Book Notification

Larry Macklin Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Larry Macklin Mysteries Books

November's Past (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
December's Secrets (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
January's Betrayal (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
February's Regrets (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
March's Luck (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
April's Desires (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
May's Danger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
June's Troubles (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
July's Trials (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
August's Heat (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
September's Fury (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
October's Fear (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spring's Promises (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer's Rage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Autumn's Ghost (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter's Chill (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentine's Warning (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
St. Patrick's Cross (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memorial Day's Escape (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Independence Day's Search (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tuesday's Innocence (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Living out in rural north Florida, A.E. Howe is a well established and highly regarded American writer of mystery fiction. Well known for his engrossing and captivating style, he really manages to grab the attention of the reader and not let go. With a background in writing for the screen and stage, as well novels, he has a rich and varied past in literature, which he has cultivated over the years. His mysteries are also extremely enticing, with their easy going style and tone, drawing the reader, which can be seen reflected in his sales worldwide. Creating characters that are fully three dimensional as well, he really manages to bring his stories to life too, allowing his readers to relate to them in the process. Building some highly involving franchises that have stood the test of time, he has produced some of the most enduring and iconic characters to date. This is because he knows exactly what it is that his readers are looking for, whilst also remaining true to himself and his own vision. Hosting his own podcast too titled ‘Guns of Hollywood’, he has really managed to craft a brand, and this can be seen throughout his many series written. Taking his life and his experiences, Howe has created the long-running and much loved ‘Larry Macklin Mysteries’ collection of novels. Drawing from the mystery genre, he takes his cues from a number of different sources, carrying it forwards in his own unique inimitable style. The story itself follows the eponymous character of Larry Macklin, as he takes on cases as a criminal investigator living in rural Florida. A well drawn character, he comes alive off of the page, giving the reader someone clear to root for throughout the entire series. Setting it in Florida as well, Howe clearly is writing about what he knows, allowing the environment to come alive off of the page.

Starting out in 2016, the series begun with the novel called ‘November’s Past’, which would introduce Macklin for the first time, along with establishing the world overall. So far there have been ten books in the series and counting, along with an omnibus edition collating the first three. Using a clear filmic quality that is reminiscent of many large and small screen productions, it has yet to be adapted. The future for the series is highly promising though, as more and more discover the franchise every day, something that will carry on for some time to come.

November’s Past

First brought out on the 7th of May in 2016, this would be the first title in the Larry Macklin series of novels. Introducing the eponymous character of Macklin himself for the first time too, it would manage to create an engaging and inventive style of tone. Released on the Kindle, it really manages to engage the audience on a more personal level, as his character is given very real and human motivations.

Following the many conventions of the detective genre format, this title really works at creating its own template to work from. Creating highly realistic and grounded characters whose motivations the readers truly believes, they definitely come alive off of the page. With a real eye for rural Florida as well, Howe really breathes life into the surroundings too, giving an extremely tactile sense throughout the narrative. The environment really reflects the action and story going on throughout, allowing the characters to be juxtaposed against their location well.

With his father as the sheriff, life is definitely not easy for Larry Macklin living and working out in rural Florida. That’s when he comes across the case of a mutilated body, as it’s discovered to intersect with another arson investigation going on. Linking it all together is a group of friends who were at high-school during the ’70s, one them being the father of Macklin himself. This leads them to believe that a murderer is now targeting the group, with new potential victims set to be on their list. Will Macklin find the killer in time before it’s too late? Can he put all the pieces together to discover the truth? What really happened in November’s past?

December’s Secrets

Released in 2016 on the 7th of May, this came out the same time as the first, with it also being published on the Kindle. Following on in much the same vein as before, it would provide the next investigation for the ever intrepid Larry Macklin. Offering a stand-alone investigation, it can be picked up casually, allowing any newcomers to enjoy it, whilst also offering something for those returning too.

Following an awful first date, Larry Macklin finds himself feeling a little down on his luck, which is why he’s initially so excited to get a call back off her. Heading round to the house of one Cara Laursen he soon finds that she had other reasons for calling him back, as there in her living room is her father Henry. Protesting his innocence, Henry has been implicated in a murder investigation and has found himself the chief suspect. Then another body turns up with all the clues pointing towards Henry, and Macklin wants to believe him for Cara’s sake. Will he be able to put his ethics aside though and look at the overwhelming evidence? Who really committed the murders? What are December’s secrets?

The Larry Macklin Mysteries Series

As far as mystery novels go, these are some of the better ones, with some good solid cases to dive right into for the reader. Providing intriguing premises alongside well drawn characters, they really do excel in telling modern engrossing examples of the genre. Not only that, but they are also simple to read, with an accessible quality to them, as the reader is able to pick them up at any stage in the series. This isn’t to say that there isn’t a long-running narrative arc though, as it manages to provide something for the returning fans too. With an audience that’s expected to continue growing in the years to come, these fans will carry on discovering what Howe has to offer for a long time yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Larry Macklin Mysteries

Leave a Reply