Book Notification

Kris Nelscott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Smokey Dalton Books

A Dangerous Road (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Smoke-Filled Rooms (As:Kristine Kathryn Rusch) (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thin Walls (As:Kristine Kathryn Rusch) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stone Cribs (As:Kristine Kathryn Rusch) (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
War at Home (As:Kristine Kathryn Rusch) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days of Rage (As:Kristine Kathryn Rusch) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Affair (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guarding Lacey (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Street Justice (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sob Sisters (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Clinic (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Monster in Our Midst (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blaming the Arsonist (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Combat Medic (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still Life 1931 (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hidden in Crime(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The name Kris Nelscott is just, but one of the many pseudonyms names of Kristine Kathryn Rusch, who is a great American writer. She uses different pen names in multiple genres like fantasy, romance, mainstream, science fiction and mystery. Kris Nelscott was born on 4th June 1960, and has won several awards in her writing career. She is married to a fellow writer known as Dean Wesley Smith. They have been able to write several books together as couples.

Under her pen name Kris Nelscott, she has only written one series with about seven novels. In 2001, with her story known as “Millennium Babies”, she was voted as the winner of the Hugo Award for the best Novelette. Two years later, that is in 2003, she was also the winner of the Endeavor Award for the “Disappeared 2002”. These are some of the many awards, she has been able to win in her writing career. She also edited from about 1991 to 1997, for The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Besides her pseudonyms name Kris Nelscott, she also writes under other pen names like Kris Rusch, Sandy Schofield, Kathryn Wesley and Kristine Grayson.

Under her Kris Nelscott pen name, she wrote the novel known as Smokey Dalton. This is a smart series with about seven novels that are all available online. The pioneer book in this series is known as “Dangerous Road” that was published in 2000. A year later, he published his second book of the series that she entitled as “Smoke Filled Rooms, in 2001. The last book in the series is known as “Street Justice”, that was published in 2015.

A Dangerous Road

This is the genesis book of the Smokey Dalton series by Kris Nelscott. The initial publication of the book was done in 2000 and it has about 336 pages. The protagonist character of the book is known as P.I Smokey Dalton, who is an American. The setting of the book is in Memphis and all these occurs during the week Martin Luther king is assassinated.

At the beginning of the book, we find out that Smokey Dalton is hired by Laura Hathaway. Laura is a young woman who is from the up north. Laura wants Dalton to investigate why her mother wrote something about the generosity of Smokey in her will. Since Smokey never knew of them before, he is kind of reluctant to carry the investigation, but since this is something that will earn him some money, he is forced to go on with the investigation. From his investigating, he is very shocked as he uncovers a secret that is about 30 years old. This is a very powerful secret that will definitely shatter both lives. Due to this, he is not certain to reveal the secret or not.

After the investigation, Smokey may expect things to be kind of good on his side, but this is on the contrary, as most of his childhood friends start visiting him in the city. One of the most recognized friends is Martin Luther King, Jr, who was one of his greatest friends from childhood. The visit turns to the unexpected as this is something that not only cause trouble to Smokey, but to the entire town. The problem arises when Martin Luther King is assassinated in the City and the situation is this small city change from bad to worse

The question that now remains to be answered is how did Dalton Smokey solve the issue? Was Dalton able to find the murderer is of his childhood friend? This was a very complex situation for Dalton Smokey and to find more about the happening in the novel, then get a copy of the book and you will definitely love it.

The author of the book has shown high quality form of writing and has a nice twist plot. It is, therefore, a smart mystery novel with a very thoughtful history. The novel is available online where you can get a copy of the book and read more about it. Alternatively, you can find the novel from the local libraries or even a bookshop. Get the copy today for more reading on the happening in this smart mystery book by Kris Nelscott.

Smoke Filled Rooms

This is the second book of the Smokey Dalton series by Kris Nelscott. The book currently has nine editions and was first published on 16th August 2001. It has about 336 pages. This is a continuation of the first book of the series and, therefore, its setting is based in Memphis. The happenings are during the hot summer of 1968.

The protagonist character in the novel is P.I Smokey Dalton. It is after the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr and after the investigation, Dalton found out that a ten-year old boy, known as Jimmy was the only one who witnessed the killing of Martin Luther King, Jr. Due to this, he decides to escape from Memphis to start a new life in Chicago. He has gone together with Jimmy. In Chicago, things may not be going as he expected as his new life in the city is shattered by different events. There is a Democratic National Convention, where paranoia and violence have taken over the political protest.

Since he ran away with Jimmy, Dalton has the duty of protecting the young boy and this is the reason he does everything possible to protect him from the police. Jimmy has a fear that he is being followed up by the rogue FBI and Dalton has to do everything possible to make him feel secure. In their neighborhood, a boy is reported to have gone missing. On the other hand, a body has just been found tortured on his doorstep. These are some incidences that cause more, fear not only to Jimmy, but also Dalton. Despite these, Dalton is very confident and believes that they will both survive the terrifying situation.

These are some of the mysteries that happen to Smokey and Jimmy. There life is in great danger, but with Dalton confident with all that is happening, he highly believes that they will go through it. To continue reading more about the mystery story by Kris Nelscott, you can find a copy of the body either online or from a local library.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kris Nelscott

Leave a Reply