Book Notification

Lang Leav Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sad Girls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea of Strangers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poemsia (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
September Love (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gift of Everything (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Others Were Emeralds (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Love & Misadventure (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lullabies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memories (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Universe of Us (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anthology of Love (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Looks Pretty on You (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lang Leav
Lang Leav, born in September 8, 1980, is a bestselling contemporary poet and writer in New Zealand who lives with Michael Faudet, a fellow author and her partner.

Leav was born at a refugee camp in Thailand. Her family fled from the Khmer Rouge regime in Cambodia. She is the second youngest of her three siblings.

In the year 1981, her family migrated to Australia. Her dad was an acupuncturist and her mom worked as a seamstress. Leav grew up at a refugee town in Cabramatta, Sydney.

Her interest in literature began at a young age. She would write poetry and turn the collection into handmade books, which she passed around to her peers in school.

Even though she is known for being a writer, she initially established gothic and oriental inspired fashion line called Akina, which has received commercial and critical success and is stocked in key boutiques around Australia and later in cutting edge Harajuku, Japan.

In the year 2013, she chose to begin writing again. She self-published prose and poetry collection called “Love and Misadventures”. The book dealt with facets and stages of romantic love, from pleasant to unpleasant sections. It was unexpectedly a hit and it caught the attention of literary agents in New York and got a publishing deal from Andrew McMeel. The bestselling book rank top on Amazon.

Leav’s style of poetry is described as being succinct and simple, and conveys complicated emotions in stark comparison to the verbal richness of traditional poetry. Leav writes in conversational language with mild use of figures of speech and it is arranged in traditional stanza form. Her poetry’s accessibility has allowed her to garner a diverse mass following, with each of her poetry collections being international bestsellers.

Lang has completed shows in many cities including Santa Monica for the renowned Corpo gallery. She was hand selected to exhibit in the landmark Playboy Redux curated by The Warhol Museum and Playboy Enterprises.

She considers Emily Dickinson to be her inspiration. She admires Dickinson’s raging emotions and passion which is simply but effectively conveyed.

The voice of Lang’s character Audrey, from “Sad Girls”, came bursting into Lang’s head one night, both insistent and loud. Audrey just had a story to tell and she couldn’t help but just be drawn into her atmospheric and dark world. The plot unraveled out for Lang quite naturally.

While writing “Sad Girls”, she had an idea of where everything was going, however at the same time, her characters ended up taking her to places that she couldn’t have possibly imagined.

Audrey, she found to be a deeply flawed and complex character. When her voice came to Lang, it was like a whisper. Full of foreboding and dark. Just as compelling as her world was, sometimes she struggled with the weight of everything. However she was proud of how she was able to bring her story to life.

She began working on “Sad Girls” after her first poetry collection was released. It was a project she loved coming back to as she worked on her other poetry titles. She has heard that there is no such thing as fiction, but non fiction written in some alternate world and it accurately describes her experience while working on “Sad Girls”.

Writing her second novel, called “Poemsia”, was an entirely different experience. Verity Wolf, her protagonist, burst into Lang’s head and she was filled with laughter and joy. She was warm and irrepressible, and a bit of ridiculous. She fell in love with Verity’s whole world, and never wanted to leave. Now Lang cannot wait until she is able to share this experience with all of her beautiful and amazing readers.

Lang gets inspired to write by rubbing both of her hands together and pretending that she is making fire when she is in fact making ideas for her books.

Leav’s college degree equipped her with the knowledge in arts that has allowed her to add illustrations on her books. She was nominated multiple times for Goodreads Choice Awards.

Lang’s work has been featured on SBS Australia, CNN, Radio New Zealand, Intelligence Squared UK, as well as in other publications. This includes Newsweek, the Guardian, Vogue, the New York times, and the Strait Times.

Leav went to the College of Fine Arts in Sydney. The refugee community that she belonged to was critical of this choice, and was constantly questioned as the field was believed to be financially unstable and therefore was impractical. She persisted, nonetheless. Her undergrad thesis during college, called “Cosplaying Lolita” granted her a Churchill Fellowship Award.

She won a Goodreads Best Poetry in the year 2014 for “Lullabies” and has won a Quantas Spirit of Youth Award.

“Sad Girls” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. A boy in sheep’s clothing. A girl that cried wolf. A killer romance. One lethal secret.

School is just about out for Audrey, however the panic attacks are just starting. Because Audrey told a lie and now Ana, her classmate, is dead. Right when he world starts to spin out of control, Audrey meets the enigmatic Rad, the boy that could turn everything around. However, is their ill-timed romance going to drive her closer to the edge?

“Poemsia” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. Verity Wolf dreams about being a poet, not that she would ever admit it to anybody. Jess, her best friend, believes that she has definitely got what it takes, while Zorro, her kitty, is characteristically indifferent about it all. As for the cute boy that she has just met, he is about to learn about her best kept secret.

When Verity stumbles upon a mysterious and ancient book, called Poemsia, she finds herself being thrown into the dizzying world of social media stardom, where poets are now the new rock stars and fame only a click away sometimes.

Lang Leav brings readers into the shadowy world of contemporary poetry in this tale of first love, betrayal, friendship, and the courage to follow your dreams.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lang Leav

Leave a Reply