Book Notification

Lady Julia Grey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lady Julia Grey Books

Silent in the Grave (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent in the Sanctuary (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent on the Moor (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Road to Darjeeling (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Enquiry (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midsummer Night (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelfth Night (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bonfire Night (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Lady Julia Grey Books

Silent in the Grave(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent in the Sanctuary(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent on the Moor(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midsummer Night(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Road to Darjeeling(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Enquiry(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Night(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twelfth Night(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bonfire Night(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lady Julia Grey Collections

A Mysterious Season (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Fusing both history and romance, the Lady Julia Grey series of novels by Deanna Raybourn brings all these different elements together into one mysterious mix. Taking place in the late Victorian era, it features Lady Julia Grey, a woman brought head-first into a world of intrigue and deception as she teams up the enigmatic investigator Nicholas Brisbane. Solving cases within London, she proceeds to become an investigator in her own right as the series progresses charting both her ups and downs. Having adventures and always getting to the bottom of any mystery, she’s a force to be reckoned with. Not only that, but she also manages to have fun along the way with her cutting sense of humor. All this whilst dealing with her feelings for fellow investigator Nicholas. How will they manage the tension between them, all whilst coping with the cases at hand? Raybourn infuses both wit and drama in this exciting and intriguing series of novels.

Lady Julia: Silent in the Grave

This is the novel where we’re first introduced to Lady Julia, as she is initially married to Sir Edward Grey. It soon transpires though that Edward Grey, the toast of upper class Victorian London society, has a terminal illness. Not only that, but there’s a killer on the loose who’s been making threats upon Edward Grey’s life by sending him pages slashed from a book of Psalms. It is because of this that he’s assigned protection in the form of Nicholas Brisbane, the private investigator. Just as he’s about to provide Brisbane with these messages though, he falls dead before a group of guests along with his distraught wife, the Lady Julia. Because of this, a case is soon under-way as it appears the death might not have been as unintentional as they all first imagined.

Due to Edward’s illness, Lady Julia believes his death to be down to his sickness. It is only when Brisbane suggests otherwise that Julia starts to understand that all may not be as it seems. Over the course of the novel the two of them then form an unlikely partnership as they work towards finding out who the killer is and what their intentions are. This may only endanger Lady Julia though, as this someone really doesn’t want to be found and will do anything to keep it that way.

Over the course of this book we witness the bond between the pair begin to grow in the wake of Edward Grey’s unpleasant death. Whilst there may be tensions between them both at first, they find common ground through their appreciation and skill for good detective work. This is what is to lay the groundwork for the forthcoming series, as it raises the stakes for the both of them. It also displays Lady Julia’s sturdy resolution and strong sense of character, as Brisbane attempts to warn her off the case. Will they find her husband’s killer and bring them to justice? Can they keep out of harm’s way whilst doing so? What does the future hold for this pair of intrepid investigators in the years to come?

Lady Julia: Silent in the Sanctuary

Following on from the last book, this is the second title in the Lady Julia Grey series of mystery novels. In this we see Julia Grey returning home after a brief period of respite spent in Italy. As soon as she’s back though, she finds herself in trouble once again, and another case falling into her lap. The estate of her father is crowded with a vast number of different family and friends, but there’s mystery brewing around the nearby abbey which is undergoing a de-consecration. To add to that there’s a murderer on the loose stalking the ancient cloisters. Lady Julia has company with her this time though, in the form of a dashing young Italian count. This isn’t going to sit easy when Nicholas Brisbane is also found at her father’s home, being one of the house-guests there as well.

Quickly they have to overcome the tension between them as they team-up once more to solve the crime of a murdered house-guest. Not only has someone been killed, but the cousin of Lady Julia confesses. Julia doesn’t believe this though, and is most certain that she is innocent. It is then up to her and Brisbane to find the real culprit. Time is running out, especially when a snowstorm happens to blanket the abbey that they are all in. Will they solve the crime in time before the killer can strike again? Can Lady Julia prove her cousin’s innocence? What will come of Lady Julia and Brisbane’s relationship this time around?

The Lady Julia Grey Series

In this series there are currently five books in total, along with two digital exclusives also available. Over the course of these novels, you can find a rich and complex history, with a wide and detailed environment to explore. Adding to that is the historical accuracy that author Deanna Raybourn is well-known for, thanks to her having graduated with a history major. It’s not all solemn affairs and murders though, as Raybourn infuses humor as well, which can be seen in the interplay between Lady Julia and Brisbane over the course of the series. A novel such as ‘Silent Night’, the Christmas themed novel featuring the two intrepid investigators looking into a case that apparently involves a paranormal apparition, exemplifies this. This all adds to the overall charm of the books, creating an affectation with their ever loyal readers.

The series will continue on into the future as Deanna Raybourn will keep going. Although there are no plans to branch out the story elsewhere, it’s constantly growing in popularity so only time will tell. Taking her readers across the world, these books are known to enthrall their audience not only with their choice of locations, but with the familiarity of the characters and their relationships as well. Deanna Raybourn manages to keep people guessing constantly as to every aspect of her stories. This shows no signs of stopping any time soon either.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lady Julia Grey

Leave a Reply