Book Notification

Kirk Mitchell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Procurator Books

Publication Order of Dee Laguerre Mystery Books

High Desert Malice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Valley Malice (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Books

Cry Dance (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirit Sickness (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ancient Ones (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sky Woman Falling (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dance of the Thunder Dogs (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A.D. Anno Domini (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never The Twain (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Dragon (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mississippi Burning (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
With Siberia Comes a Chill (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backdraft (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow on the Valley (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blown Away (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fredericksburg (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kirk Mitchell is a well-established writer who is known for his alternate history, time travel, adventure fiction and historical fiction novels. Mitchell has also been involved in the characterization of some of his novels into feature movies. Apart from using his real names, Kirk Mitchell also uses his pseudonym as well from time to time. Before he became an author, Kirk Mitchell served as a deputy sheriff on the Paiute Shoshone Indian Reservations, which included Death Valley. Mitchell also served as a SWAT Sargent in California for quite some time.

Kirk Mitchell Best Books

Spirit Sickness

Spirit Sickness is the second suspense novel that features the Unseasoned FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed and her exceedingly relentless Bureau of Indian Affairs BIA investigator Emmet Parker. In Spirit Sickness, author Kirk Mitchell pulls all the necessary stops. The book begins with the protagonist; Emmet Parker manages to convince one Anne Turnipseed, who is a fellow Indian to join him in one of the cases that he was working on. The case involved the ritualistic murder of one Bert Knoki, a tribal policeman, and Aurelia, his wife. The investigation leads these two officers on an exceedingly dangerous path. As Anna and Emmet tear down Arizona, Utah and New Mexico. As the two progress with the investigation, they constantly fight their mutual attraction. Their constant bickering cannot disguise the attraction that they have towards each other.

Kirk Mitchell’s exceedingly complex characters are troubled by their past. To arrive at the solution, Anna and Emmet first begin by examining the South-Western History and then force the truth out of witnesses and suspects as well. One can only wonder how these two characters can continue their emotionally and physically grueling work without much rest. Nonetheless, this is a work of fiction. Thus anything is possible. Despite the fact that the story has been set in Navajo Land, the two main characters are not Navajo’s. While examining the crime scene, Anna and Emmet come to the conclusion that after the cop and his wife were killed, they were then set on fire. After being tortured in the first installment, this is Anna’s first big case. Anna and Emmet are working alongside Summerfield, the Caucasian FBI agent as well as the Navajo cops. As more bodies continue to pile up, it becomes exceedingly clear that the killer is deriving his desire to kill from the Navajo narratives. The killer sees himself as the Gila. He has even resorted to planting, the victims’ bodies at various locations.

Tony Hillerman, including the location and the blending of the Native American practices and Myths, with the themes that emphasize the hard life of the contemporary Indians, can compare Spirit Sickness to some of the works. However, Kirk Mitchell’s novels are less violent when compared to Hillerman’s novels. The killers that Mitchell has created are emotionally tortured while his detectives are exceedingly damaged in body and soul. By shifting the location in each of the installment, Mitchel a remarkably powerful writer of deep emotions, nail-biting suspense and breath taking natural beauty can step into his spotlight.

Cry Dance

Mitchell, an Edgar Award nominee, a former member of the California Swat team offers an exceedingly taut thriller about an illegal control of the tribal gambling casinos. Illuminated by a fascinating lore of the Southern tribes and sprinkled with bureaucratic legalese, Cry Dance’s plot is layered with legitimacy. The book as the local police department is looking into the mutilation of a police officer who was based in Las Vegas. Comanche Investigator is assigned the case alongside rookie FBI agent, Anna Turnipseed. Despite the fact that the agent’s body was found in an exceedingly remote reservation in Arizona, with the victims face neatly sliced off, it becomes exceedingly evident that she was killed close to the Borax pits.

The brutal killing of the victim, eventually leads to an inside look at the Native American gaming and the effect that it has on the Native American people who reside within the reservations. Parker, the protagonist, eventually ends up meeting an old enemy, one that he had faced while residing in Wounded Knee, South Dakota, more than ten years ago. The old nemesis had kidnapped agent Turnispeed while she was working as an undercover agent at Shoshone Casino. With that said, the characters have been well developed with history implied between some of these characters. Overall, Cry Dance is a stirring and powerful book that is filled with Ghost Dances, flashbacks to the Indian Resistance as well as the horrors of a murder that is being carried out in the guise of law.

Ancient Ones

Ancient Ones is the third book in the Emmet Parker and Anna-Turnipseed book series. The book begins with the unearthing of what appears to be a 14,000-year-old skeleton. The skeleton is believed to be that of a Caucasian man. This, in turn, raises some exceedingly important cultural issues. As the story continues further and further, the readers are introduced to the native practices and beliefs of those who reside in the regions, which are linked to the unearthing of the skeletons. The more dominant issues are that the ancients had been disturbed and were exceedingly angry that they would even resort to killing the living. After the bones had been found, two American Indian law enforcement officers get snared into a heated debate accidentally.

The debate is about whether the bones, which were recovered, would be investigated further or turned over to the local tribe for a proper burial. However, as the tension between the investigators and the local tribe continued, some of the investigators begin to turn up dead. This, in turn, kicks off a complicated web of an investigation by the two officers, Turnipseed and Emmet Parker. With that said, Ancient One is an excellent story that features an entangled plot, which will undeniably keep the readers interested. Despite the fact that Ancient Ones has a slow start, the pace of the story eventually picks up. Ancient Ones is an exceedingly interesting book that is not only informative but also exceedingly tense towards the end. Apart from possessing exceptional writing skills, Kirk Mitchell also understands how to draw the reader into the book by adding a little bit of the supernatural to send shivers down the spine of the readers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kirk Mitchell

Leave a Reply