Book Notification

Knitting in the City Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Knitting in the City Books

Neanderthal Seeks Human (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends Without Benefits (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Neanderthal Marries Human (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Hacked (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beauty and the Mustache (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scenes from the City (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ninja at First Sight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happily Ever Ninja (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dating-ish (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scenes from the Hallway (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marriage of Inconvenience (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Neanderthal SeeksYarns (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Knitting in the City series is a bestselling series of romance, humor, chick lit, and contemporary romance books written by a NY times and USA Today bestselling novelist from America named Penny Reid. This series consists of a total of 7 novels and 3 novellas, which were released between the years 2013 and 2017. Its 7 book is expected to be released very soon in 2018. According to the literacy critics, this series more of kissing than knitting, but it still manages to entertain the elements with its humor elements. In the books, author Reid has shown the exploits and misadventures of 7 friends, who live in Chicago and are members of a small knitting group. The books of this series can be read in any order as none of them are dependent on the rest of the others for the continuation of the stories. Each book is based revolves around the life of one of the members of the knitting group. So, the novels can also be seen and read as standalone novels. Author Reid says that only the readers who have read and enjoyed her previous books are going to enjoy the other books as well. And as far as the new readers are concerned, they may or may not like her stories. Therefore, it will be better for them to read the series from the beginning. This way, they will not enjoy her stories, but also like the characters and the settings. Author Penny Reid has written another popular series in her career that goes by the name, Winston Brothers series, which is actually the spin-off of this particular series.

The debut book of the Knitting in the City book series written by author Penny Reid is entitled ‘Neanderthal Seeks Human’. It was released by the Caped Publishing house in the year 2013. Author Penny has done the setting of this book’s story in Chicago, Illinois, United States, and has mentioned the chief characters in the form of Quinn Sullivan and Janie Morris. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that three things are needed to be known about Janie Morris by anyone close to her. One is that she unnerved by Quinn Sullivan very often, in fact, nobody unnerves her more than him. The second important thing about Janie is that she is unable to engage in any conversation without giving out too much of trivial information. And last but not the least, Janie Morris does not know the art of knitting. Janie Morris goes on to lose her apartment, her job, and her boyfriend all on the same day. After facing such huge losses in life, she wonders what other bomb has fate kept in store for her. And to make matters worse, all these events in Janie’s like are witnessed by Quinn Sullivan, who continues to turn up in front of her every now and then like a shoe pair that she knows she can just lust, but cannot afford. Janie Morris expects the last and final from Quinn Sullivan, or Sir McHotpants, as he is commonly referred to, to make an offer to her that she cannot refuse. Janie does not know when Quinn Sullivan became the focus of her harmless and slightly stalkerish tendencies. This novel turned out to be a smart, sexy, funny, and a wonderful romance novel. Author Penny has written it in a very unique style that sets it out from the other romance novels available in the market. And her addition of the humor element makes this book and even more worthy read. Janie Morris’ depiction of a BFF heroine was well appreciated by the audience. Her portrayal as an intelligent, quirky, hilarious, joyful lady was liked by numerous critics, who praised Penny Reid for creating such an interesting character. All in all, the book is a must read for all the lovers of romance books, who also have interests in some humorous elements.

The next mind blowing installment of this series written by Reid is called ‘Friends Without Benefits’. This book too was published by Caped Publishing in 2013. Author Penny has depicted the main characters in this particular novel as Nico Manganiello and Elizabeth Finney. This plot is also set in Chicago, Illinois. At the beginning of the story of this novel, it is depicted that Elizabeth Finney is well known for 3 things in life, when she becomes unnerved, she begins to show symptoms of the severe sarcastic syndrome, Nico Manganiello unnerves her like no one else, and third thing famous about her is that she knows knitting very well. Elizabeth seems to have the right opinions about almost everything that could think of. She says that the boy bands’ merit are very much undervalued by the society. Also, Elizabeth liked to think that human Ken dolls provide much better benefits without friendship. And when she sees Nico Manganiello, she realizes that the sun has provided her with once in a lifetime opportunity to have true love in life. However, Nico Manganiello turns out to be an irritant, chauvinistic and dominating person. He knows he the charismatic looks and likes to used to it to dominate the girls, who fall in love with him. This different attitude of Nico Manganiello causes the disarmament of Elizabeth Finney’s plans of getting the benefits without indulging in any form of friendship. As Nico is Elizabeth’s ex-nemesis, Elizabeth struggles to keep control her feelings for him and keeps getting electrocuted by the electrical fence that she mends around her heart everytime Nico rejects her love for him. Nico & Elizabeth knew each other since childhood and grew up together. Elizabeth used to always get bullied by Nico Manganiello when the two were younger. Elizabeth developed emotions for Nico for the first time when they lost a mutual friend from their high school. But, Elizabeth didn’t expect such feelings to develop for Nico. So, she bailed out and never contacted him again. They encounter each other again after a gap of 10 years. Nico walks into a hospital along with his mother, where Elizabeth Finney works. Nico’s niece is about to undergo a clinical trial of which Elizabeth is also a part of. The trial brings the two close one more time and the attraction resurfaces that they formerly had. But, Elizabeth tends to suppress it again as she does not want to get rejected once again. However, this time their childhood love prevails and Nico Manganiello gets the woman that he was meant to have as his lover.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Knitting in the City

Leave a Reply