Book Notification

Kiran Millwood Hargrave Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl of Ink and Stars / The Cartographer's Daughter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Island at the End of Everything (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Way Past Winter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deathless Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mercies (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Secret of Birds & Bone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Julia and the Shark (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dance Tree (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Haunting Season(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is a renowned British author, award-winning poet, and playwright. She is known to have written several mind-blowing standalone books and poetry collections in her career. Hargrave entered the field of writing in 2009 and came up with her first full-length novel in 2014. Her first book, The Girl of Ink and Stars was bought by the Knopf Random House publication in the United States and Chicken House Scholastic publication for the rest of the world. The book is also known as The Cartographer’s Daughter and its rights were obtained by Knoph as part of a two-book deal in six figures. It came out in the United Kingdom in May 2016 and immediately became the Children’s Book of the Month.

After featuring in several bestseller lists, the book won the Children’s Book Prize by Waterstones and the British Book Award. Within 3 months of its publication, the novel entered printing for the fourth time. In the US, the book was released in November 2016 and later sold in more than a dozen territories throughout the world. Another excellent book penned by Hargrave is the Blue Peter Awards and Costa Book Awards shortlisted novel called The Island at the End of Everything. Hargrave has recently started writing for adults and her first book titled The Mercies is set for release in the first quarter of 2020. This book is based on the trials of Vardo witch. Author Hargrave was born on March 29, 1990, in London, England. She completed her graduation in 2011 from Cambridge University and then studied at Oxford University, thereby graduating in 2014.

Hargrave developed an interest in poetry while she was in college and started pursuing it professionally immediately after her graduation. The poetry written by her has featured in many international journals, including Room, Shearsman, Orbis, Magma, Agenda, and The Irish Literary Review. In 2013, her poem titled Grace won the Yeovil Literary Prize and was judged by Neil Astley. This poem featured in Hargrave’s third collection. As a playwright, Hargrave came up with her first piece under the title of Boat. It is based on human trafficking and was dramatized in 2015 by a theater company called Pigdog in Balham at Theater N16. The play opened to 5-star reviews and was called the most urgent and compelling piece of theater to have come out in that year.

The writers who have influenced Hargrave throughout the course of her career include Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Iain Banks, Margaret Atwood, Philip Pullman, Barbara Kingsolver, Robin Robertson, Louise Gluck, Emily Dickinson, J.K. Rowling, Roald Dahl, Katherine Rundell, Jose Saramago, etc. Hargrave is represented at the Janklow & Nesbit publication by Kirby Kim and Helie Ogen in the US and the UK respectively. She is happily married to a visual artist named Tom de Freston. Currently, the couple resides in Oxford along with their cat named Luna. Hargrave takes great pride in knowing that her books and poems are widely popular and they have been highly appreciated by numerous critics all over the world. She is hopeful of getting the same amount of love and appreciation for all books coming in the future. Besides writing poetry and fiction novels, Hargrave loves to indulge herself in dancing, listening to music, cooking, and spending time with her cat.

A popular book written by author Kiran Millwood Hargrave is entitled ‘The Girl of Ink and Stars’. It was released by the Chicken House publication in 2016. The central characters mentioned in this book include Isabella Riosse, Lupe, Moana, Pablo, and a few others. Initially, Isabella Riosse is introduced as a 13-year-old girl living on an island called Joya. She is forbidden to move out of the island, but dreams of exploring the faraway lands that were once mapped by her father. When one of Isabella Riosse’s closed friends disappears into the Forgotten Territories of the island, she volunteers to form a team of rescuers to search the girl. Being the daughter of a cartographer, Isabella is well equipped with knowledge about starts and ink maps. She seems quite eager to visit and explore the forgotten heart of the island.

Isabella Riosse sees the search and rescue operation as a means to fulfill her dream and navigate the faraway lands that she has always wished to explore. However, she knows that the world outside the walls of the island is a vast wasteland, which is home to monsters. Also, beneath the smoky mountains and dry rivers, a legendary fire demon is believed to be resting. Isabelle Riosse makes up her mind to not let the fear of the monsters and demons grip her mind. She moves forward to look for her friend and rescue her. Isabella and her team follow their hearts, Isabella’s maps, and an old myth. In the end, they not only succeed in saving Isabella’s friend, but also discover the end of their journey that helps them save the island from great destruction.

Another mind-blowing book penned by Kiran M. Hargrave is known as ‘The Deathless Girls’. It was published in 2019 by the Orion Children’s Books publication. The lead characters depicted in this novel by Hargrave include Kizzy, Lil, and Mira. These characters are shown fighting the obstacles and succeed in escaping captivity. The book opens by showing that Lil is a 17-year-old girl. On the day of her divining and discovering her fate, Lil gets kidnapped along with her twin sister named Kizzy. A cruel enslaver named Boyar Valcar captures and enslaves the girls. After their capture, Kizzy and Lil get taken away from their traveler community with no hopes of making it back. They get sold to slavery and forced to work in the unwelcoming and harsh castle kitchens.

Lil experiences comfort when she comes across Mira, who is also a slave just like her. The two get drawn to each other in a way that none of them is able to understand. Through Mira, Lil comes to know about the terrifying and mysterious figure named Dragon, who is known to take little girls in the form of gifts. Even though the girls could not experience their divining, they still go on to discover the fate that they were so desperately waiting for. This novel was highly appreciated just like all the other novels of Hargrave and received good reviews from numerous critics.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Leave a Reply