Kris Longknife Books In Order

Publication Order of Kris Longknife Books

Mutineer (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deserter (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Defiant (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Resolute (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Audacious (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Intrepid (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Undaunted (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Redoubtable (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Training Daze (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Daring (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Welcome Home / Go Away (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Furious (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodhound (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Defender (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tenacious (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kris Longknife's Assassin (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Unrelenting (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bold (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ruth Longknife's First Christmas (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kris Longknife's Replacement (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kris Longknife's Bad Day (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Emissary (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kris Longknife's Relief (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kris Longknife's Maid Goes on Strike (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Admiral (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Kris Longknife Collections

Kris Longknife's Maid Goes on Strike & Other Short Stories (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Kris Longknife is in the navy of Wardhaven. The series is set in a future with an Earth that is an old corrupt planet with many colony worlds. She comes from the Longknifes, a very powerful family that fights to stop all the colonies from fighting. Kris wants for nothing. Kris’s parents are wealthy; her mother is a beautiful, typical politician’s wife, and her husband is the prime minister of Wardhaven, their home planet. She was raised with one purpose: to be a great pick to marry. She has other plans, though, the blood that courses through her veins is like that of all the other Longknife’s before her; it’s that of someone who serves in the military. Which she enlists into the navy to do just that, against her family’s wishes.

She has some friends and some accompaniment in her travels. There is Tom, (Abigail) her lady’s maid, and Jack (her bodyguard). Abigail serves as sort of Q type character to Kris and provides her, in one scene, with falsies that are bombs; she also gives Kris other things that aid her with her missions.

“Mutineer” is the first book in the saga about Kris Longknife by Mike Shepherd. After joining the military, Kris Longknife has given up all her status to join in the fight and defend her home planet. An attack brings the war closer to Earth and Kris risks dying. She has two options, either mutiny or risk dying. This is a big choice for her to make.

Fans of the novel liked the novel enough to continue the series; good pacing and a plot that stayed together while reading it. There are great characters that readers will enjoy spending time with, are likable people, and will feel empathy for. Fans loved the way that the book is written and makes them turn the pages, and does not allow them to put the book down for any amount of time. Some readers liked the blend of civilian and military politics that can be found in the book. This is a light and fluffy beach read that will keep readers coming back for more. This book is full of great action scenes as well.

Some readers did not like this book and found the book to be much like a Big Mac (pleasant but non exceptional offering), and there was no interest in continuing reading about Kris and her adventures. It was interesting to read about her, but not enough to continue doing so. Some felt that Kris is a character that has popped up several times in different series; the rich daughter from a powerful family who decides to enlist in the military, and has to put up with people who are jealous of her background and feel the need to give her a hard time for it. She performs well, doing whatever tasks she has to well.

“Deserter” is the second book in the saga about Kris Longknife by Mike Shepherd. A friend of Kris Longknife’s needs help. And even though this friend (Tom) is on the other side of the galaxy, Kris will help this friend of hers. She boards the next ship to Turantic (the last known whereabouts of her friend). Going with her, are her bodyguard and her lady’s maid (who is actually pretty dangerous). There is more to it than just a simple rescue. Turantic is a hellhole, it is also being quarantined due to a plague that has broken out on Turantic.

Fans of the series liked that the writing quality of this book was up from the first book in the series, and that all the characters (either Kris or the secondary) are better established and have a better chance to shine. Readers liked too was the part where Kris is both an officer and a lady (she acts like woman with the ability to command and not just a man with a female veneer). The plot and the pacing, once again, was stellar; readers found themselves reading well beyond the wee hours of the morning to finish the novel. Some readers liked the way Shepherd makes Kris’s problems and flaws human. Some readers enjoyed the portrayal of the space combat found in the novel.

Some readers found Kris to be too trite to keep reading the novel. Some readers never really got the sense that Kris was in any actual danger throughout some of her action scenes. She just performs well, and kicks butt with no harm coming to her. The villain in the book, some thought, was very cartoony and laughable. Some of the events in the book made it feel like, for them to be plausible, that the villain had to either be arrogant or just bad at what he was trying to do.

“Defiant” is the third book in Mike Shepherd’s saga about Kris Longknife. Someone has put together to get rid of Kris’s father as prime minister of Wardhaven; as part of the plan, Kris is removed off of her command. The fleet is gone on a propaganda mission; which leaves Wardhaven vulnerable to attack from enemy warships. An alien invasion forces Kris to disobey all orders (both government and military) and leads the charge (after declaring herself commander-in-chief) against the invaders to stop the threat they pose. She takes command of every vessel that can go into space and everyone able bodied. A desperate measure no doubt, but her planet has found itself in desperate times; this mission may just be her last.

Fans loved the way the author was able to fix all that was wrong with previous installments. The book has more actual military science fiction and the book as a result is less action adventure stuff. Some readers feel that the book takes to about page two hundred to really get good; as the preceding pages are not as strong.

Some readers felt that the book was a let down after the first two really good installments in the series. The book is quality, but still leaves some to be desired.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Kris Longknife