Book Notification

L Penelope Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Earthsinger Chronicles Books

Song of Blood & Stone (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers of Shadow & Flame (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cry of Metal & Bone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Requiem of Silence (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Earthsinger Chronicles Novellas

Breath of Dust & Dawn (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hush of Storm & Sorrow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Angelborn Cycle Books

Publication Order of The Bliss Wars Books

Publication Order of The Cupid Guild Books

The Cupid Mixup (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cupid Getaway (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cupid Guild (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cupid Complication (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cupid Fiasco (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Where the Veil Is Thin(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under a Winter Sky(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Time Travelers Walk Into...(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Forbidden Desire(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

L Penelope is an award-winning writer of paranormal, romance, and fantasy novels. She is particularly famous for writing the Eternal Flames series and the Earthsinger Chronicles series. The former is also known as the Angehor series. Additionally, Penelope has written a standalone book called Cry of Metal & Bone. She says that she has been writing since the day she learned how to hold a pen. Penelope likes to get lost in the imaginative worlds in her mind. She was born as Leslye Penelope in the Bronx. However, she left her hometown before she could acquire the accent of that place. Penelope studied at Howard University and had subjects like Film and Computer Science. Eventually, she completed her graduation in multimedia and obtained a degree. Penelope even set herself on the career path of website development. For a brief period, she was also involved in independent filmmaking.

Penelope has recently laid the foundation of a literary magazine with one of her colleagues. Currently, she resides in Maryland. She is happily married and likes to spend her spare time in the company of her loving husband and their adorable pets. The authors who have had influence on her writing style include Tananarive Due, Laini Taylor, Octavia Butler, and Melina Marchetta. Author Penelope claims that she always tries to tell good stories and believes that such stories tend to touch the hearts of the readers easily. She has experienced racism being a black woman living in America. So, this topic automatically found a place in her stories. She thinks that having characters who deal with such familiar problems in the magical and fantasy worlds is both cautionary and wish-fulfillment.

When Penelope first started writing the Earthsinger Chronicles’ debut novel, she intended to develop it into a novella. She wanted to describe the journey of a girl from the lower rungs of the society to the upper echelons and had come up with the characters of Jasminda and Jack well before she came up with the fantasy world in which they live. Penelope had developed a great interest in fantasy stories while she was growing up. Some of her favorite books include Kristin Cashore’s Graceling, Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina, Melina Marchetta’s Lumatere Chronicles, etc. The romantic elements of her books are inspired by the works of authors like Kresley Cole and Nalini Singh. Penelope likes to advise the aspiring author to keep writing as much as they can and remain true to themselves and their art. Whenever any new book of author Penelope is about to get published, she hopes and prays that her characters and story are liked by the readers. She doesn’t worry much about success and knows that it follows soon once the readers and critics like the work.

The Earthsinger Chronicles series written by author L Penelope began in 2015. After writing the first three books, Penelope added a novella in the series in 2019 called Breath of Dust & Dawn. The essential characters mentioned in the series include Jasminda ul-Sarifor, Jack Alliaseen, Kyara, Daryn ol-Tahlyro, etc. Penelope has set the stories in the fictional kingdoms of Lagrimar and Elsira and has depicted that these two kingdoms are separated by a magical veil called Mantle. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘Song of Blood & Stone’. It was released in 2019 by the St Martin’s Griffin publication, after it was first released in 2015. This epic fantasy novel describes a treacherous and thrilling story revolving around an outcast who gets stuck in the center of a war between 2 powerful rulers. The book opens by depicting that Elsira and Lagrimar have been kept separate by the Mantle for many centuries.

The magical veil of Mantle has managed to enforce peace between the two powerful kingdoms. A time comes when the Mantle starts to crack. This gives the ruler of Lagrimar an opportunity to attack Elsira and seize power. Lagrimar is ruled by True Father, who is considered to be the world’s most powerful Earthsinger. Jasminda always wanted to live a peaceful life on her farm. She kept avoiding the prying eyes for as long as she could. But, she gets branded as an outcast due to her skin color and her special Earthsong gift. As a result, she gets shunned and forced to steer away from the folks of her town. Later, Jasminda comes across a group of soldiers from the Lagrimar camp. They enter her valley with a spy from Elsira, without the knowledge that they are not in Lagrimar anymore. The spy named Jack informs Jasminda that the weakening of the Mantle has begun. As a result, people have started slipping through without getting noticed. He also gives her the troubling news of the mobilizing of the Lagimar army.

Jack and Jasminda realize that if the Mantle is not restored in time, the peace of Elsira might get shattered at the hands of the Lagrimari army. The only way to strengthen the Mantle is by uncovering the Sleeping Queen’s secrets. The key to unravel those secrets lies in Jasminda’s Earthsong. In such testing times, Jasminda & Jack are thrust into a hostile world and are forced to race against time to unveil the ancient mystery and achieve salvation.

The second volume of this series is called ‘Whispers of Shadow & Flame’. It was also published by the St. Martin publication in 2019. The central characters mentioned in this novel include Daryn ol-Tahlyro and Kyara. This novel opens by showing that the Mantle separating Lagrimar and Elsira is on the verge falling and is expected to bring about drastic changes in everyone’s life. Kyara, who is born with a magical ability that she is unable to control, is forced to work as an assassin. She is infamously called the Poison Flame that roams around in Lagrimar. Kyara is lethal and notorious, but secretly wishes to earn her freedom from the blood spell commanding her and her untamed magical power. In her next task, Kyara is ordered to capture the legendary rebel named Shadowfox.

When she learns his true identity, her life changes completely. Daryn has the reputation of a powerful Earthsinger to have been born in many generations. But, he feels tortured by the guilt of not being able to save many lives. When Kyara comes to him for help, he is not sure the mysterious woman can be trusted. But, as soon as he discovers that she can unlock his past life’s secrets, he cannot keep himself away from her.

Book Series In Order » Authors » L Penelope

Leave a Reply