Book Notification

Keren David Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of When I Was Joe Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lia's Guide to Winning the Lottery (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salvage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is Not a Love Story (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cuckoo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Liar's Handbook (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stranger (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
True Sisters (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disconnect (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
What We're Scared Of (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say No to the Dress (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories from The Edge(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Keren David is an English author of fiction. David was not always active in the realm of fiction, instead spending more time in the field of journalism. She has been a journalist in some form or another, starting with her job as a messenger girl at the age of eighteen for a publication called the Jewish Chronicle. She currently works there as the Features Editor but held many jobs in between then and working as the editor.

David has worked as a news editor, comment editor, political correspondent, reporter, feature writer, and editor-in-chief for an agency that specialized in photography. She has written for many newspapers and magazines as well.

Her family moved to London in 2007 after living in the Netherlands for eight years. That is when she decided to try and start to write a novel for the first time. She had previously taken a course at City University that taught students how to write for children. It was then that she got inspired by the idea to write a book that would become her debut novel.

She kept writing the book, which centered around a boy that has to go into witness protection as a result of witnessing a deadly murder. She had previously plotted out the story during a class exercise on how to plan plots. The book was published in 2010. She followed it up with a sequel called Almost True and then made the Joe series an official trilogy with the release of the third book in 2012, which was called Another Life.

The series would not be her only work. David also published a book in 2011 that is the story of how a young woman’s life is changed when she wins the lottery. She is currently developing the novel into a musical. She has written several more full-length novels, which are generally directed towards the young adult audience, although anyone can read them!

David currently resides with her husband and cats in London, England. They have grown children together too.

When I was Joe is the debut novel in Keren David’s Joe series. The main character in this initial installment of the series is called Ty, and he is about to be in a situation that he never thought was possible.

When Ty sees another boy get killed by stabbing, the authorities recognize that he is valuable to the investigation and haul him in. Ty ends up identifying the people responsible– people that happen to be very dangerous. As a result, the police decide that it is necessary to put both Ty and his mother into witness protection.

However, it seems that they may be in trouble before they even start their new, made-up lives. While Ty and his mother are packing all of their things, a crude bomb is tossed through their flat’s front door. They manage to avoid being killed by it, but it is a prescient reminder of the risks facing Ty and his mom as a result of Ty’s cooperation with the authorities to point out the bad guys.

Ty moves to a new area with his mother. In the next few months, he transforms into just another kid named Joe. He takes on his new name and identity and starts at a new school. He expects to be mostly ignored, but shockingly, some of the girls in his classes seem to like him.

Joe also gets new attention for his ability to run. As a result, a college student takes him under his wing and starts mentoring him. The student is in a wheelchair but will be a contender to make the Paralympics. But will all this special attention make his peers resent him? Despite Joe’s attempts to blend in and avoid attention, he just seems to attract it like a magnet.

Things seem to be going okay overall, but then tragedy strikes. Joe’s grandmother lives in London, and Joe is devastated when he hears that she has been attacked and seriously injured as a result. The attack is clearly an attempt to get Ty– or ‘Joe’ as he is now known– to come out of the woodwork. Someone wants him to pay up for what he’s done, and they don’t seem like they’re stopping anytime soon.

Can Joe manage to get himself out of a bad situation? Will anyone else he loves be hurt, or will the authorities be able to bring the killers in? With danger all around, Joe has no idea what will happen next. If you want to find out, then pick up this exciting first novel in the Joe series from Keren David to discover what happens for yourself!

Almost True is the second novel in the Joe series by acclaimed author Keren David. Readers were thrilled with the fast-paced action that never seemed to stop in the first installment of this exciting fictional series.

When we last left Ty, he was adapting to a new life as Joe with his mother. The quiet town by the sea seemed like the perfect place for them to go into witness protection, but it seems that the people that Ty pointed out are determined to keep him quiet once and for all.

When a bullet that was intended to kill Ty misses its mark, Ty knows that he isn’t out of danger yet. He must hit the road to go into hiding, sometimes relying on strangers to get places or stay out of sight. But when he meets a group of strangers that seem to know too much about him with uncanny precision, has he relied on the wrong people to trust?

With a girlfriend named Claire still out there, Ty has never had more to lose. They targeted his grandmother, so why wouldn’t they come after his mother or his girlfriend too? While he misses Claire, he knows that he can’t see her without putting her in danger.

Ty is now on the run from gangsters that are willing to do whatever it takes to find him. But with risk around every turn, can he outrun them forever? Or will they finally catch up to him? You have to pick up Almost True to find out for sure! If you enjoy these two books, check out the final book in the trilogy too!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Keren David

Leave a Reply