Book Notification

Ki Longfellow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sam Russo Mystery Books

Shadow Roll (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Dog, Bad Dog (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Next Room (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead on the Rocks (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stinkfoot (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Magdalene (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Houdini Heart (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flow Down Like Silver (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
China Blues (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walks Away Woman (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Illustrated Vivian Stanshall (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Ki Longfellow

Known for her diverse artistic capabilities, Ki Longfellow stands tall in the American literary landscape. As a novelist, playwright, theater producer and director, she undoubtedly flourished during her lifetime. She also claimed dual citizenship in the UK, being booth and American and British citizen. In the U.S., her fame primarily sprung from her powerful novel ‘The Secret Magdalene’ (2005), introducing readers to her extraordinary exploration of divine femininity.

Longfellow’s early works, ‘China Blues’ (1989) along with ‘Chasing Women’ (1993), engaged readers as gripping mysteries and thrillers. Her knack for creating captivating narratives became evident with the publication of her Sam Russo series in April 2013, a noir masterpiece set in 1940s New York City. This noir series unveiled its fourth book in 2015, amply showcasing her amazing storytelling abilities.

Another title that grabbed attention was ‘Walks Away Woman’, published in December 2013 which depicted the heart-wrenching tale of an ignored Arizona housewife who chooses the Sonoran Desert as her potential final refuge.

In 2018, Longfellow put on display her personal life through the art of writing as well. Her memoir, ‘The Illustrated Vivian Stanshall, a Fairytale of Grimm Art’ celebrated the life and times of her late husband, Vivian Stanshall. He was a musician, the lead singer of the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band, a songwriter, an author, a radio broadcaster, and famous for his wit. Illustrated by Ben Wickey, this book is a tribute to Vivian and showcases yet another facet of Longfellow’s diverse literary talents.

Leaving behind a powerful legacy, the work of Ki Longfellow continues to endure and inspire to this very day.

Early and Personal Life

Ki Longfellow, born Baby Kelly on 9th December 1944 in Staten Island, New York, had her name changed to Pamela by her mother Andrea Lorraine Kelly. Born to a young mother and placed in foster care, she was raised briefly by a relative until it was discovered her safety was at risk due to an abusive environment. This tumultuous beginning was transformed when her mother remarried a US Navy sailor, Clifford Longfellow, who adopted her, marking the start of a lifelong journey, filled with frequent relocations to different parts of the country, due to Clifford’s naval assignments.

The life of constant movement brought diverse experiences and interactions. Living with her adopted grandfather in Larkspur, California during transitions, Longfellow found solace in his company along with his fondness for horse racing. While moving around a lot, she continued to keep her eye firmly locked on her passion, graduating from Redwood High School in Larkspur with a determination to become a writer while immersing herself in the creative ambiance of painters, poets, and musicians in Sausalito.

With her booming sense of creativity, Ki Longfellow delivered a masterstroke in the world of literature. A significant chapter got added to her inspiring journey as she embraced motherhood at eighteen and then delved into acting and writing while moving to different parts of the world. A fateful meeting with Robin Gee, the manager of the English folk band Fairport Convention, led her to move to England, where she eventually met and married Vivian Stanshall, the charismatic frontman for the Bonzo Dog Band. Together they would raise her second daughter, Silky Longfellow-Stanshall, who was born in 1979.

To summarize, Ki Longfellow’s journey was a rollercoaster ride filled with myriad experiences and challenges; she proved time and time again her ability to adapt and evolve. Her journey until her passing in June 2022 reflects an unwavering commitment to her writing craft, inspiring future generations of writers to follow.

Writing Career

Ki Longfellow’s writing career began with the 1989 historical novel, China Blues. Enjoying widespread popularity, it was published by renowned publishing houses. Longfellow’s second book, Chasing Women, a comedy murder mystery, led her to the film industry

After battling pneumonia and experiencing the loss of her husband, Longfellow’s writing style evolved, reflecting her life’s experiences. Using ‘Ki,’ she published more novels, contributed to Dan Burstein’s Secrets of Mary Magdalene, rewrote the script for a comic opera, and explored animation.

Her 2011 psychological thriller, Houdini Heart, was shortlisted for the Bram Stoker Award. In 2012, she relaunched China Blues and started a murder-mystery series. In 2017, four of her books were optioned and 2018 saw her foray into the memoir genre, writing about her late husband Vivian.

Through her work she continues to live on, as more and more readers discover it to this day.

The Girl in the Next Room

‘The Girl in the Next Room,’ penned by Ki Longfellow, is the third self-contained installment in the ‘Sam Russo Mystery’ series. This comedy murder mystery was published on March 15, 2013. Eio Books had the honor of publishing this engaging novel.

When his neighbor Holly goes missing, private eye Sam Russo and his dog Jane embark on a dangerous journey to find her. Their search leads them into a dark underworld of masked gatherings and affluent miscreants. Meanwhile, Holly finds herself ensnared in an atrocious act instigated by a wealthy dunk.

Fuelled by a friendship that transcends gender norms, Russo and Jane persevere with an unlikely ally – the Irish mob.

this third book in Ki Longfellow’s ‘Sam Russo Mystery’ series is a satisfying blend of humor and suspense. The story captivates with its thrilling journey into a mysterious underworld, striking a perfect balance between comedy and mystery.

China Blues

‘China Blues,’ an intriguing historical mystery thriller, marked Ki Longfellow’s literary debut in 1989. This initial success paved the way for her illustrious writing career. In 2013, this captivating novel was reintroduced to readers, this time through Eio Books, reaffirming its enduring appeal.

Set in Chinatown, San Francisco during the Roaring Twenties, the story itself follows Nob Hill socialite, Elizabeth Stafford Hamilton, as she embarks on a daring affair with Li Kwan Won, a covert bootlegging kingpin. Unbeknownst to her, Li is at odds with her husband, the district attorney of San Francisco.

Trapped in a triangle of romance, crime, and power, Lizzie’s previously safe existence becomes riddled with peril. Her charmed life takes a dramatic turn, weighed down by the unfolding danger and conspiracies.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ki Longfellow

Leave a Reply