Book Notification

Last Survivors Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Last Survivors Books

Life As We Knew It (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead and the Gone (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
This World We Live In (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shade of the Moon (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan Beth Pfeffer is an American published author of fiction.

She was born in 1948 in New York City. She grew up there, spending time in the city and the suburbs close by. She would spend the summers hanging out in the famed Catskill Mountains. Her father published his own book when she was just six years old, a book focusing on the subject of constitutional law. His daughter wanted to be just like him and be a writer as well. As a result, she published her first ever story that was all about love found between scissors and an Oreo Cookie.

Her first novel would be published in 1970 and is titled Just Morgan. It was written when she was in college, spending her last semester hanging around New York University. She has been interested in writing ever since and has done so on a full-time basis, often writing stories that are for the young adult crowd. She has now written over sixty books and keeps on going.

Susan has received awards and recognition for the books and work she has done. These are everything from novels for young adult and middle school-aged readers to picture books for children as well as fiction of the historical and contemporary genres. She has also written a book for adults that focuses on how to help children write and the Portraits of Little Women series for readers in the grades of three through six.

She has received the South Carolina Young Adult Book Award for her book About David. Her book The Year Without Michael would win the South Carolina Young Adult Book Award, named an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, and was recommended by the ALAL as being one of the 100 best books for teen s written from 1968-1993. She has also been named a finalist for the Quill Award, Andre Norton Award, and Hal Clement Award.

The author loves reading books and writing. When she is not occupied with work she likes to take in a movie. She’ll watch old movies or new movies, it doesn’t matter. She also collects memorabilia from movies. She enjoys reading books that are biographies or histories. Susan also admits to sometimes indulging in food that might not be the best for her. She has two cats that are named Emily and Alexander and that share her residence in Middletown, New York.

Susan Beth Pfeffer is the creator and the author of the Last Survivors series of fiction novels. This series started with the publication of Life As We Knew It in 2006. The sequel is titled The Dead and the Gone and it would come out shortly after in 2008. The third novel is titled The World We Live In and the fourth novel is The Shade of the Moon. If you have been looking for a creative new series to check out, give this one a try!

Life As We Knew It is the first novel in the Last Survivors series by Susan Beth Pfeffer. If you are interested in dystopian stories, this might be a cool book for you to check out, especially great if you’re a fan of The Hunger Games series.

The main character in this book is Miranda. She’s one of the countless people that don’t know what to do when a meteor actually hits the moon and makes it go closer to the Earth. She’s in first at disbelief, but that quickly changes over to fear. She starts to wonder what the plan should be for her family.

Miranda wants to prepare for the future but things have gotten crazy quickly. Tsunamis are hitting up the coasts and taking out everything. The continents are being shaken by earthquakes. Ash from volcanoes is blocking out the light from the sun. The summer becomes winter and Miranda has to look out for mom and her two brothers. Together they go to the sunroom and live off the food they’ve saved and the water that they have. At least they have a stove that burns wood to keep them warm.

This book is told through entries in a journal and tells of Miranda and how she tries to survive and keep her family alive while clinging to hope in a world that’s changed rapidly around them. Pick up this book and read to the end to find out what happens!

The Dead and the Gone is the second novel in Pfeffer’s Last Survivors series. The apocalyptic plot established by the first novel continues in this exciting sequel.

When an asteroid hit the moon, the Earth dove into drastic climate changes. Everything transformed overnight and normal was no longer the same. This story sees things through the view of Alex Morales, a Puerto Rican kid of 17 years old in New York City.

When his parents disappear after tidal waves, Alex has no choice but to look after his two little sisters instead of searching for them. He knows that they are likely forever gone. Now Manhattan is devolving into a wasteland, with food, water, and help quickly becoming scarce very quickly. Alex is going to have to look within to find the strength to try and become the caretaker for his sisters and keep them alive, becoming responsible for them as society crumbles around him. What will happen? Read this novel to find out!

This World We Live In is the third novel in the Last Survivors series by Susan Beth Pfeffer. The meteor hit the moon a year ago, and Earth’s climate changed. Miranda’s life changed too, forever. Her neighbors and friends died, it’s frozen out, and food is tough to find. When her stepmother and father show up with 3 strangers and a baby, one of those people is Alex Morales.

Miranda develops feelings for him but their relationship may be killed by his future plans. But when a tornado hits, she might make a choice that changes everything for them for good. Read this book to find out what happens! Then check out the exciting fourth book in the series, The Shade of the Moon.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Last Survivors

Leave a Reply