Book Notification

Kristen Ciccarelli Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Crimson Moth Books

The Crimson Moth / Heartless Hunter (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebel Witch (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Iskari Books

The Last Namsara (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Caged Queen (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sky Weaver (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Kristen Ciccarelli is an international bestselling Canadian writer of young adult, romance, and fantasy stories. She is particularly well known for writing the Iskari series. The first book of this series, The Last Namsara, had made it to the YA and children chart in the UK. It was also chosen as one of the Best Books for Teens by Indigo. Ciccarelli’s books have been translated into more than 12 languages. Before deciding to choose writing as a professional career, Ciccarelli used to work as an indie bookseller, ceramic artist, and artisanal baker. It was due to the influence of the works of some prominent authors that she thought of trying her hand at writing. And when Ciccarelli tasted success early in her career, she realized that her decision of becoming a writer was the right one. Thereafter, she moved on to write several more books, which also became widely successful like her first one. The authors who have influenced Ciccarelli the most include Juliet Miller, Martine Leavitt, Patricia McKillip, Megan Whalen Turner, Garth Nix, Robin McKinley, Rosaria Munda, Franny Billingsley, Naomi Novik, Kristin Cashore, etc.

As of today, Ciccarelli lives in her blustery seaside house with her blacksmith husband and a rescue dog. Other than reading and writing, she enjoys coffee, warm weather, playing board games, hiking, and watching her favorite TV shows a lot. Author Ciccarelli was born and brought up on the grape farm of her grandfather. During her childhood, she used to run around through the vineyards and roam around in the deep, dark woods located behind the house. Ciccarelli says that she spent most of her childhood days writing stories. She continued doing it up to the age of 18 and liked doing it as it made her happy. However, the thought of converting this hobby into a means of earning livelihood had never crossed her mind. Ciccarelli was deeply inspired by her nurse mother and her farmer grandmother and hoped that she would also become like them.

Even though she loved to write stories, she considered it to be childish. Rather, she took science and math more seriously. So, when the time came to join the university, she put her writing interest aside and began focusing on her academics. One day, when Ciccarelli was thinking about her life choices and wondering what she did wrong to be so unhappy with life, she thought of going back to writing again in an attempt to find the lost happiness. Subsequently, Ciccarelli abandoned all her life plans and decided to settle down as a full-time writer. Author Ciccarelli loves how writing is new every time. She loves to get opportunities to learn new things. The main reason why changed jobs frequently was that she used to get bored very quickly. But, it was not the case with writing. The new experience brought in with every new book amuse her a lot and make the overall process quite exciting for her.

Author Ciccarelli is drawn to young adult stories because of their impossible and weird elements. She thinks fantasy is much better than other genres in terms of bringing transformation. According to her, all good stories consist of transformation, where a particular character begins his journey one way and goes on to become something else. The biggest struggle that Ciccarelli has faced in the profession of writing is dealing with self-esteem. Currently, Ciccarelli is busy writing another installment of her bestselling series. She is expected to publish it in the coming months. Also, Ciccarelli is thinking of creating a new series and experiment with different genres. Until then, she hopes that readers will continue to read her books and help them in becoming more successful. She expresses her gratitude to all those critics who have given genuine reviews about her work and wishes to keep receiving such great reviews from them for all her future books.

The Iskari series written by author Kristen Ciccarelli is comprised of a total of 3 books released between 2017 and 2019. This fantasy series explores an intricately woven world of inner darkness, dragons, and deception. Ciccarelli has depicted the primary characters in the form of Asha, Iskari, Essie, Roa, Dax, Safire, Eris, and a few others. The debut book of this fantasy series is entitled ‘The Last Namsara’. It was released in 2017 by the HarperTeen publication. Initially, it is depicted that Namsara is the child of spirit and sky, who carries laughter and love with her wherever she goes. But, there is also the presence of darkness to counter the light of Namsara. And this darkness is in the form of Iskari, the child of moonlight and blood. Iskari is the death-bringer and destroyer.

Asha is introduced as the daughter of Firgaard’s king. She grows up hearing whispers and getting attracted to the past figures. Later, Asha becomes the most feared and fiercest dragon slayer and takes on the role of an Iskari. Her lonely destiny makes her feel that she is less of a girl and more of a weapon. Asha spends her time conquering dragons and bringing their heads to the king. She gets betrothed to a cruel commandant, who keeps her at his will. As things continue to get difficult for her, Asha takes the help of a friend and escapes. She gets rid of the Iskari bondage and opens her heart to light, love, and a secret that was kept from her.

The second volume of this book series is called ‘The Caged Queen’. It was also published by HarperTeen in 2018. Initially, Essie and Roa are depicted as sisters who are born with a strong bond. They cherished the magic that kept them forged together. One day, a tragic accident takes place that kills Essie, making her soul trapped in the world. Dax, who is the heir to the throne of Firgaard, had caused the accident. After losing her sister, Roa promised herself that she will always hate Dax. But, he returns 8 years later and asks for Roa’s help in dethroning his cruel father. Roa makes a deal with Dax that in return for providing him men to fight against his father, she will be made queen. Only by becoming a queen can she protect her people from the oppressive rule of Firgaard. Later, Roa gets a chance to rescue her sister by killing the cruel king and set right all the wrongs.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kristen Ciccarelli

Leave a Reply