Book Notification

Lady Sherlock Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lady Sherlock Books

A Study in Scarlet Women (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Conspiracy in Belgravia (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hollow of Fear (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of Theft (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Cold Street (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Moriarty, I Presume? (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tempest at Sea (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ruse of Shadows (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lady Sherlock Short Stories/Novellas Books

Charlotte Holmes and the Locked Box (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sherry Thomas is considered one of the most revered, popular romantic novel authors in the United States today. Her writing has earned her highly prestigious reviews and awards from venerated publications such as Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, and Library Journal. She has also been recognized as an author of note by National Public Radio and the New York Times.

Some may consider her accomplishments even more remarkable when they learn she was born in 1975 in Qingdao, Shandong, China and the fact that English is her second language. She learned English at her grandmother’s side, working on her English language newspaper crossword puzzles.

Ms.Thomas moved to the United States at the age of thirteen where she diligently worked at improving her English, using an English-Chinese dictionary, by reading fiction novels such as romances by Rosemary Roger and the incredible science fiction by Isaac Asimov.

As a young adult, she started writing her own stories. After seven failed attempts, she had her debut novel, Private Arrangements, published in 2006 under the title Schemes of Love which had the theme of an English-set Victorian romance. Ms. Thomas moved into writing young adult fantasy stories in 2013 and in 2014 she moved to traditional historical novels set in Imperialist China. She has written many series of stories- The Marsdens Series, Heart of Blade Duology Series, The Fitzhughs Series, The London Trilogy Series, and The Lady Sherlock Series. Early in Ms. Thomas’ career she made the decision to write only novels that she herself would enjoy reading. Her writing has covered a wide range of themes including fantasy, romance, mystery, and a wuxia-inspired duology. The wuxia-inspired is an imaginative focus on Chinese martial arts. Ms. Thomas’ 2011 “His at Night” won the Best Historical Romance award and the 2010 “Not Quite a Husband” won the RITA award (the highest award of distinction in romance fiction).

The Lady Sherlock Series is a collection of contemporary romance stories. Ms. Thomas has gender-flipped one of the most famous detectives in literary history to create her own character with the traits and temperament of the original genius investigator of Victorian England. Charlotte Holmes, the daughter of Lord and Lady Holmes, is a respectable, brilliant, and eccentric young woman who has established a detective agency in a time when to do so thoroughly flies in the face of the rigid Victorian societal conventions. Her eagerness to use her exceptional deductive reasoning powers and her razor-keen intellect to solve mysteries places her directly at risk of being ostracized by the immensely rigid Victorian society. Her parents don’t approve and have declared her activities off-putting to any potential suitors.

The first novel in the highly popular Lady Sherlock Series is A Study in Scarlet Women. Charlotte Holmes accurately predicted she wouldn’t be totally accepted by the strait-laced Victorian society because of her decision to use her natural skills and intelligence to solve crimes and mysteries. However, she didn’t expect to be regarded as a social pariah. It all changes when there is a mysterious death and the suspicions fall on her own father and sister. Charlotte’s phenomenal wits, matching the infamous Sherlock Holmes, knows it’s going to fall on her to clear her family’s name and find the true killer. She’s astute enough to know she will need the help of others. She enlists the help of old and new friends including a kindly widow, a police inspector, and even a one time romantic partner. She has her team to assist her but it will fall on her to go head to head with a substantial mastermind.

A Conspiracy in Belgravia is number two in the Lady Sherlock series. In this detective thriller we get to see how brilliant Charlotte is as she puts her deductive powers to work. Because she insists on pursuing her vocation of being a detective, she’s been thoroughly shunned by Victorian London society. As a result she feels free to throw herself into her chosen profession.

Charlotte has set herself up in her Baker Street office and she’s pleased by the amount of business that has been coming her way. She has had an amazing variety of mysteries and challenging cases.

Lady Ingram has sought out her services to find a man who hadn’t made it to their annual rendezvous. This man is special as he was her first love. Charlotte cannot refuse her as Lady Ingram was her benefactor and she is also a dear friend.

This missing man case hits close to Charlotte’s heart as Myron Finch is also her illegitimate half-brother. Discretion and loyalty is critical. As Charlotte throws herself into solving this personal case she has other challenges to deal with.

An unexpected proposal of marriage takes her by surprise, there’s a stranger wooing her sister Livia, and to add another level of stress, an unidentified body shows up where it is least expected to be. She has to find her brother before he becomes an unknown corpse somewhere. Charlotte’s investigative mastery is maximally challenged.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Lady Sherlock

Leave a Reply