Book Notification

Laekan Zea Kemp Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Omega Morales Books

Omega Morales and the Legend of La Lechuza (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Omega Morales and the Curse of El Cucuy (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Girl in Between Books

The Girl in Between (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy in Her Dreams (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children of the Moon (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Daughter of the Night (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Laekan Zea Kemp Standalone Novels

The Things They Didn't Bury (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Orphans of Paradise (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breathing Ghosts (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heartbreak Symphony (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Appetite for Miracles (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

A Crown for Corina (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laekan Zea Kemp is a bestselling twenty-nine-year-old Latino author and former teacher of English as a second language from Central Texas.

She believes that when people go through trauma or something very difficult when they are young, there is a part of them that gets stuck at that age. Zea Kemp believes that this is the reason that she has gravitated toward young adult young fiction.

She had some very difficult teenage years and even now as an adult she still finds herself having to process how these events have shaped her perspective of the world.

For Laekan, writing has been one of the best ways that she processes emotions and experiences even though she has a preference for writing novels over writing in a journal.

She has said that one of the most profound moments of her career was discovering Melina Marchetta, who has always been her favorite author.

In fact, her favorite contemporary novel has to be “On The Jellicoe Road” and her favorite fantasy series has to be “The Lumatere Chronicles.”

Nonetheless, the reason she picked up one of her novels has to be because she saw her name on a book cover and was shocked that she was Latina.

Ever since Laekan Zea Kamp was in middle school, she dreamed of becoming a writer. Still, she did not know how one worked toward pursuing such a career.

Even though she was a huge reader, she had no understanding of how novels were made or how many people were involved in the publishing of a book.

Even when she decided to head to college and study Creative Writing, she could not remember getting any information about publishing as a business or even the basics such as obtaining an agent.

Everything was about workshops and the only opportunities available for publication were submitting to anthologies and literary journals.

Commercial fiction had almost no presence and it would take about a decade for Laekan to learn about genre fiction and the publishing industry. However, once she stumbled upon the children’s literature community she knew she had found a home.
It turned out to be a windy and long road toward the decision to become a traditionally published author.

However, once she made the decision things moved pretty fast and it was not long before she was offered a two-book deal with Little Brown Young Readers.

Laekan Zea Kemp has said that most people that meet her are surprised to learn that he self-published in the paranormal romance genre for years before he became successful.

For many years she has written books with Latina protagonists and decided to self-publish her novels since it was easier for diverse authors to self-publish.

Moreover, finding representation for books with diverse characters never used to be so easy as it was a time before #DisruptTexts and #WeNeedDiverseBooks and the push for fiction that had more diversity.

As such, self-publishing was the only route toward becoming a published author. However, it was not long before she realized that it was not only Latinos that were buying her self-published fiction.

Many readers from diverse backgrounds connected with her fiction and she realized how big of an audience she could have.

Aside from her writing, Laekan was once upon a time involved in advocacy and also taught ESL. As such, she is still involved in working and organizing author communities and industry professionals to make traditional publishing more inclusive and equitable.

“The Girl In Between” by Laekan Zea Kemp tells the story of a real-life sleeping beauty named Bryn Reyes. Given that she suffers from Klein-Levin Syndrome, she sometimes sleeps for months or at best weeks, which steals a lot from her life.
But unlike many people afflicted with her condition, she does not wake up with amnesia or spend her episodes in a catatonic state. Rather, Bryn spends most of her time asleep in an alternate memory that is full of her memories.
For Reyes, the past is a real place where she goes when asleep. But things turn interesting when a strange boy she has never met before turns up on the beach in her dreams.

However, the appearance of the strange character is not the only change. Reyes’ symptoms are getting worse as she becomes weaker and has to deal with hallucinations, even when she is wide awake.
Her only hope of getting a cure is to subject herself to an experimental treatment that is being touted by a German specialist.

But things get interesting when Dr. Banz announces that he understands a lot more about her strange symptoms than he had previously implied he did.

Reyes learns that the strange boy she has been seeing in her dreams might be critical to understanding what is happening to her. However, she will need to find the stranger’s identity or they may both be destroyed.

Laekan Zea Kemp’s novel “The Boy In Her Dreams” opens with Roman waking up from a six-month coma to see the girl of his dreams standing in front of him.

But Reyes is not only confined to dreams anymore and neither is the boy. He is alive and awake and as the memories of how he came to fall in love with Reyes come flooding back, so do the memories of how he got to be hospitalized.
Roman is plagued by guilt and decides to change both their life trajectories. As Reyes is fighting for her life in a hospital in Germany, Roman needs to get her to forgive him before it is too late.

Bryn Reyes and Roman were not the only things that came out of her dreams. They are both being hunted by the shadows and a bizarre side effect of Roman’s miraculous recovery could the only weapon that could stop their adversaries.
However, they can only be successful if Roman can get to Reyes before she slips deep into the dreams which are increasingly intruding even further into their waking lives.

“The Children of the Moon” by Laekan Zea Kemp continues to follow the adventures of Bryn Reyes.

Growing up, she had been afflicted with debilitating sleep episodes and nightmares that weakened her. But she has since learned to make use of her dreams to make herself even stronger.

She will need that strength since she finds herself trapped in a nightmare too deep and too dark that even Roman cannot help her. The worst thing is that he is also having dangerously real nightmares too.
Roman’s past is haunting him once again and they both have to fight for their lives. Still, they are not the only ones whose fates are on the line.

As the countdown to his eighteenth birthday continues, the globe is dealing with a strange epidemic with children falling into comas at an increasingly alarming pace.

When Bryn ultimately has to confront the monster in charge of the shadows, it is evident that she is not the first Dreamer that came under his control.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laekan Zea Kemp

Leave a Reply