Book Notification

Last Vampire Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Last Vampire Books

The Last Vampire (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Blood (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Dice (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantom (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evil Thirst (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creatures of Forever (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eternal Dawn (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow of Death (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sacred Veil (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Last Vampire series is a series of science fiction novels written by the well known American author Christopher Pike. There is a total of 9 novels published in the series between the years 1994 and 2013. All the novels of the series revolve around the life of the ‘last Vampire’ who is described by the author as 5,000 years old. Even the titles of each novel of the series feature the name, Last Vampire. The recently published editions of the novels of the series have changed the name of the series to ‘Thirst’. Under the new name, all the previously published books have been compiled together in order to make the earlier volumes of the new Thirst series. Author Christopher Pike had to face some controversies after the release of the novels of the series as he has taken the reference from the beliefs of of the ideals of the Hindu, Jain, Sikh, and Buddhist religions. Many readers, especially from India, did not like the controversial segments depicted in the novels of the Last Vampire series. Author Christopher Pike has also described the stories of the Hindu deities Krishna, Rama, and Sita in certain parts of the series.

The first novel of the Last Vampire series was published in the year 1994 by the Hodder Children publishing house. It was titled as ‘The Last Vampire’ and featured the primary characters in the form of Alisa Perne, Sita, Ray Riley, and Seymour Dorsten. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Alisa Perne arrives at the office of Michael, who had invited her by lying. When he first met Alisa, he introduced himself as a private investigator. Alisa is in search of a man named Slim and tries to use of Michael’s computer to get any information about him. She joins a high school as one of the students disguised as Lara Adams and makes friendship with Ray Riley. Alisa also becomes the friend of a young man called as Seymour Dorsten. Ray is asked by Alisa to use his father’s computer and gather some information about Slim. Alisa lets herself kidnapped by the men of some unknown clients in order to gain some information from them, but finds it very difficult to escape but becomes successful in getting some information about Slim. After coming out, Alisa kills Slim and some of his crew members. From here, the plot of the novels goes into flashback in which Alisa Perne’s life is narrated and the explanation about Yaksha is given by the author.

The story goes back to the time of 3000 B.C when Sita was born in India. When she was 7 years old, a disease spread in her village, killing most of the villagers including Sita’s pregnant best friend. Then a traveling priest of a different religion comes to the village and convinces the elders that he can eradicate the disease away from the village by performing a religious ritual. He invokes a demon in the dead body of Sita’s friend. The priest continues with the ceremony and calls out a yakshini or demon, which eventually kills the priest and vanishes. A handful of villagers had seen the demon killing the priest and then vanishing. Sita witnesses all the events of the ceremony ay hiding in a bush. She knows that the demon had entered the dead body of the child in the womb of the dead friend of Sita. Before going away, the demon stares at a Sita straightly even though she was hiding behind a rock. Seeing the movements in the stomach of the dead mother, Sita’s father thinks that the child is alive and rushes to save him. However, Sita stops him and lets him know that it was actually the demon that possesses the dead body of the child inside the dead body of the mother.

Sita’s father lets her chose between taking the child out or let him die inside his mother. To this, she reacts in a confused and tensed way. Her father says that the only way to know whether the child has turned into an evil is by letting him live. Eventually, he saves the child and Sita name him Yaksha which meant that he was found from a Yakshini. Yaksha grows very quickly into a handsome man and always watched Sita very closely. By that time, Sita had also grown up married to Rama. She also had a daughter who was called as Lalita. Soon, it is revealed that the men who had witnessed the ritual have vanished one by one, including the father of Sita. During one night after the disappearance of her father, Sita hears a strange noise and comes out to see where was the noise coming from. She gets attacked by Yaksha who drags her away from her home. Yaksha tells Sita about his true identity. Naming him a vampire would not be appropriate as the word was not known at that time. He also explains her that some of the men that had disappeared were with him and transformed to his kind.

Being the first one of his kind, Yaksha was more powerful than all those who transformed later. He also convinces Sita to come to her side by threatening to kill her sleeping husband and daughter if she disagreed. Soon, the people from all parts of the country realized the evil power of Yaksha and they beg in front of Lord Krishna to intervene and save the people of the village from getting converted to the evil. Krishna sends some men who kill most of the fleeing vampires, but Sit and Yaksha survive the attack. Krishna and Yaksha indulge into a fight and Sita id given the grace of Krishna on the condition that she will not be creating another vampire like Yaksha. The second novel of the Last Vampire series was published in the year 1994 by the Simon Pulse publishing house. It was titled ‘Black Blood’ and continued to feature the same set of characters as in the first novel of the series. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Alisa Perne and her friend Ray Riley are described as a 5,000 year old vampires. They were partners and believed that they were the last ones left from their breed. But soon they get confronted by several brutal murders that appear like the ones that they would have done. This makes them believe that there were others of their type.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Last Vampire

Leave a Reply