Book Notification

Kristine Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jani Kilian Chronicles Books

Code of Conduct (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rules of Conflict (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Law of Survival (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Contact Imminent (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Endgame (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Incident on a Small Colony (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of War (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

8 Rms., Full Bsmt. (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Continuing Education (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Misspelled(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Modern Fae's Guide to Surviving Humanity(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kristine Smith is a bestselling science fiction author that is best known as the author of the “Jani Killian” series among many other fantasy and science fiction novels and short stories.
The award winning author got nominations for the Locus Award, the IAFA WIlliam Crawford Award, and the Philip K. Dick Memorial Award. She was also the winner of the Best New Writer Award at the John W Campbell Awards.

Smith wrote “Code of Conduct,” the debut novel of the “Jani Kilian Chronicles” series in 1999. She has since written more than six titles and several novellas that have all gone on to become bestsellers.

She was born in the Northeast, spent her childhood and young adulthood in the South, and currently makes her home in Illinois in the Midwest. Before she became a full time author, she spent more than a quarter of a century working in research and development in the pharmaceutical industry.

Smith was born in Buffalo, New York and then went on to live in Florida as a child, where she went to high school and college. She attended the University of South Florida, where she graduated with a bachelor of science degree in Chemistry.

Save for a brief stint when she worked for a retail clothing distribution company, she spent all of her working career in research and development in the manufacturing field in some form or another.

When she is not writing or working, she can be found cooking, or gardening. She wishes she could play the guitar and has noodled with a Peavey Falcon, even if she cannot find the time to practice. She has also majored in art and even took several drawing classes and enjoyed the classes, even if she was not the best of her class.

“Code of Conduct” by Kristine Smith introduces Captain Jani Kilian, a man who should have died in an execution style firing squad. Instead, she had managed to escape only to later die in a transport crash leaving the Commonwealth relieved.

While Commonwealth Service records indicate that he is dead, she had been treated in secret by doctors using the most advanced Medical technologies of her time. As the Idomeni Civil War was coming to a close, she had escaped her Shera homeworld and spent nearly two decades on the run.
But given her profile , she is certain to leave a trail regardless of how hard she may try not to. It is not long before she learns that the Service was still hunting for her despite the official records declaring her dead.

When Evan van Reuter, the Interior Minister who used to be her ex lover, finds her and asks that she help in finding the man who killed his wife she cannot deny him. Her search to find the killer takes her to Chicago, the Commonwealth capital, which is as dangerous as a warzone and a hotbed of political intrigue.
With the danger ever mounting, Jani is struggling to cope as her long repressed memories come flooding back and her rebuilt body starts coming apart.

Kristine Smith’s “Rules of Conflict” still follows the life of Captain Jani Kilian. Two decades past, she was an archivist working with the diplomatic corps that had been sent to establish relations with the Idomeni who are an alien race.

In the course of their mission, she had to kill her superior officer when he became clearly biased and took a side in the Idomeni Civil War. As she was trying to escape, she is mortally wounded by an explosion but Valentin Parini and John Shroud, her excellent doctors save her by rebuilding her with Idomeni DNA.
But her body is also breaking down as it has been twenty years. When she tries to obtain medical care she is apprehended and taken to the headquarters to await her fate. She had expected to be piloried and court martialed but learns that major political figures are determined to ensure that her past remains a secret.

Kilian is not going to let anyone use her and she decides to investigate the political players who happen to be her protectors. Working with intelligence officer Lieutenant Lucien Pascal and Sam Duong, an archivist, she starts unraveling the secrets and what happened during the Civil War.

Even as she is struggling to make sense of the cover up and the political interests, she is allowed to assume several of her old duties and is soon the lead negotiator in talks with the alien Idomeni.

“Law of Survival” by Kristine Smith sees Captain Jani Kilian in the muddy waters of politics, which is something she has never liked. Meanwhile, relations between the alien Idomeni and humans are showing some cracks.

Jani has also received a very unsettling report and now has to find the person or persons who are working hard to make an already volatile situation worse. In the meantime, her body has been fighting her at every turn and this has been made worse by the fact that she is a hybrid.

The one skill she has aside from warfare is finagling documents. Once she finds someone she can partner with, the hunt for her target is on as Kristine writes a novel with fascinating characters, taut pacing and new turns and twists.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kristine Smith

Leave a Reply