Book Notification

Killer Coffee Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Killer Coffee Books

Scene of the Grind (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mocha and Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freshly Ground Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Blooded Brew (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Decaffeinated Scandal (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer Latte (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holiday Roast Mortem (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead to the Last Drop (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Frothy Foul Play (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spoonful of Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Barista Bump Off (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cappuccino Criminal (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Macchiato Murder (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pour-Over Predicament (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ice Coffee Corruption (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Tonya Kappes writes humorous mystery novels with a southern flair. An USA Today Bestselling author, she has written several dozen novels and novellas, most are considered as writing women’s fiction because of her experimenting with plots and concepts. Ms. Kappes is also known for writing mystery and romance stories.

Her selection of cozy novels are filled with a great amount of humor and a wonderful selection of quirky characters. Ms. Kappes stories are totally fun, even without action and adventure.

Ms. Kappes’s has received many awards including being listed as a finalist for the Next Generation Indie Book Awards and in the Amazon’s eFestival of Words. She has demonstrated hard work with her promotion of her books.

Ms. Kappes can credit her success to her fabulous writing but also due to sheer hard work. She has been skillful with her marketing efforts and by creatively cultivating and managing her social media accounts to keep her thousands of followers informed and ready to buy her new stories.

Ms. Kappes has a husband and two sons. When the boys became teenagers she was able to get into her writing full-time. She has her priorities though- she attends high school games and still takes care of their many pets.

Ms. Kappes’s Killer Coffee Series is about small town family and friends, small town gossip, and when trouble brews, put those differences aside. The Killer Coffee Series are about family, friends, holidays, festivals, and celebrations. The twists and turns of the stories will have you cheering for the whole town of Honey Springs.

The Killer Coffee Series by Ms. Kappes starts with Scene of the Grind. “Southern Hospitality with a Smidgen of Homicide” The story starts at the Bean Hive Coffeehouse where the coffee is hot and the gossip even hotter!

Roxanne Bloom has moved to the town of Honey Springs, Kentucky. After she divorced her cheater of a husband, quit her job as a lawyer, she thought moving to the quaint town where she seen her summers as a teenager visiting her eccentric, fun-loving Aunt Maxi.

Roxi’s inspired to realize one of her dreams and open the Bean Hive in Honey Springs. It’s the first coffee house in town on the newly revitalized boardwalk.

She managed to open at just the right time and take advantage of the opportunity of good business for the annual Honey Springs Honey Festival. Roxy is loving her life there.

Business is flourishing and Roxi’s been able to reconnect with special people, including her first teenage sweetheart. She likes to visit her favorite shop in Honey Springs, The Crooked Cat book store.

Her Aunt Maxi, along with Alexis Roarke, are the owners of the Crooked Cat. Unfortunately the two ladies aren’t on the best of terms right now. Alexis has been leasing the book store’s building from Aunt Maxi and the rent is going up.

Roxi decides to take a cup of Bean Hive coffee and a sweet pastry as a peace offering between Aunt Maxi and Alexis. Unfortunately, when Roxi arrives at the Crooked Cat, she finds Alexis dead and Aunt Maxi becomes the prime suspect.

Remembering that the gossip in Honey Springs is hot, Roxy has to uncover who is behind the murder. She must: she needs to save her shop, her aunt, and her life.

Mocha and Murder is Ms. Kappes’s second book in the Killer Coffee Series. Welcome back to the Bean Hive Coffeehouse with Roxy. There you will find luscious pastries, steaming hot coffee, and gossip that is ripping hot.

There’s another murder in Honey Springs and Roxy is in the middle again. She’s putting her detective skills to work again and she needs to prove that Louise Carlton is not the murderer of Fred Hill.

Louise is the manager of the Pet Palace animal shelter. If Louise goes to jail there won’t be another person as capable as her to find all the animals at the shelter a home.

Pet Palace is Honey Springs’s local SPCA. Not every small town in Kentucky has one and Pet Palace was run only with volunteers and community donations. Louise never turned away any little critter of any kind. Roxy volunteers on Monday nights at the shelter to clean cages and feed the four-footed guests.

Ms. Kappes tells this tale with her usual flair for characters and their names. Loretta Bebe, aka Low-retta as she says it with her deep southern voice, is an old family, old money southern gal who looks down her nose at nearly everyone and has an air of entitlement that frequently rubs people wrong.

Loretta let Roxy know she’s not been in Honey Springs long enough to be entitled to join the local ladies’ club. She’s one of those southern women.

Bunny Bowowski is in her seventies and she seems to not have a filter for anything she has to say. If there was an age when the filter of the mouth seems to fall off, it appears it may be around the age of seventy.

The interesting character of Honey Springs is exactly why Roxy is enjoying her coffeehouse instead of being a lawyer. The joy she has serving a person a hot, fresh coffee and simple pastry is much better than telling a law client they were heading to jail for life.

It is a step up from her former life. She grew up and became a lawyer for her mother, married a fellow law student, opened a practice together. When she caught him taking payment in the form of “favors” rather than money, she divorced him and left for Honey Springs. Now Roxy enjoys spending her time baking homemade dog treats and volunteering at the Pet Palace Rescue.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Killer Coffee

Leave a Reply