Book Notification

Lady Emily Ashton Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lady Emily Books

And Only to Deceive (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Poisoned Season (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Waltz (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tears of Pearl (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dangerous to Know (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crimson Warning (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Floating City (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind the Shattered Glass (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Counterfeit Heiress (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Star of the East (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventuress (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
That Silent Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Terrible Beauty (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in St. Petersburg (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bridal Strain (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amid the Winter's Snow (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uneasy Lies the Crown (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upon the Midnight Clear (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadow of Vesuvius (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Heart of Florence (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of the Nile (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Highland Wind (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death by Misadventure (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

In this series, Tasha Alexander takes us to the posh and wonderful life of one Lady Emily Ashton who moves into the most exclusive of London Victorian circles but what she doesn’t know is that behind the posh and the glamor of this life, there exists a life of brutal murders, betrayals as well as to the simplest of thefts like burglary. In this historical mystery, we follow Lady Emily Ashton as she looks for clues from the Mayfair mansions to the country estates to the excursions continentalky as well as exotic locales with a touch of romance to liven the series which I thought was really genius of Tasha Alexander.

In the first book of this series, titled And Only To Deceive, we find Emily agreeing to marry to wed Philip who is known as the Viscount Ashton. She does this principally with the motive of escaping the clutches of her overcontrolling mother. After their wedding, Philip dies while on a safari and Emily does feel a bit of remorse but she barely knew the guy so this is clearly overlooked as is of us humans. Two years later after the Visount’s death, Emily stumbles upon his journals and realised that he actually loved her a lot and besides that, he learns of an antique collector and quite a gentleman at that and this is in contrary to what she had always known about her late husband.

With desire creeping in on Emily to learn more about her late husband, she is led through the British Museum and right into the clutches of a dangerous and powerful underground mystery that involves rare stolen artifacts. To add salt to the wound, she is being wooed by two suitors who are extremely wealthy and one’s intentions might go beyond the matrimonial ones to even darker realms. This book is actually great because it brings this aspect of humans that we always have of realizing that you actually love something or something when it’s gone. The fact that Philip actually did care about Emily a lot in the short span that they were married and she never noticed let alone cared is what sets this novel on a class of its own and makes it stand out in its ranks. It’s really emotional and you will be deeply engaged in the plot as well as the twists and the eventual outcome on the life of Lady Emily Ashton.

The book does an excellent job of blending the surroundings of the posh and glamor filled London side that is characterized by the rich and the famous and brings you into this world that you feel is just magical. The attention to detail by Tasha Alexander including the vivid descriptions in the book will leave you nothing short of teary eyed no matter who you are. Generally, this first book in this series is one of the best reads in this series as well as the genre at large. Well, the second book doesn’t dissapoint at all and picks up pretty superbly where the first one had left off.

The second book, A Poisoned Season, is exactly just what the title describes. It is at the peak of the social season in London and the high and the mighty are awash with rumors of a gentleman that claims o be the direct descendant of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. With the fascination of the Victorian Aristocracy’s and all things that are French, there is a burglar doing rounds starling items that are of immense value which had once been the belongings of the queen. What makes this second novel stand out is much more than just burglary or romance but the way the wo are intertwined to give the plot the life that it really deserves.

Things change dramatically when one of the owners of the valuables that were stolen is found murdered and this is right after the burglary being published in the newspapers. What makes things even more interesting is the fact that the burglar starts developing an obsession that can only be described as twisted for Lady Emily Ashton and this triggers her to take on the job of unmasking this killer as well as burglar. While doing this, she is faced with a far more challenging task of dispelling a scandal that is just brewing which could threaten her reputation and ruin her romance escapades with one Collin Hargreaves. She has to unmask the stalker, fnd out the killer as well as clear her name. Will she be successful in accomplishing all this or will her life be ruined once more? Who is the burglar? What was the signifacnce if the gentleman claiming to be Louis VXI descendant? These and many more questions remain to be answered but all you have to do is get your own boom and actually find out more of what goes on in this series of 10 novels around Lady Emily Ashton.

Tasha Alexander really did a great job with this series and you will live everything about it from the first book up to the tenth installment. Historical mystery has always been interesting especially one that involves art but the best part about this series is the fact that they included a bits romance to them and actually it turned out quite brilliantly and leaves you on the edge of your seat at all times to what to know what Lady Emily is upto. The fact that she did sove the crime in the first book and learnt a lot in the process is what makes the character really strong and upto the task as far as the plot is concerned. The way Tasha handled the characters as well as the plot is just magical and he way she paints clear and vivid images of London is what makes her one of the best actually. She has perfected this trade and you can’t talk about a historical mystery novel without talking about this series and its creator Tasha Alexander.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lady Emily Ashton

Leave a Reply