.

Speaking directly to his son, here Kent Nerburn creates a collection of essays that will communicate with him and many other parents alike. Seeking to impart nuggets of wisdom that will stand the test of time, this collection of thoughts and feelings is universal the world over. Giving advice in some places while expanding upon his thoughts in others, the essays provide a complete picture of the relationship between father and son. Refined and well thought out, it’s everything Kent wants to say as a parent, articulated clearly and straightforwardly.

This heartfelt collection of writings and essays works on every level, with it being an honest and truthful series of thoughts and ideas. Accessible to everyone, the book is easy to relate to, regardless of who the reader is or where they’re from originally. The book can also essentially be picked up at any single point throughout, making it the perfect casual read wherever and whenever.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kent Nerburn

Leave a Reply