Book Notification

Lacey Flint Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lacey Flint Books

Now You See Me (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Scared (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like This, For Ever / Lost (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Twisted Tide (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
If Snow Hadn't Fallen (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Here Be Dragons (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Lacey Flint series is one of the best up and coming mystery series by superb mystery-thriller author, Sharon Bolton. With great reviews from trusted reviewing organizations (Booklist Review, Publisher’s Weekly Review, and Library Journal Review), the Lacey Flint series has become a must-read. The stories take place in England and revolve around London constable Lacey Flint. Many times this strong-willed female police officer finds herself in terrifying situations, with a growing target on her back as the plots unfold. The series has a total of four novels, accompanied by two novellas which take place after the first and fourth novel respectively.

A series that has brought in several new readers, Sharon Bolton has outdone herself in this modern-day thriller. The series has been highly recommended and received wonderful reviews by not only top review organizations, but also thousands of readers. She has won several awards for her writing and can be considered to be one of the more popular and effective writers of the modern era. A reader of this series can expect surprises, shocks, and thrills, all culminating into a satisfying read.

Lacey Flint Biography

Lacey Flint is a multi-faceted character, with a suspicious past. Her past is nothing she wants getting out, especially around her superiors in the London police force, so she does everything she can to keep it under wraps. She is also a lover of men, often going out to nightclubs and bringing men home with her. This ramps up the suspense to a horrifying degree as these men have the possibility of being an extreme danger to detective Flint. She is a practical, no non-sense kind of person. She has no problem defying orders to achieve the results she is looking for. A brave and cunning person, she has no problem going undercover to find out the deepest and darkest secrets London has to offer. With a quick-wit and a superior intellect, Lacey Flint is the total package as an officer. However, as a person, she is just as mistake prone as anyone else, struggling with multiple issues and the darkness that surrounds her past. She also must deal with the horrors that her job with the police force brings. With an interest in the psychopathic tendencies of criminals and a knack to unintentionally become involved with serial killer cases, the action that Lacey Flint has seen is enough for several lifetimes.

Lacey Flint’s character is what has made this series such a hit. Her relatable experiences and personality, along with a great deal of a hidden past, put the reader in similar shoes. The experiences that Lacey goes through put a reader in the same predicament and offer moral dilemmas and questions that can be directly applied to real life. Lacey’s responses to these dramatic circumstances will leave a reader justifying or critiquing her actions. The other characters that Lacey must deal with, including the villains, are relatable as well and force Lacey to make significant decisions. Going through the series, readers will observe the dynamic changes and transformation that the characters take on.

Now You See Me

Now You See Me is the first book of the Lacey Flint murder mystery, thriller series, written in 2011. When Lacey finds herself holding a dying woman stabbed just moments before next to her detective car, the reader gets a glimpse of the issues the female detective has had to face on the job. When it is soon revealed by a journalist that someone claiming to be the killer shows signs of Jack the Ripper tendencies, the situation becomes immediately intensified. Another murder confirms Lacey’s worst fears and she begins her manhunt for the Jack the Ripper copycat. Throughout the story, Lacey illustrates prowess and intellect, especially about her knowledge of Jack the Ripper, which in turn makes other officers suspicious of her actions. However, this knowledge also proves to be extremely useful to Lacey on her journey throughout the mystery.

Adding to the suspense is that the killer seems to know everything there is about Lacey as well. He/she constantly sends her items that reflect her past, showcasing his/her knowledge of the rambled detective. Lacey must race against time in order to prevent any more deaths as well as keep her secrets safely tucked away before they get out to others.

This novel entices the reader to put everything else on hold to finish this engaging and masterfully written piece of the mystery genre. The suspense will keep readers on the edge of their seats, with the final reveal carefully hidden until the last page. Action-packed, filled with violence, yet with plenty of plotline, Now You See Me should not be missed.

Dead Scared

Dead Scared is the second book in the Lacey Flint series, written in 2012. This novel continues to follow Lacey as she now performs undercover work at Cambridge University. When the London police force realizes that there have been several extreme cases of suicide, they know no better person to work the case than Lacey. The latest suicide attempt was unsuccessful and Lacey gleans as much information as possible from this girl to understand the reasons for the suicides. As it turns out, someone is inducing hellish nightmares into these female students, causing them to act out in extremely violent self-harm that has always ultimately led to suicide. When Lacey begins to have similar nightmares experienced by the deceased women, she realizes she has become the next target.

Lacey as a character is still her same interestingly intelligent, yet flawed self. Her willingness to pose as a student with depression speaks to her bravery; however, she seems to play it so well, as if depression is not a far cry from what she feels in reality. Lacey’s past is still hidden in shrouds of mystery, and is only slightly hinted at throughout the novel.

This is another novel of admirable writing done by Sharon Bolton. It is thrilling and produces a new twist on mystery novels. This is a real page-turner and one that will be nigh impossible to put down. A dramatic plot with turns and twists, readers will be enthralled from the first page.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lacey Flint

Leave a Reply