Book Notification

Laini Taylor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Daughter of Smoke & Bone Books

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days of Blood and Starlight (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of Cake & Puppets (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Faeries of Dreamdark Books

Publication Order of Strange the Dreamer Books

Strange the Dreamer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Muse of Nightmares (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

The Drowned (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Billie Blaster and the Robot Army from Outer Space (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fractured Fables(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laini Taylor has been the top author winning the National book Award finalist. She was born on December 1971 in California town called Chico. She studied her higher education at UC Berkeley University where she graduated with a degree in English. Currently she lives in Portland Oregon with her husband and daughter. Her husband is an illustrator who by name is called Jim Di Bartolo. She has written various novels and one series known as the daughter of smoke and Bone. Taylor has become famous because of the daughter of smoke and bone. She writes fantasy book for young people though can also be enjoyed by adults. In 2004 she had written the graphic novel for image comics.


Laini Taylor’s books include the silk singer ( dreamdark ), blackbringer and the daughter of smoke and bone which ranked as the New York best sellers and the Amazon best teen book for 2012. She dedicated much of her life in writing till she was 35 years of age when she published her first book. This gave her an opportunity to dream new. She portrays a day dreamer in all of her stories.

Some books written by Laini Taylor are:

Daughter of smoke and bones

Daughter of smoke and bone story is about Karou who was a seventeen year old Prague art student. She had been raised by Chimaera or creature with characteristics of different animals and human. The Chimaera happens to demand for some teeth so that she can make some wishes. Karou is sent to fetch these teeth. At first Karou does not understand why some conditions existed around the type of teeth she would bring. Conditions such as no child teeth or no rotting teeth. During one of Karou’s mission to get teeth, she meets someone by the name Akiva who discovers something familiar in Karou.

Karou has a friend who she consistently goes to take supper with but tries to avoid her ex-boyfriend Kazmir as much as possible. The revelation of Karou and how she leaves with the Chimaera comes into light. Chimaera is a living thing who’s Trans dimensional plane is between human and Eretz. While with Zuzana , karou is sent for a mission to collect teeth both for human and animal origin. Karou is not comfortable with this job which includes dealing with grave robbers and she reluctantly departs. By the time she returns she finds the door to the workshop having been scorched with a Black Hand mark. Later she discovers that Akiva was responsible. All this time Akiva has been fighting the types of Karou. One day as Karou comes from a mission of collecting teeth, she is attacked by Akiva and she escapes through the door of Eretz. After the Escape, this is the first time that Karou had the sight of Eretz. She is retuned to Prague by Brimstone who discovered her when she entered being chased by Akiva.

Akiva reacts upon realizing this by defying his brother and sister angel guards who wants to kill Karou. Akiva’s siblings wants to expose Karou to human world but Akiva hinds her. According to Akiva the truth is revealed as she discovers that Brimstone uses teeth to build new bodies. This way he was able to resurrect the fallen Chimaera soldiers in the war against seraphim. This reveals that Karou is simply a human incarnation of Chimaera. Karou’s original identity was Madigal Kirin. This name relates to a Chimaera who ones saved the life of Akiva when she found him in the battle field. This made him fell in love and started an affair with the seraphim. This led to his public execution. HE reminds Karou of her previous life and the battle and that her Chimaera family was all dead. She had to destroy Brimstones business to end the war.

The blood starlight

It talks about an angel and a devil who fell in love and who dared to imagine a world free of blood and war. Karou knows that this world is not like the imagined world. She now knows who she is and what she is. But she had learn from the mistake of loving the enemy who betrayed her and made the world suffer because of it. In the daughter of smoke and bone, Karou must plan how to go and avenge her people through secrets and her beauty. While Karou organizes her army Akiva plans for another type of battle which involves redemption and hope.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters

In this book, the future lies in the hands of Karou who controls Chimaera rebellion and is trying to divert its course away from dead-edge vengeance. If there will be a future for Chimaera in Eretz war ravaged zone. Karou and Akiva’s dream is twisted to another angle when they face a common enemy and a common cause. They have to stop Jael’s Brutal army which if it trespasses the human world the unthinkable is bound to happen.

2 early books of Laini Taylor

The Silksinger (faeries of DreamDark).

Published in year 2009, it talks about whisper silk singer who was the last of the secret guardians of Azazel. Azazel is a powerful Djinn Who dreams of the world into being. He frees to city of Nazneen to restore the temple after heavy pursuance by blood thirst devils. Hirik Mothmage is also seeking to restore his clans honor by finding Azazel.

The Black Bringer (Faeries of Dreamdark)

Published in 2007, this book is developed when the blackbringer rises to unmake the world and only one determined faerie blocks its way. Magpie who is the grand daughter to West wind is different from other Faeries. She devotes her life to tracking down and recapturing devils who escaped from their ancient bottles. Her like are believed to live in seclusion but she is different and bold enough to confront the devils. She is determined to defeat the impenetrable dark of blackbringer through the help of her friends. She chooses to fight while others are freeing.

Her first book in the series” The Daughter of smoke and Bone” was selected for filming by the universal pictures and were given the right to film the book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply