Book Notification

Kevin Brooks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Johnny Delgado: Private Detective Books

Private Detective (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like Father, Like Son (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Johnny Delgado (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of PI John Craine Books

A Dance of Ghosts (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until the Darkness Comes (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrapped in White (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Travis Delaney Investigates Books

The Ultimate Truth (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Danger Game (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snake Trap (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Chapter Books

The Devil's Angel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dumb Chocolate Eyes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Five Hundred Miles (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

This Is Push(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'll Be Home for Christmas(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kevin Brooks is a renowned English author of young adult, fiction, mystery, thriller, and fantasy stories. He has received critical acclaim for writing successful novel series, such as the Johnny Delgado series, PI John Crane series, and the Travis Delaney series. Kevin has also written several mind-blowing standalone books in his career. The most notable works of Kevin include the novel Martyn Pig and The Bunker Diary. The latter has won him the prestigious Carnegie Medal in the UK. A few other prestigious awards won by him include the Brandford Bose Award and the North East Book Award, etc. Before trying his hand in the field of novel writing, Kevin worked in various jobs, including post office clerk, musician, civil service clerk, crematorium handyman, gas station attendant, hot dog vendor, railway ticketing office clerk, etc. Kevin was born on March 30, 1959, in Pinhoe, Exeter, England. He grew up with his two brothers in Devon.

When he was 11 years old, Kevin obtained a scholarship to study at Exeter School. He had an estranged relationship with other pupils in school because they were from well-off families and he came from a poor background. Kevin used to take solace in fiction and grew closer to it as the days passed by. He graduated from Aston University, Birmingham, with a degree in philosophy and psychology. Kevin has also studied Cultural Studies in London. The writing career of Kevin began in 2002 with a book called Martyn Pig. It was published by The Chicken House and tells the humorous story of a fifteen-year-old, who does not inform the authorities about the death of his alcoholic father. This helped Kevin achieve critical acclaim and also won literary awards and nominations. A year later, Kevin came up with his second book called Lucas, which revolves around the love story of a girl named Caitlin with a strange boy and experiences tragic consequences.

During his childhood, Kevin liked to read detective novels a lot. This helped him develop an interest in writing plots based on crime fiction. Kevin likes suspense and mystery and loves to put both the components in every story he creates in some form or shape. He is credited to have created the chief protagonist characters, Johnny Delgado, John Crane and Travis Delaney. When his novel, Bunker Diary, was selected by the British librarians, it turned out to be an exceptionally controversial decision. It describes the story of a gruesome torturer who holds several children hostage and causes atrocities on them.

The death of Kevin’s father when he was twenty years old had a great impact on his life. It prepared him to live an independent life and face the world with strong determination. Currently, Kevin resides in North Yorkshire. He spends all his time writing crime fiction and mystery novels and tries to take out some time from his tight schedule to spend with his family and close friends. Kevin is grateful for all the support, love, and appreciation provided to his dedicated fans all over the world. He also extends his gratitude to all those critics who have reviewed his work genuinely and have said praising words about his writing skills, character development, plot descriptions, and his storytelling abilities. Kevin looks forward to writing many more exciting books in the years to come and entertain his fans for as long as his body allows him to do so.

The PI John Craine series written by author Kevin Brooks is comprised of three books released between 2010 and 2013. Each of the books of this series features the main protagonist in the role of John Craine, who is depicted as a private investigator. Several other essential characters mentioned in the books of this series by Kevin include Stacy Craine, Anna Gerrish, Jamaal Tan, Leon Mercer, etc. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘A Dance of Ghost’. It was released in 2010 by the Arrow publication. Initially, it is depicted that John Craine struggles to come to terms with his troublesome past. His wife named Stacy was murdered 16 years ago and he is still disturbed by that loss. John Craine had found the body of his murdered wife in his bed. Since then, in order to escape that pain and his failure to find the answers to all the unanswered questions related to his wife’s murder, Craine immersed himself in work throughout the day and night.

One day, he receives a phone call that changes everything. The mother of a disappeared young lady named Anna Gerrish asks for John Craine’s help in finding her daughter. The subsequent investigations land Craine in a deadly web of lies and corruption that is connected to his own past. As Craine continues to dig deeper, he finds increasingly personal and terrifying secrets. In the end, John Craine finds himself racing against time to save an innocent woman from having the same fate as his wife more than a decade ago.

The second book of the series is known as ‘Until the Darkness Comes’. It was also published by Arrow in 2012. This book opens by showing that John Craine visits Hale Island to move away from the guilt and the memories of a past that does not seem to let go. Within a few hours of his arrival on the island, he stumbles upon the dead body on a beach. John Craine goes to inform the local authorities and when he comes back, he discovers that the young female victim’s body has mysteriously disappeared. At one point, Craine even suspects his own senses and doubts that he might have imagined a dead body lying near the beach under the effect of his troubled mental state. But then, he is determined to find out whether it was just his imagination or there was a real dead body that disappeared in broad daylight. He comes up with a lot of questions to get to the bottom of the mystery. When John Craine tries to interrogate the people on the island, he is shocked to learn that no one is ready to say anything. Shortly after, Craine realizes that he is stuck in a dangerous network of violence and fear. He discovers that someone is trying to keep his dark secret hidden and makes up his mind to not let him get away.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kevin Brooks

Leave a Reply