Book Notification

Kirsten Miller Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Eternal Ones Books

The Eternal Ones (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
All You Desire (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Kiki Strike Books

Inside the Shadow City (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Empress's Tomb (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkness Dwellers (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Last Reality Books

with Jason Segel

Publication Order of Nightmares! Books

with Jason Segel
Nightmares! (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmares! The Sleepwalker Tonic (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmares! the Lost Lullaby (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

How to Lead a Life of Crime (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Tell a Soul (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Change (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lula Dean's Little Library of Banned Books (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Everything You Need to Know about Nightmares! And How to Defeat Them (With: Karl Kwasny,Jason Segel) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 8 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 9 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10 (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Kirsten Miller is an American author best known for writing the Kiki Strike series of books and the Eternal Ones series. She is also the co-author of the Nightmares! series and the Last Reality series with Jason Segel. She mostly has written in the YA and middle grade space, but also writes books for adults.

The author lives and works in New York City, but is originally from a small town. Prior to becoming an author, Miller worked in the advertising field for two decades. Over the years she saw that many women in their mid-40s, many of them her friends, were being let go from their jobs in the advertising industry which lead to a lot of age-discrimination lawsuits. That and the way that certain men in business act was the inspiration for The Change. The book combines dark humor and mystery in a story about three middle aged woman who develop superpowers.

Kirsten didn’t intend to become a writer and only did it for fun as she didn’t see it becoming something that she could make money from. However, once she got started she couldn’t stop. At one point in her career she completed twelve novels in thirteen years, an impressive feat.

She attended Barnard College. Her mother was a strong person in her life. She was the breadwinner in her family and Miller has described her as a “total badass”. The author didn’t think of herself as a feminist because she didn’t think it was necessary based on her life experience. However, after working and discovering that men her age at the same career level were making more money than her she realized that things weren’t equal.

Miller’s first novel is called In the Shadow City. The idea came to her while watching the news before work one day when she saw a giant sinkhole had opened in New York City. Below the ground there was a room that had been perfectly persevered since the 1900s. This flipped a switch in her head and lead to the creation of her first novel and, ultimately, the Kiki Strike series.

The Change is a standalone novel from Miller. The story takes place in the Long Island community of Mattauk where three different women are empowered at midlife. Nessa James just lost her husband and now her twin daughters have left for college. She is left alone in the house in her forties. Soon after, Nessa begins hearing voices in her head that she realizes are actually the voices of the dead. Her grandmother had the same gift and now she inherits the gift and the responsibilities that come with it.

Another woman, an advertising director named Harriett Osbourne, recently lost her career and her marriage which has turned her into a home body. She hasn’t left her house in months and outsiders think that her and her home have fallen on hard times. That is not the case on the inside though as Harriett herself has undergone a stunning metamorphosis.

Finally, there is a former executive named Jo Levison who is just entering menopause. She has been at war with her body for her whole life, but now the rage and hot flashes that come with her menopause have turned into a power her for her as she is able to channel them into something greater.

The three women end up working together and Nessa’s gift leads them to the dead body of a teenage girl at a remote beach. The police believe that the victim was just a drug addict and a sex worker, but the women know better. The decide to investigate the murder which leads them to even more bodies. The trail leads them to the town’s elite where having large amounts of wealth means you don’t have to follow the rules.

Inside the Shadow City is the first book in the Kiki Strike series and the first book written by Miller. The book is narrated by Ananka Fishbein, a normal 13-year old, who meets a new girl in her class named Kiki Strike. She knows there is something strange about this girl because she answers “dangerous” to a question about what she wants to be when she grows up. Her suspicions are proved correct when Kiki recruits six girls from different schools to help her explore the world underground the sinkhole that opened up in New York City. Ananka’s life will change forever by venturing into this new world.

The series continues with The Empress’s Tomb. The book picks up after the events of the last book as Ananka is being threatened and Kiki continues to find herself in danger. The girls keep finding their way to adventure, whether they are rescuing children or resuscitating an Empress. These girls have a knack for finding trouble and they continue to do so in the next adventure.

The Eternal Ones is the first book in a series of the same name. Haven Moore has always made her home in Snope City, Tennessee and she has always had visions of a past life. In this past life there is a girl named Constance and a boy named Ethan who she loved, but things ended in tragedy. One day she is watching TV when she sees a playboy named Iain Morrow which brings her to her knees. She drops everything and heads to New York to meet him. The two end up in an epic love affair which feels like fate, but also feels quite dangerous. She wonders if Iain is Ethan or if he could be the one who murdered her in a past life. Haven ends up hooking up with the powerful and mysterious Ouroboros Society to help her unlock the mysteries of reincarnation. She’ll need to learn fast before all is lost, but she wonders about this Ouroboros Society and who she can truly trust.

Miller also hooked up with actor Jason Segel to write the Nightmares! series. The first book in the series is called Nightmares!. It was followed up with The Sleepwalker Tonic and The Lost Lullaby.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kirsten Miller

Leave a Reply