Book Notification

Kierney Scott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Jess Bishop Books

Forget Me Not (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cross Your Heart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Firing Line Books

Blurring The Line (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holding the Line (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crossing The Line (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Twice in a Lifetime (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Little Secrets (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Dance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch Your Death (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Kierney Scott originally comes from California, but later moved to Scotland to enroll at University of Edinburgh’s PhD program in the study of educational research. Scott lives with her husband and daughter.

Just four days after getting to Scotland, her husband convinced her that it would be a lot more fun for them to get married than for her to write her thesis. After her daughter was born, she felt it was time to head on back to university. She would quickly find, though, that all she really wanted was to write romance novels. When she told her husband about this, he quickly bought her a computer and told her to get to writing.

During her spare time, she reads and come up with new recipes. She likes to bake cupcakes (really likes eating them too and has a pretty great butter cream icing), and going to a spin class. Popular dishes with her family include her chocolate chip cookies that are grain free and her stuffed peppers.

In an attempt to get her family to convert to pumpkin lovers, she had them try a different pumpkin recipe in something that she called Great Pumpkin Challenge. Pumpkin queso and pumpkin arancini were both a big hit. Although, she has also promised to never call roasted pumpkin chips.

She writes the “Detective Jess Bishop” series and the “Firing Line” series. Her debut novel, “Twice in a Lifetime” was published in the year 2013.

“Blurring the Line” is the first novel in the “Firing Line” series which was released in the year 2014. Beth Thomson (a DEA agent) recruits Armando Torres (who is an ex-soldier) to work undercover, and knows that she has struck gold. He is going to infiltrate an extremely deadly Mexican cartel called ‘Los Zetas’, and expose the drug running they have been doing into the United States.

In return, she says she is going to allow him to kill the member of the rival cartel that shot and killed his best buddy. Beth does a good job of overlooking some of the brutal parts her job entails; it is the bigger picture that is her focus, after all. This time around, that means catching El Escorpion, who is most wanted and mysterious and leads the ‘Los Treintas’ gang.

Torres quickly climbs the ladder of the cartel, even has the tattoos to prove where his loyalty truly is. A secret meeting between him and Beth goes bad, and the cover he has set up is strong enough to allow him to save her from the fellow members of the gang. The fact that he is silent proves that he has gone through some horrible things to get him to where he is. Both the brutality nature and strength he shows turn Beth on and scare her at the same time. There is some strong heat that burns between them, even though it is unprofessional. He may have gone rogue. Will she be able to trust that he is going to put the mission first, before his personal revenge? Is she able to trust her own self with Armando?

The book has quite a bit of suspense and action to it. Fans of the novel found this to be an excellent and fun ride. Scott spins a yarn that is dangerous, rough, and dirty of the two heroes. Beth feels as though she just fakes her way through her life, which some feel is something they totally relate to. Some find cannot wait to get their hands on more books set in this world.

“Holding the Line” is the second novel in the “Firing Line” series which was released in the year 2015. Armando Torres went missing four years back. He was the greatest undercover recruit that Beth Thomson had, as well as her best lover.

She has forced herself to move on with her life since he has been gone. She finds out that Torres has been killed, and is not expecting the overwhelming emotions that hit her. It was a gang hit, and there is not much of a body remaining. She goes to the morgue and it makes her horror turn into disbelief at what she is seeing.

El Escorpion is still at large, her daughter is just about to start school, and her mother’s health is taking a turn for the worse. Will Beth be able to get the passion back from her past, even as her entire world changes around her?

Fans of the novel found this had some incredible realistic characters, some fun moments and steamy parts too, and a suspenseful story line. These things all made the story hard to stop reading for very long. The book was able to hook readers right from the start, and they never felt like it was hard to recall who certain characters were and they never had a hard time knowing just what was going on.

“Crossing the Line” is the third novel in the “Firing Line” series which was released in the year 2015. Beth still has yet to get over the hit El Scorpion ordered six years back. She has been hunting him for six years now. She has been reunited with Torres, who she married. While they raise Alejandra, who is their adopted daughter, it should all make her much happier.

The part she played in the tragedy is hard on her, as is that fling she had with Patterson, her old partner. She never told Torres about it. When the truth finally comes out, their intense passion becomes a fierce battle. Beth only wants to catch El Escorpion finally. Is this hunt going to cost her everything she has?

Fans of the novel thought the finale to the book was fantastic and it had a twist they never saw coming at all. This book is not just something that ties up the loose threads from the previous two, but truly stands all on its own the entire time. Some like how the relationship between Beth and Armando grows even more in this book. This is a strong series of books that Kierney Scott has given her readers, and she should be proud of the work.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kierney Scott

Leave a Reply