Book Notification

Kieran Larwood Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carnival of the Lost Books

Carnival of the Lost (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carnival of the Hunted (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carnival of the Spider (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Five Realms Books

Podkin One-Ear (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gift of Dark Hollow (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beasts of Grimheart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uki and the Outcasts (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uki and the Swamp Spirit (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uki and the Ghostburrow (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Faber Book of Bedtime Stories(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kieran Larwood is a best-selling children’s fiction author that is best known for the 2012 published novel “Freaks.” This was the novel that would win the novelist the Chicken House/Times Children’s Fiction competition.
In his teenage years, Kieran graduated with an English degree from Southampton University in addition to doing a foundation year at Falmouth College of Art.

He said that he first got interested in children’s fiction when he was just six and read The Hobbit. It was from this that he would then develop a passion for storytelling and stories.
Before he became a bestselling author, he used to work a day job as a primary school teacher on the Isle of Wight.

As such, most of his days were spent tying shoelaces, singing nursery rhymes, dealing with huge mountains of paperwork, and trying to locate the kid who has an accident by smell alone.

While he was for the longest time a lover of storytelling, it was not until he was an adult that he got into writing. Since Kieran Larwood loves drawing, he felt that he needed to illustrate his picture book but then lacked a story to accompany it.

When he sat down to pen his accompanying story, he discovered that writing is actually what he loved better than drawing. His life changed when he won the Chicken House/Times Competition, as he began to believe that he had it in him to be a writer.

However, it was not until he published the Blue Peter prize-winning “Podkin One-Ear” that he finally could quit his teaching job and became a full-time author.

With all the time in the world, he now focuses on coming up with some brilliant and innovative ideas for his stories. In 2016, he published “The Legend of Podkin One-Ear,” the debut novel of the “Five Realms” series of novels.
This would become a blockbuster series with most of the titles becoming bestsellers. He has said that the best news he ever received was that the series was going to be made into a TV series.
The best thing was that he also got to work with the animators and the production company in the making of the series.

Now that he is a full-time author, he spends most of his time working on his writing business. He usually starts his day by penning letters and emails before going through the last pieces of writing he did the previous day.
In the afternoon, he will usually write for several hours before the kids arrive back home from school making any kind of productive work impossible.

He also spends many hours taking notes and thinking about his stories which he believes is just as critical as the writing itself.
His best moments are when he goes to World Book Day where he sees the costumes of his characters or when he meets fans who say that his works have been instrumental in them developing a love for reading.

Kieran Larwood’s novel “Podkin One-Ear,” tells the story of a little rabbit who has not achieved legendary status yet. It starts on the eve of Kupinov, where a bard stops to seek shelter in the hut of a rabbit in exchange for a story.
He tells a story set a few hours before Kupinov when a bunny who was enjoying an idyllic holiday is rudely interrupted from his tranquility by an attack from the evil Irons.

The result of the attack is three bunnies having to flee for their lives one of whom is the legendary Podkin. The latter is a playful and lazy rabbit who does not care much about managing the rabbit he is set to inherit.
But when he escapes from the Iron, he changes and becomes a fearless, selfless, and brave new person, He got into all manner of trouble meeting new enemies and taking care of Pook his brother, and Paza his sister.
It would make the beginning of his journey toward becoming the legendary warrior during which the why and how he became “One Ear” is brought to light.

It makes for a beautifully written, touching, and adventurous story with dear and hearty characters that will win over just about any reader.

“The Gift of Dark Hollow” by Kieran Larwood continues to follow Podkin One-Ear and is just as excellent as the first title of “The Five Realms” series.

Podkin, Chrome, Pook, and Paz have survived a massive battle against one of the most formidable enemies and had chopped off one of his legs.

At the opening of this novel, they are holed up in a warren deep in the Grimheart forest known as Dark Hollow. Safe from any immediate danger, Podkin begins to feel useless and unappreciated and decides to get out and explore his new surroundings.
While out exploring, Podkin stumbles upon the Gift of Dark Hollow and this sets off a series of events that may be significant in the final defeat of the Gorm by the rabbits.

The novel also introduces several other characters most notably the bonedancer Zarza, the bard Yarrow and the enigmatic Vetch.

Meanwhile, the Gorm have been growing stronger with each passing day just like the goddess who has similarly grown stronger in recent times. The Gorm do not like these new developments and do their best to destroy the queen’s gifts forever.
It makes for a brilliant work with some excellent action and relatable characters.

Kieran Larwood’s novel “The Beasts of Grimheart” is the third of the award-winning “The Five Realms” series of novels.

In this outing, the bard and Rue his young apprentice have arrived at the temple compound of the bonedancers commonly known as Spinestone. Here, the bard is asked to tell the story which had often landed him in a lot of trouble.
Pook, Paz, and Podkin find their home threatened once again but they are ready to fight this time around. Podkin and the others ultimately decide to go to Sparrowfast where their uncle is in possession of a magic bow that could be their salvation.
But fleeing into the depths of the forest, they suspect that they have been betrayed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kieran Larwood

Leave a Reply