Book Notification

Kerry Reichs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Best Day of Someone Else's Life (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leaving Unknown (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Luck Girl (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
What You Wish For (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kerry Reichs is a renowned American writer of contemporary, chick-lit, women’s fiction, and romance stories, and a lawyer by profession. She is particularly well known for writing her first two books, namely The Best Day of Someone Else’s Life and The Good Luck Girl. The most recent book penned by her is called What You Wish For. Author Kerry is the daughter of another popular American author and forensic anthropologist named Kathy Reichs. Even her brother, Brendan Reichs, is an established writer. Kerry completed her initial studies from Oberlin College and then went on to obtain her law degree from Duke University. She is an alumnus of the School of Law and the Institute of Public Policy at Duke University.

After obtaining a law degree, Kerry practiced law for a few years in Washington, D.C. Her decision of taking a sabbatical helped her to discover new talents. One of them was writing stories. Kerry became so much interested in writing stories that she decided to do it on a full-time basis. Subsequently, Kerry began dividing her time between Los Angeles and Washington, D.C. Over the years, she has grown used to driving on long roads so much that it has started to feel like fun. Whenever Kerry takes to drive to go from one of her residences to another, she takes her 2 cats along with her. Kerry likes being in the company of her cats and sees them as the best companions while she is driving cross-country. Though she has attended over a dozen weddings, she never got married herself.

Kerry says that she is still looking for her better half and is hopeful of settling down as soon as she finds a better contender. Whenever she wants some guidance or help with respect to her writing projects, she never hesitates to approach her mother, Kathy Reichs. Kerry believes that the vast experience of her mother has proved to be quite beneficial for her. She is looking forward to getting trained by Kathy to become an expert at writing stories in different genres. In her first book, Kerry has described a comic and thoughtful story about the manic pursuit of a woman of her perfect wedding day. It is told from the viewpoint of a serial bridesmaid, who begins to think that an alternate option might be good for her.

The debut book written by author Kerry Reichs is entitled ‘The Best Day of Someone Else’s Life’. It was released by the William Morrow publication in 2008. The lead characters mentioned in this novel include Caleb Carter and Kevin Connelly. Author Kerry has set the book’s plot in Washington, United States. Initially, it is depicted that Kevin Connelly is commonly referred to as Vi. She believes that she has some kind of curse due to which she got the name of a boy. Vi is a strong female and quite romantic in nature. She developed a liking in the institution of marriage when she was just six years old. Vi especially enjoyed being a part of the wedding day functions and loved carrying a basket of flower petals in her hand.

Vi liked the brides’ big white dresses and all the attention they received. It amused her so much that she began dreaming about her special day after growing up and started preparing for it well in advance. But, at the age of 27, she has a wardrobe full of costly bridesmaid dresses that she doesn’t think she is going to wear again. Vi has gone through a ton of embarrassing moments and the painful memories have diminished her hopes of getting married. Now, with no money in her bank account, most of which have been spent in buying the pricey dresses, Vi seems to have lost all hopes of having a happily-married life. Her friends and family members try to help her by coming up with possible grooms, but all of them make her much more confused.

Vi’s hopelessness grows so much that she indulges in a war of words with her untrustworthy boyfriend and eventually breaks up with him. Attending as many as 11 weddings in 18 months makes Vi get a taste of reality. The lessons she receives after getting rid of the illusions make her accept the hard reality and learn to let go whatever is not in her hands. It also helps Vi in making all those choices for herself that are right for her in the real sense.

Another exciting novel written by Kerry is known as ‘The Good Luck Girl’. It was published in 2009 by the Orion publication. The central character mentioned in this novel is in the form of Maeve Connolly. This novel’s setting takes place in Arizona. The book opens by mentioning that Maeve Connolly is seen as an irresponsible girl. She becomes too tired of listening to others saying whatever they want about her being irresponsible. Despite that, she does not change her daily routine of spending long hours browsing the internet, using Facebook, and watching marathon episodes of her favorite TV shows, including America’s Next Top Model. However, Maeve Connolly is not the kind of girl who has finished her college studies doesn’t have any ambitions in life. She is determined to bring positive changes in life and turn her bad luck into good luck.

After a short while, Maeve decides to undertake a big adventure and drive to Los Angeles. But, after driving for a few hours, her car undergoes a breakdown, leaving her stranded on the highway. It is at this moment, alone and far away from her home, that Maeve Connolly finally acknowledges her past’s reality. She finally realizes that over the past several years, she was not running away from her bad luck, but rather something more complicated. It made Maeve so much hopeless that she began to think her luck is not going to turn again and her heart is not going to open for love again. This story starts as a quirky and hilarious coming-of-age tale and then goes on to become a woman’s journey to find a new beginning and complex depiction of survivorship. It is funny, moving, and irreverent in equal parts and is exciting enough to leave the readers smiling with tears rolling down their cheeks.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kerry Reichs

Leave a Reply