Book Notification

Kristen Britain Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Green Rider Books

Green Rider (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Rider's Call (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The High King's Tomb (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blackveil (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mirror Sight (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Firebrand (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dream Gatherer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winterlight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirit of the Wood (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

DAW 30th Anniversary Fantasy(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
DAW 30th Anniversary Science Fiction and Fantasy Anthologies(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unbound(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kristen Britain is a popular author of the science fiction and fantasy genres. She lives in the United States and is well known for writing down the Green Rider novel series. As a child, Kristen grew up in the Finger Lakes area in New York State, United States. It is the same place where she wrote the first novel of her life at the age of 9, which was a fantasy tale set under the sea and featuring herself as the main character as well as her friends. At the age of 13, Kristen published her first book, which was titled Horses and Horsepeople and was a cartoon collection. After completing her school studies, Kristen enrolled herself at the Ithaca College and graduated with a degree in film production along with a minor in creative writing, in the year 1987. During a visit to the Women’s Rights National Historical Park, Kristen indulged into a conversation with a ranger. The conversation inspired her so much that she began working for the National Park Service in the year 1988. Eventually, Kristen went on to receive her first job as a seasonal ranger at the Clara Barton National Historic Site situated in Maryland.

During the time of the publication of the first novel of the Green Rider series, Kristen was working as a full time park ranger at the Acadia National Park. Her experience as a ranger and the beautiful places at the historical sites helped her to develop the plots of her novels. In the same way, The Acadia National Park inspired her to draw the landscape of Sacoridia. She continued to work as a park ranger and in the meantime kept writing the plots of her novels. This way she managed to have two professions at the same time. As a ranger, Kristen got the chance of working in a variety of historical and natural settings starting from 300 feet below the land surface up to 13,000 feet above the sea level. She was involved in the studies of the textile mills of the industrial revolution of America as well as the residential places of the great American freedom fighters who helped to change the course of the history of America. As of today, Kristen lives in her adobe house situated in the desert regions of New Mexico along with her lizards and hummingbirds, whom she loves to feed and nurture. She spends most of her time in her house, working as a full time writer. In her free time, Kristen likes to pursue her interests in cartoon illustrations of dogs and cats, playing guitar and reading. She is also an adventurous person and likes to explore the exciting places around her home. People can find her often paddling in still water or moving through the woods for mountain summits or even just alone on the rocks on the shore and listening to music, birdwatching and daydreaming.

Author Kristen Britain has written a total of 6 novels in the Green Rider novel series and a few short series separately as well. The novels of the Green Rider series were published between the years 1998 and 2015. The first novel of the series was published by the DAW Books publishing house in the year 1998 and was titled ‘Green Rider’. The plot of the novel revolves around the lives of the main characters Shawdell, Captain Laren Mapstone, King Zachary, and Karigan G’ladheon. In the opening plot of the novel, Karigan G’ladheon is introduced as going through the long journey of returning home from school and pondering about the fight that she had in school. She thinks that she is definitely going to get expelled from school for indulging into a fight. Hence, she keeps pondering about her future while still on her way to home from school through the dense forest called Green CLoak. Soon, she gets interrupted in her thoughts by a galloping horse that emerges from the woods with the rider being injured by a couple of black-shafted arrows.

As the rider is about to die of the injuries, he informs Karigan of being a legendary messenger of the king, called a Green Rider and that he has to deliver a very important message to deliver to King Zachary about life and death. He asks Karigan to deliver the message to the king and also warns her not read the message herself. Karigan reluctantly agrees after which he asks her to swear on his sword for completing the mission as an act of love for the country. He also bestows his golden-winged horse brooch as the symbol of his office and just before his last breath, he whispers in her ear to be beware of the shadow man. This promise changers the life of Karigan forever as she becomes a legendary Green Rider herself and tries to complete her mission by following the path where her horse takes her and even pursued by dangerous and unknown assassins. Karigan gets caught up in a deadly world full of danger and fatal magic. She is compelled by the dark forces that she is unable to understand and is also followed by the dark beings who hound her in order to read the message. The dark forces also try to prevent her from reaching her destination.

The second novel of the series was published by the DAW publishing house in the year 2003. The novel was titled ‘First Rider’s Call’ and continued to show the life of the main character named Karigan G’ladheon as a Green Rider. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel. Karigan becomes one of the elite magical messengers of the king of Sacoridia. In her service as a messenger, she had been caught up in the deadly world of danger on many occasions and had also been successful in defeating the Eletian and stopped him from cracking the D’Yer Wall, which had protected the kingdom of Sacoridia for more than a thousand years from the evil influence of the Blackveil Forest as well as the evil spirit of Mornhavon the Black. However, Karigan was still tainted by the wild magic of the Mornhavon. After some time, she returns to her home in Corsa, exhausted in spirit and body, but still determined to carry out the assigned job as a Green Rider. When she returns to the court after experiencing ghostly echoes in her mind, she finds that the Green Riders have become diminished and weakened. As the Rider magic began to become unreliable, she was experiencing ghostly visions of the First Rider called Lil Ambriodhe, who was also the founder of the corporation of the Green Riders. But, no one was able to understand why was she appearing to Karigan only and whether Karigan will seek her help as she had been dead for more than a thousand years.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kristen Britain

Leave a Reply