Book Notification

Krystal Sutherland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Our Chemical Hearts / Chemical Hearts (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Hollow (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Invocations (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Krystal Sutherland is a renowned Australian author of young adult novels. She is particularly famous for writing her debut book, Our Chemical Hearts. Sutherland started her career in the publishing world in 2016. She has managed to publish at the rate of one book per year and hopes to continue doing so in the coming years. The third book of Sutherland’s career, House of Hollow, turned out to be the most successful one. It went on to be listed on the bestseller list of the New York Times.

Sutherland hopes to better it with her upcoming books and achieve much more success. Author Sutherland was born in 1990 in Townsville, Australia. She was brought up in her hometown until she became a teenager. After that, Sutherland visited and lived in several big cities of the world, including Sydney, Hong Kong, Amsterdam, and London. During her stay in Sydney, Sutherland was involved in editing the student magazine at her university. Sutherland was employed as a foreign correspondent when she was in Amsterdam. Eventually, she went on to finish her graduation and obtain her degree in Hong Kong.

As of today, Sutherland lives and works in London. When Sutherland was attending high school, she aspired to become an actress. However, her likes and tastes kept changing while she grew up, eventually enabling her to take up writing as a career. Following the worldwide success of her first novel, Sutherland’s name came into the limelight once again when the book was selected for adapting into a feature movie. In 2020, the film was released under the banner of Amazon Studios and was given the title of Chemical Hearts. The main cast of this film included actors Austin Abrams and Lili Reinhart, who formed the lead pair.

Sutherland’s second book was also optioned for a movie adaptation by the production company called Yellow Bird US. After releasing her first book in more than 20 countries, Sutherland quickly came to the notice of many critics and publishers. Her book was declared as one of the best first novels of 2016 by the ABA, thereby giving Sutherland recognition on a wide scale. Author Sutherland has also served as the executive producer on her debut book’s movie adaptation, Chemical Hearts.

All her novels have achieved critical acclaim and have received worldwide success. They have helped Sutherland to establish herself as a top-rated author. She wishes to keep writing a lot more interesting novels in the times to come. Sutherland intends to explore the young adult genre even more and also try her hand at different genres. In a very short period of time, Sutherland has managed to develop a big fan-following for herself. She wants to develop it into a much-bigger circle by publishing exciting stories one after the other.

Sutherland’s fans and followers have showered her with their kind support with each of her books. She is hopeful of getting the same amount of love and support from her fans all over the world for her later projects as well. In 2018, Sutherland was listed on the annual Forbes list of 30 Under 30. This helped to increase her popularity to a much more extent. Author Sutherland is represented by the InkWell literary agency. One of the well-known literary agents of the company, Catherine Drayton, helped Sutherland in finding suitable publishers for her books and getting them published. Sutherland intends to keep hiring Catherine for the release of her upcoming novels as well, for now, as she finds it quite comfortable to work with her.

In the debut book of her writing career, Sutherland has described a teen drama story revolving around the life of the central characters, Henry Page and Grace Town. Henry Page is a teenage student, while Grace Town is shown as a new arrival in Henry’s class. Though Henry thinks he is a hopeless romantic, he has never had the chance to fall in love. Aspiring to become his high school newspaper editor, he lives happily with all his focus on his studies as he wishes to join a reputed university. With the arrival of Grace Town, Henry begins to lose focus as he slowly starts falling in love with her.

Henry does not see Grace as the girl he wants to spend his life with, but when they are chosen to become a team and work on the school’s newspaper together, he gets the opportunity to learn more about Grace and eventually accepts her as the love of his life. In the film adaptation, Austin Abrams is seen portraying the role of Henry Page, while Lili Reinhart plays the role of Grace Town. Richard Tanne is the writer and director of the film’s screenplay.

An exciting novel written by author Krystal Sutherland is entitled ‘Our Chemical Hearts’. It was published by G.P. Putnam in 2016. This novel starts by showing that Henry Page has never experienced love in his life. He thinks he is a romantic person, but he has never been anywhere close to it. The only thing that he focuses on is his grades. Henry hopes to get into a reputed college and make something big out of his life. Then one day, Grace Town arrives at school, making Henry sense that everything is about to transform. Though Henry doesn’t see Grace as the girl he dreams of, he seems to be attracted to her. When their teacher asks them to work on a project together, Henry hopes something fruitful to happen. Soon after, he learns all the weird things about Grace but it does not make him get distant from her. Rather, Henry finds himself falling for her more than ever.

Another interesting book penned by the author is known as ‘House of Hollow’. It was also released by G.P. Putnam in April 2021. The central characters featured in this book include Iris Hollow and Grey Hollow. Initially, Iris Hollow is introduced as a 17-year-old strange girl. An incident happened in her life when she was small, along with her 2 elder sisters, that they don’t seem to remember but it left a scar near their throats. All her life, Iris has been trying to avoid the existence of that scar.

Later, her sister, Grey, disappears mysteriously and it makes Iris realize how weird life can be. She begins to get shadowed by horned men and weird memories begin to come to her mind. As Iris makes desperate attempts to locate her missing sister, she realizes that she can only find her if she succeeds in deciphering the mystery about the incident that had happened to the girls in their childhood. The deeper Iris digs in search of the truth, the more she senses that the outcome is going to be dangerous and dark.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Krystal Sutherland

Leave a Reply