Book Notification

Last Chance Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Last Chance Books

Welcome to Last Chance (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home At Last Chance (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Beauty Queen (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Bride (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Christmas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Book Club (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Summer (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Knit & Stitch (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inn at Last Chance (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Family (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Chance Hero (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Midnight Clear (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Last Chance is a series of Southern novelist by one of the genres arguably best writers Hope Ramsay. The first novel in the series was “Welcome to Last Chance” published in 2011. Capturing the essence of the Southern small town of the United States, the series was soon one of the most popular in the genre selling thousands of copies since first publication. The success of the first novel in the series was so much beloved that it spawned several more titles to stand at nine titles published by 2015. The Southern series of novels are about a disparate set of characters with different motivations and dispositions. Even as Ramsay the author of the Last Chance series of novels is a New Yorker, she spent much time visiting relatives in South Carolina. The time spent visiting her mother’s relatives in the South Carolina Midlands are largely reflected in the quirky stories of romance she tells in her series of novels. Spending a lot of time with women, men, boy, and girls that were much older than her she effortlessly tells the Southern tale, flavoring it with all the rural freshness you would expect of a native Southerner. Over the course of the series, we follow a range of characters and their stories of love and romance in the small town of Last Chance Carolina, where everyone gets a last chance at love.

The novels in the series are for the most part stories of cute youthful love. As a contemporary romance writer, Ramsay deals with the adolescent attitudes and selfish inner desires that young persons have to make in the course of becoming mature adults. The process of becoming mature adults is never easy, as they have to overcome many obstacles most of which are of their own making. The narrative in the Last Chance series are fascinating, sweet and endearing tales of enduring love that pulls one in and never lets go. They have some of the most charming of characters starting from the lead right down to the minor characters, all of whom are developed well with detailed background stories and motivations. All the novels in the series introduce new protagonists who are just as interesting and entertaining as the last one even as they face different challenges in their romantic lives. Combining similar themes with the ever-popular Southern setting for a contemporary romance novel makes for some exceptional magic. This is even more so, given the authors expert combination of humor and personalities in all the titles that will have any romance fiction buff enthralled. Building a magical romance between the characters in the stories is Ramsey’s specialty as she time and again manages to bring together two lovers or keep them together in spite of the many obstacles in their path. The novel will typically start out with a fling, before developing into an emotional connection that births something deeper between the two lovers. Ramsay does all this all the while making you laugh and smile as you navigate the romance-filled streets of Last Chance.

The crux of the Last Chance series of novels is that despite all the challenges, the heartbreak and obstacles in love, everyone ultimately gets a chance at love. The heroes in the series range from flaky weak men experiencing mid-life crisis in their thirties to a post high school boy, a non-snobby aristocrat, and a racecar driver. As for the female heroines, they range from a New Yorker lost in the ways of the south, a city girl back home for a humdrum holiday, and a post high school girl fighting for love. Set in Last Chance, a small town where everyone gets their chance at love, the characters for the most part have never believed in love or are never expecting it. They soon find themselves falling in love with the most unexpected of people from the most unexpected of situations. Over the course of the narratives, they go from not being in love to maybe there may just be love to full-blown love is the best thing to ever happen to me. Typically, both characters come into the story with their own ideas on what love should be only to find that love takes them in directions they had never expected to go. In cute stories full of the usual intrigue and struggles of love, the characters deal with a multitude of problems as they learn that love is cultivated and that if one puts in the effort, it reciprocates and blossoms.

“Welcome to Last Chance” is the enchanting first novel in the Last Chance series of novels by Hope Ramsay. It is set in Last Chance, a town off the beaten path in Southern USA where wonderful but strange miracles are the order of the day. The lead character in the series is a feisty girl newly arrived in town named Jane. Jane looks like she is running from something or someone, and is one of the most broke visitors ever to come into town – having only five dollars to her name. But she has been working hard to start anew in Last Chance, and in the process has caught the eye of Clay who cannot stop thinking of her. Clay had quit his country music singing band and since then has never taken the reins on anything in life. Now that Jane is in town, he is invigorated and she may just be the girl he needs to get a grip on his life. What is even more interesting is that the more he tries to deny his feelings for her, the more he realizes they are perfect or each other.

“Home At Last Chance” is the second delightful novel in the series that sees Tulane come back home to Last Chance, after setting out to go find fortune and fame in the big cities. Tulane is frustrated with his job as a racecar driver, mostly because a diaper company sponsors him. In addition to having his car emblazoned with diaper products, he is also obligated to judge diaper-changing contests. Knowing how much he hated his public appearances the company had Sarah accompany him back home to Last Chance. Sarah is one of the sweetest persons you could ever meet and does public relations for stock car team that Tulane races for. As far as the company is concerned, Sarah’s work is to ensure that Tulane does not mess up again and get a scandal in the papers, as he is wont to do. Tulane has got some maturity issues going on for him even as Sarah is keen to shed off the good girl image she has kept since she was a teenager. Even as she has been an office researcher for most of her adult life, when she finally gets the hang of the field job, she is ready to strip off her image to get with the hot southern boy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Last Chance

Leave a Reply