Book Notification

Laura Drake Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chestnut Creek Books

The Last True Cowboy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home at Chestnut Creek (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cowboy for Keeps (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sweet on a Cowboy Books

The Sweet Spot (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing Sweeter (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet on You (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Widow's Grove Books

Her Road Home (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reasons to Stay (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Twice in a Blue Moon (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days Made of Glass (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Against the Odds (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road to Me (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Amazing Gracie (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Laura Drake is an award-winning American author of fiction, romance, and contemporary books. She has always been a storyteller from childhood, growing up telling ghost and scary stories to the neighborhood kids. The kids would often run screaming but come back for more of her stories. Some of her popular series include Sweet on a Cowboy, Chesnut Creek, and Widows Grove. She has also authored notable standalone ones including Days Made of Glass and Twice in a Blue Moon.

The Sweet Spot

The Sweet Spot is the debut novel in Sweet on a Cowboy series. Charla Rae, the main character in the story, is a perfect wife, and she is living a good life with her husband, JB, a bull rider. The couple only son dies in a tragic accident, and everything changes from that day. They finally divorce and Charla fires JB from the ranch owned by her father and she is now in full control of her life since the accident occurred that left her life fallen apart.

The couple is not in a position to deal with the burden of guilt, despair, and depression, and each of them deals with the situation alone. Someone who has ever undergone a tragic loss can relate the situation the couple was experiencing. The author of the book tries to bring sense in the world after an occasion that can enormously change anyone’s life regardless of their status. During their divorce, the court divides their bull bucking business into two so that Charla will be in a position to support herself without JB giving the alimony. He ex-husband moves on and gets into a relationship with a lady almost half the age of Charla, and their relationship does not work after Jimmy turns to be a jerk.

Charla, on the other hand, begins taking Valium for her to reduce the stress and cope with her son’s death and the divorce as she is still living with her ailing father. Apart from keeping bucking bulls, Jimmy is an announcer in bullfighting events where he met his ex-lover, Jess. She briefly gave him some hope and made his life bearable before messing with his relationship with Charla, the ex-wife. After the mess, he comes back to his senses and misses the life he lived with Charla before their son died.

JB hopes that it is not too late for him to bring their relationship back to its initial state, but he is not sure whether Charla will have the heart to forgive him. Charla, on the other side, meets Bella, who has just moved in with her husband. The couple has recently moved to the town where Bella is employed in a feed store. Charla and Bella are different from each other, and this makes their relationship work flawlessly.

Bella has values of the town dwellers while Charla is a farm girl and this is what makes them different and also their dressing. Bella adds some sense of fashion and expands Charla’s knowledge, while Charla teaches her how to be a cowgirl without considering their differences.

Charla runs the business belonging to her father on her own, although she is afraid of the cows and the accountability of managing the whole ranch. The medicines needed by her father are costly, and sometimes they cost more than the money she is making from the ranch business. She is left with no other choice but to stop taking valium and continue living healthy and hopes that the industry will make more profit than it is currently making.

The sweet spot is emotional at some point, but at the same time, animal humor in it makes you laugh. Charla is happy to see her father full of intelligibility, but one of the cows expecting to give birth soon makes her notice that she might have all that is required to make the ranching business to succeed without the help of JB, the ex-husband. The author incorporates the humor in this family and the affection they have for one another but can live for what they currently own and leaving behind what they lost in the past be the answer to the problems?. The secondary characters in the story, especially the animals, add more flavor to this delightful novel.

Nothing Sweeter

Nothing Sweeter is the second book in Sweet on a Cowboy series where Aubrey Madison has decided to start over since her life has been terrible for the past couple of years. She leaves Los Angeles and erases everything only to be left with scars that destroyed past and relocates to cowboy country. She now lives in a new home, has a new job and has new things to begin worrying about; the sexy rancher who is making her wish for things she should not be concerned.
One day as she stops to take dinner, Max Jameson, the rancher at the High Heather Ranch and her childhood dreams of working with horses came to her mind. The ranch owners, Wyatt and Max, argue of whether they should employ her since Max does not want a cupcake to interrupt his program at the ranch. The two are even not sure whether Aubrey knows how to deal with the horses.

It turns out that even the city girls can teach the cowboys some lessons and Aubrey proves herself be more qualified than they thought of her. Max gains interest in learning more about this ‘city cupcake’ and even though he has faced furious bulls and broke dangerous stallions; the charming ‘city cupcake’ who has shown up in the ranch might be his downfall.

Aubrey learns that Max is almost losing the ranch and draws a plan of rescuing it from being repossessed since it may mean that they will have no place to work. The question remains, will Max bet his future because of the beautiful stranger who he is not sure of her intentions? Even though at first, Max thought that he did not need any help from Aubrey, he later learns that there is nothing good winning the heart of a city girl. The two have faced problems in the past, and they have to work through to live happily in the future. Nothing sweeter is vividly described and emotionally charged with some romance and drama, making it an exceptional story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Drake

Leave a Reply