Book Notification

Kirk Jockell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Nigel Logan Stories Books

Tales from Stool 17; Finding Port St. Joe (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from Stool 17; Trouble in Tate's Hell (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales from Stool 17; Dark Days of Judgment (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tough Enough (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tupelo Honey (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traffic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tidewater Moon (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tormented (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trapped (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tough Enough is the prequel to the Nigel Logan Series

Publication Order of Tropical Noel Adventure Books

with Mac Fortner

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cuban (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Michael: When A Catastrophe Answers Prayers (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kirk Jockell loves to refer to himself as a retired Senior Chief from the American Navy. On the other hand, he is a bestselling author of suspense and thriller fiction that is best known for “The Nigel Logan Stories.”

The author comes from Port St. Joe, a small coastal town in Florida, even though he also spends some of his time around Lake Lanier in Georgia. Growing up, Jockell suffered from ADHD and loved stories but no one then knew that he had a very wild imagination.
He still remembers how his mother used to say that he lived in his own little world and how he used to have stories constantly dancing in his head. Five decades later, he still has a wild and fertile imagination but now puts his stories on paper and only regrets that he took too much time before he started.

He made his debut with the publishing of “Finding Port St. Joe” the first of “The Nigel Logan Stories.” Jockell now has more than nine works to his name across several series and single-standing titles. Over the years, Kirk Jockell has made a name for writing works full of thrills, drama, and all manner of shenanigans.

When he is not penning his novels, Kirk Jockell loves to read a lot. The first story he ever read that had the most impact on him has to be “The Old Man and the Sea” by Ernest Hemingway.

Unlike many authors, he was not a good reader which made him hate reading. It was his father that made him read Hemingway and the fact that it was a small book also helped a lot.

He painfully pored over each word most of the time not understanding what was going on, even if he enjoyed the story in patches. He would eventually come to love the story and read it over and over again.
He has said that some of his favorite novels are the ones that moved him to be a reader of books following years of being a functioning illiterate.

Some of his favorite novels include John Grisham’s “The Firm,” Stephen King’s “The Shining,” and three Ernest Hemingway titles in “The Sun Also Rises,” “To Have and Have Not,” and “The Old Man and the Sea.”

Kirk Jockell has always been a member of the Southern Sailing Club and when they were in need of a new editor for The Mashead the club newsletter, he volunteered. He was charged with collecting content and inputs from another officer that he would then compile into the newsletter.

But getting people to submit anything was like pulling teeth and his first newsletters were terrible. When he threatened the contributors and said he would write everything himself, the input completely stopped and he was forced to start filling the newsletter with his own commentary.

But he was encouraged by the fact that people liked his newsletter and kept writing. While this was his first regular writing gig, it was by no means his first rodeo. His first ever published work was “Live is Even Better Now,” a letter he penned to the editor on the birth of his daughter.

The story is now a featured post on his blog titled “The Beginning of a Writing Hack.” He was delighted when many readers wrote and called gushing about the story.

Kirk Jockell now spends most of his time in the small town of Flowery Branch even though he loves to call the small Floridan town of Port St. Joe home. He currently lives with Joy his wife of 35 years, Stormy a black cat who cannot stop puking, the smartest dumb dog in the world named Dixie, and Nate their Apalachicola Coonhound.

Jockell is also an avid photographer of sailboats, avid sailor, and lover of Jim Beam. Sometimes he will also throw cast nets for mullet and play the guitar in his backyard.

“Finding Port St. Joe” by Kirk Jockell is the debut of a three-part series that is sure to leave readers wanting more. The work introduces Nigel Logan, a retired Petty Officer in the Navy who realizes that his only choice is to leave behind a violent past and a homicide he believes catching up to him.

Deep in the night, he had slipped out of the small town on his 32-foot sailboat he had christened the Pearson Vanguard. He is hedging for unknown destinations but is ultimately drawn to Florida’s Port St. Joe on the “Forgotten Coast.”
There he meets some of the most lovable and craziest people that help him to put his past in the rearview mirror to embark on a new life. While new friends and a new home help to distract him from the past, Nigel Logan is unable to completely delete the dark past from his mind.

Modeled on the likes of the works of Carl Hiaasen, John D. MacDonald, and Randy Wayne White, it makes for an incredible introduction to the series.

Kirk Jockell’s “Trouble in Tate’s Hell” follows Nigel Logan as he settles in his new hometown in Florida alongside the craziest friends one could ask for. He has also been fortunate enough to have found a new girlfriend that he believes the trouble he left behind will never bother him again.

But things never go so smoothly for long as his troubles come back to pay a visit. Many consider him the man that got away with murder and as his troubles start rising to the surface, he can no longer ignore them. The best thing to do is to fight if he is to have a chance of keeping what he holds dear.

Jockell showcases his brilliance as he leads his readers into all manner of intriguing scenarios that make for an incredible page-turner. The novel builds solidly on the storytelling and characters that were introduced in the first work.
More importantly, the author adds interesting backstories and depth to the lead character even as he tells of the interesting and quirky characters of the small town.

“Dark Days of Judgment” by Kirk Jockell sees Nigel Logan returning to face judgment in this page-turning finale to the series.

Logan went through a lot in the previous novel but in the back of his mind, he always knew his life and new existence in Florida would be temporary. He knew that if things became too bad, he would leave everything behind and that it was only a matter of time.
He will not run from anything or anybody and hence when the Virginia authorities drag one of his friends into the homicide case of Terrance Lundsford, he is determined to get him off.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kirk Jockell

Leave a Reply